English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 July 2009, 17:24   #1
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Unhappy Amiga 'HELP' key - tribute thread to the abandoned key...

I know Workbench CLI used the Help key and some text/notepad type programs... but does anyone have any games or other apps that used this particular key...

Hmm F-19/F-117A used it iirc.

To me it was THE legendary and yellow-less key EVER imo on a keyboard (hey, maybe I'm wrong)

It never gave me help with women I still press it now...

Last edited by Paul_s; 19 July 2009 at 17:30.
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 July 2009, 17:31   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Swiv used the Help key for the control options.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 17:32   #3
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
I'm trying to figure out wot your psygnosis style avatar says chap
Paul_s is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 17:38   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Swiv = An Amiga computer game
Press Help at the title screen = Configure your controls for player 1 and 2.

Better?

Edit:

Help key in Slam Tilt = switch to hi-res mode.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 19 July 2009 at 18:14.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 19:02   #5
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 31
Posts: 579
The AMOS programming languages used the help key to give you help on what ever function the cursor was at.
skateblind is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 19:04   #6
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
Impossible Mission 2025 uses the Help key, but it uses it as an arrow key - on the item selector screen. This used to annoy the hell out of me (before I got WHDload) because on Workbench I always have Help set up with Fkey to open the filemanager (ABCdir). I use ABCdir every time I use my Amiga, so I thought Help would be an appropriate key for it.
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 19:16   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I use the HELP key for AHelp to quickly access all my software/hardware documentation.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 19:22   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Many trainers used HELP as the level skip...
TCD is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 20:55   #9
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
Turrican 2 used the Help key for music menu.
s2325 is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 21:02   #10
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
I remember using the HELP key for cheating in several games.

One of them was Lionheart


Quote:
Cheat mode

Press Down on the Joystick to crouch, then pause game play. While remaining crouched, hold [Ctrl] + [Help] until the screen begins to shake to enable cheat mode with unlimited lives. Press one of the following keys to activate the corresponding cheat function.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 21:07   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Turrican 2 used the Help key for music menu.
Wasn't that SPACE on the title screen? I'm pretty sure it was.
TCD is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 21:10   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Wasn't that SPACE on the title screen? I'm pretty sure it was.
Yep Space key, but Help works too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 21:18   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Yep Space key, but Help works too.
Ah, didn't know that HELP works too
TCD is offline  
Old 20 July 2009, 04:07   #14
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,834
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
IIRC, Epic: pressing Help gave you the right direction to go to the main objective (this will be also triggered when you fly too far away from the battle zone, but with help you can trigger it at will).
lilalurl is offline  
Old 22 July 2009, 17:14   #15
mintsauce82
Junior Member
mintsauce82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Age: 35
Posts: 62
Eliminator definitely used it. I can't check as I'm at work, but I'm pretty sure you pressed it on the title screen to access the password entry screen.

OP is right though, it wasn't used very much...
mintsauce82 is offline  
Old 22 July 2009, 17:18   #16
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
tribute thread to the abandoned key


Fail, as the HELP is far from abandoned judging by all the posts above this one :P... and from personal experience.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 05:19   #17
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Pressing Help in any program in Workbench brings up its documentation.
Cammy is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 07:28   #18
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 858
Most of (maybe all, can someone confirm) Andrew Braybrook's games used the HELP key as the pause function, and ESC while paused would quit.

Rainbow Islands, Fire & Ice, Uridium 2, Virocop, etc.

Also, using Amiga applications, if on-line help is available then HELP is the key to see it. A feature I miss when using more modern OS's. To me it makes more sense to have the HELP key far away from the function keys.

It's a pain in the arse when one accidentally hits F1 (when aiming for ESC of F2) in a Windows app, when one has to wait five minutes for the on-line help window to appear before one can continue (MS Word anyone?).
Anakirob is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 11:54   #19
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,132
Pinball Fantasies: you had to press <HELP> to switch from "Party Land / Speed Devils" to "Billion $ Gameshow / Stones 'n Bones" in the table select menu.
john4p is offline  
Old 23 July 2009, 12:09   #20
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
To cheat in Rodland you had to pause it then hit the HELP key 5 times.

5!!!!
killergorilla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: A single Amiga key! AndersHP MarketPlace 17 27 February 2013 09:25
Which key is mapped to Amiga right alt browniesrgut support.FS-UAE 3 08 January 2013 21:58
Amiga 3000 missing key kamelito support.Hardware 2 09 March 2011 23:20
Amiga key? radical7dreamer support.WinUAE 5 19 August 2010 19:31
Amiga 500 with Commodore Key ? HCF support.Hardware 16 06 January 2008 22:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21118 seconds with 11 queries