English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2009, 19:40   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,339
WinUAE 2.0.0 beta series

REALLY READ THIS BEFORE POSTING!: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=26715

NEVER EVER POST non-1.6.2/2.0.0.0 related issues here. Issue not tested with 1.6.1 -> UNACCEPTABLE.

2.0.0 (was 1.6.2) beta series. Bigger changes this time..

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1620b1.zip

Beta 1: (too many changes, everything can break blahblah usual stuff)

- command line filename will be detected as a disk image if file don't have known extensions but is small enough and first 3 bytes contain "DOS" (previously detected as hardfiles..)
- check for windows messages more than once per frame, may reduce latency (in worst case it may increase power requirements..)
- marked DLLs that are rarely used/only in specific configurations as delay loaded, may make startup slightly faster
- inserting/ejecting USB input devices on the fly replaced all "<none>" and all keyboard layouts with keyboard layout A (old bug)
- "Add PC drives at startup" does not anymore mount drives that are also configured as real harddrives
- real harddrive safetycheck modified, now all drives can be mounted as long as drive does not have any Windows mounted partitions. Any drive with one or more Windows mounted partitions are only available in read only mode. Command line parameter is now only needed if you want to add drives that have Windows mounted FAT partitions. Drives with NTFS partition(s) are never (there is a complex way..) allowed in read-write mode.
- SCSI (RDB hdf emulation) write commands return proper write protected sense status if hdf is read-only
- A590/A2091 SCSI ROM 7.0 was not accepted (debugging code..)
- RDB filesystem loader still had fse_PatchFlags hack instead of handling it 100% correctly (no functional change, at least with any popular filesystem)
- accept also partition type 0x30 (another Amithlon like RDB drive inside real PC partition)
- added new RTG configuration panel, more space for future options, also old RTG setting panel was not really in correct place anymore
- command line parsing handled quotes inside strings differently than Windows does when running from command line

- added bitplane DMA fetches to copper debugger (there will be separate DMA sequence "disassembler" in future)
- Agnus bitplane DMA behavior correctly emulated when number of planes or resolution changes mid screen. Old code (1.5x+) was totally wrong and too complex.. Now all my test statefiles work 100% correctly: Disposable Hero, Bass-O-Matic/Crusaders, Innovation Part 2/Axxis. Brian The Lion "dialog" screen is corrupted again but this seems to be AGA specific feature (SMD chips = no logic analyzer)

- CD32 CD controller emulation improved, CDXL animations should run more smoothly now, previously emulation couldn't load more than few sectors before CD32's cd driver detected error condition and retried
- added seek delays to CD32 emulation (CD32 drive has really slow seeks)
- CD32 Lotus Trilogy's Lotus 3 finally loads (stupid loader partially overwriting already loaded data if CD DMA "slot" sequencing is not exactly correct)
- CD32 CD audio moved to separate thread, no more emulator pausing when CD audio starts or track changes (possibly introduces other issues..)

- D3D 2D sprites (ID3DXSprite) used in D3D filter onscreen leds, correct positioning, no scaling and free transparency. Scanline texture also converted to 2D sprite, now works correctly with D3D filters (future plan: convert all DirectDraw code to D3D 2D sprites)
- OpenGL filter removed, totally obsolete now. Gone forever unless someone updates it. (including correct positioning and scaling)

- built-in WASAPI sound driver implemented. Replaces DirectSound if running on Vista or newer. WASAPI has two modes, shared and exclusive. Shared roughly equals old DirectSound, exclusive means sound card is exclusively used by WinUAE. Exclusive mode has lowest possibly latency but note that there may be only one or two supported sample rates (for example 48000). NOTE: buffer sizes can not be directly compared between different modes. PortAudio is now considered very unsupported (that didn't last long..) Needs tuning, not good enough yet (especially exclusive mode)
- distortion in sound was possible with short square wave samples (160)
- final 16-bit sound samples always had lowest bit (or two lowest bits) zero, now lowest bit(s) are duplicated from real lowest significant bit(s)
- programmed display modes had bad sound (161b4 sound update was not fully complete.. most stupid 1.6.1 bug so far)
- portaudio fallback code added, unsupported samplerate = try 44000, 48000 and default reported before disabling sound. Same with number of channels, unsupported channels = fall back to stereo

- Vista or newer: AvSetMmThreadCharacteristics() is used to enable task scheduling better suited for multimedia applications = more CPU time given without slowing down lower priority tasks (which can happen with normal priority settings)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 09 September 2009 at 18:50.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2009, 22:17   #2
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,166
first of all, i run Windows Vista, 32bit, sp2. DirectX and video drivers up to date; Winuae 1.6.1 final was working perfectly on this setup.

starting this beta with a fresh (empty) winuae.ini, having configured the paths correctly and starting any quickstart mode (for the sake of easyness) in windowed mode without further settings changed, i get:

1) when the default wasapi mode is enabled, ALWAYS the sound gets disabled; if i try to switch it to sound enabled EITHER on the fly or with restarting the emulation, sound gets disabled anyway.

