English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 May 2002, 00:39   #1
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
Red face Crawling ADFs

Is it just me, or has the disk loading speed in WinUAE v 0.8.21 R2 (the new one with the backwards numbering) decreased majorly! I know it's meant to be 'cycle-perfect' and all that, but surely there could be an option so I don't have to wait for 10 mins just to play Lotus III! Ok, so I'm just whinging now

Cheers

Last edited by RetroMan; 15 May 2002 at 00:52.
Excelle is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 May 2002, 00:59   #2
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Would you like a little cheese with that

But seriuosly, do all the adf's you try to load behave this way? If not perhaps a specialized config for this title is in order. I've not tried this particular title so I can't make comment on the loading speed. perhaps somebody else has more info on this then I do.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 01:01   #3
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
Yeah it's pretty much all titles. I think it's the new code for the new version of the emulator. To it's favour, I think it's more compatible than before...
Excelle is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 01:17   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Do you have a real Amiga to try the title out on? I wonder how long it actually takes for that title to load.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 01:37   #5
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
Ok so maybe I exaggerated a little It's about the same as the original Amiga, but I'm sure older versions of the emulator have loaded it quicker. But then my memory was never up to much - maybe I'm just moaning about nothing as usual

I'll get me zimmer and pipe....

Last edited by Excelle; 15 May 2002 at 01:44.
Excelle is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 01:48   #6
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353


Nah, I understand, it would be nice to be able to load these things much more quickly since they are in fact coming off of a hard drive instead of a floppy

But of course cycle exact means just that, it's as fast/slow as the original :eek
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 02:28   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
didn't a previous version of WinUAE have turbo loading or something or am i going mad?
Djay is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 02:59   #8
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
yes

It did. Versions like 0.8.17 R2 were MUCH faster in loading than current releases.
Some (0.8.14 R1) even had a floppy speed slider where you could crank up the speed to 8x. That was