2) when i set DSound instead the sound works.

---------------------------------------------

In BOTH cases above, CPU is ALWAYS at 100 % or 101%

(since this happens each time a new beta gets out since 1.5.1, it's about some setting i cannot find that gets changed in the Host, either by winuae.ini or by config.cache handling, i guess: it makes really complicate to test the real differences between betas, since i don't know yet what cause the slowdown: in any case, because of the automatic changes to host, winuae.ini etc, 1.6.1 has the same slowdown as this beta release.)

the slowing down happens only in native modes, RTG it's always fine (CPU to <100%)

please note that i've NEVER used filters in the above tests.

changing to SystemRAM, local or nonlocal did not changed anything.
---------------------------------------------

logs attached, if you require more info, please let me know.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 16 July 2009, 23:11   #3
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 41
Posts: 736
Uh?
When I start this beta (I use older WUAE 1.6.1 cfg) I hear a Windows error sound and IE opens on DX End-User-Runtime... WUAE does never start.

It seems a Filter settings problem... If I use *Default D3D Autoscale it works.
Attached my cfg.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Hexaae.uae.txt (30.0 KB, 222 views)
hexaae is offline  
Old 17 July 2009, 09:41   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
1) when the default wasapi mode is enabled, ALWAYS the sound gets disabled; if i try to switch it to sound enabled EITHER on the fly or with restarting the emulation, sound gets disabled anyway.
Try 48000Hz sampling rate. (I know, too short answer..)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Uh?
When I start this beta (I use older WUAE 1.6.1 cfg) I hear a Windows error sound and IE opens on DX End-User-Runtime... WUAE does never start.

It seems a Filter settings problem... If I use *Default D3D Autoscale it works.
Attached my cfg.
I forgot to add extra note to changelog...

Latest DX runtime is required (browser points to correct download), whole D3D filter now requires it, not unlike previously when only pixel shader filters required it.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 July 2009, 10:48   #5
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,166
48000Hz lets Wasapi stay enabled.
sorry not to have checked that before, but i thought that it was for exclusive mode only.

still the CPU is >100% so i don't think that's related.
will you tackle that? if you prefer i will start a separated thread.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 17 July 2009, 14:27   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
48000Hz lets Wasapi stay enabled.
sorry not to have checked that before, but i thought that it was for exclusive mode only.
I thought so but apparently some drivers/cards do not want to directly support 44100Hz (I guess DSound internally mixes it which may not result in best quality..)

I also handled IsFormatSupported() function slightly incorrectly, it tells "closest meatch" which I forgot to support.

Quote:
still the CPU is >100% so i don't think that's related.
will you tackle that? if you prefer i will start a separated thread.
Good idea
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 July 2009, 01:01   #7
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567


Hello. Just stopped by to report a problem with interlaced low-res modes. The Great Giana Sisters screenshot is just an example, I can reproduce this graphics corruption with anything running at 320x512.

Works perfectly with 1.6.1.

Presumably relevant system specs:

. Windows XP Professional SP3
. 256mb NVIDIA GeForce 6800
. 3.6ghz Intel Pentium 4
. 2gb DDR2 RAM
. Latest DirectX and video drivers
Attached Files
File Type: uae config.uae (14.9 KB, 191 views)
Maren is offline  
Old 18 July 2009, 13:51   #8
Experiment T
Registered User
Experiment T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DABtropolis
Posts: 31
found a bug in cd32 emulation. some music tracks stutter when they are played and skips part of the track. if the emulation is paused and resumed the track stops all together until another track is "called". if you need any files boot logs or config files please me know.

Last edited by Experiment T; 18 July 2009 at 14:04.
Experiment T is offline  
Old 18 July 2009, 16:06   #9
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post


Hello. Just stopped by to report a problem with interlaced low-res modes. The Great Giana Sisters screenshot is just an example, I can reproduce this graphics corruption with anything running at 320x512.

Works perfectly with 1.6.1.
It seems to be triggered by the remove interlace artifacts being ticked

EDIT: Does it in any res mode, as soon as remove interlace artifacts is turned on it screws the screen.
Mclane is offline  
Old 18 July 2009, 16:54   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Experiment T View Post
found a bug in cd32 emulation. some music tracks stutter when they are played and skips part of the track. if the emulation is paused and resumed the track stops all together until another track is "called". if you need any files boot logs or config files please me know.
CD audio playing is completely handled by OS function, you sure it isn't your cd drive having problems or damaged CD?

Does this happen in CD32's cd audio player?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
It seems to be triggered by the remove interlace artifacts being ticked

EDIT: Does it in any res mode, as soon as remove interlace artifacts is turned on it screws the screen.
Not surprising it broke..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 July 2009, 20:00   #11
Experiment T
Registered User
Experiment T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DABtropolis
Posts: 31
ok i've just tested it with the CD Player and it does indeed skip (2 seconds approximately) so i tried it on another cd drive and machine (with xp i have vista) and it still had the same result (tried various music disc's and game disc's all have same result) all discs have no scratches what so ever) i also tested them on the actual hardware and run fine.

Last edited by Experiment T; 18 July 2009 at 20:18.
Experiment T is offline  
Old 20 July 2009, 18:22   #12
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,883
Can someone upload it to the zone the firewall at work blocks WinUAE.net and I don't have the internet at home at the minute.
Ian is online now  
Old 20 July 2009, 18:24   #13
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
In the zone Ian.
TCD is offline  
Old 20 July 2009, 18:36   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Experiment T View Post
ok i've just tested it with the CD Player and it does indeed skip (2 seconds approximately) so i tried it on another cd drive and machine (with xp i have vista) and it still had the same result (tried various music disc's and game disc's all have same result) all discs have no scratches what so ever) i also tested them on the actual hardware and run fine.
More information please.. I am not going to play random audio tracks waiting for glitches
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 July 2009, 12:26   #15
Experiment T
Registered User
Experiment T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DABtropolis
Posts: 31
i've attached a boot log if it might help. the CD Drive Model is An Hitatchi ASCI drive. but it uses a NED Drive from Microsoft (which is used by daemon tools). if you need specific infomation please let us know
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (7.1 KB, 258 views)
Experiment T is offline  
Old 21 July 2009, 13:01   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Experiment T View Post
ok i've just tested it with the CD Player and it does indeed skip (2 seconds approximately) so i tried it on another cd drive and machine (with xp i have vista) and it still had the same result (tried various music disc's and game disc's all have same result) all discs have no scratches what so ever) i also tested them on the actual hardware and run fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Experiment T View Post
i've attached a boot log if it might help. the CD Drive Model is An Hitatchi ASCI drive. but it uses a NED Drive from Microsoft (which is used by daemon tools). if you need specific infomation please let us know
Wait a moment, do you mean you get sound glitches even if you play it with some Windows media player? 100% disc problem, even if real CD32 reads it (not the first time this happens.., check CDTV Sherlock Holmes thread..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 July 2009, 14:05   #17
Experiment T
Registered User
Experiment T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DABtropolis
Posts: 31
there's no problem with them in windows media player they work fine wth it.
Edit: just found a list of CDTV/CD32 Games that use CDDA and both games i tested are on it.

Last edited by Experiment T; 21 July 2009 at 14:44.
Experiment T is offline  
Old 24 July 2009, 11:49   #18
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,883
Any tests to give you meaningful information about WASAPI mode?

Currently using exclusive mode with 48000 in 5.1 mode gives stuttering audio no matter what the buffer size is set to.

Tested using Xenon in a standard quickstart a500 most compatible setting using scale2x filter for 1920x1080 upscale.

Installed the Win7 driver from windows update, will try the latest beta driver from creative tonight.
Ian is online now  
Old 24 July 2009, 13:04   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Any tests to give you meaningful information about WASAPI mode?
Exclusive mode is not finished yet. Non-exclusive should work fine.

Quick status report:

I have been working with much improved cycle exact emulation, this for example fixes most flickering/graphics garbage/slowdown (glenz)vector routines in demos.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 July 2009, 13:51   #20
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Quick status report:

I have been working with much improved cycle exact emulation, this for example fixes most flickering/graphics garbage/slowdown (glenz)vector routines in demos.
That sounds great Can't wait to test that beta
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 10:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 19:39
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 19:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31147 seconds with 12 queries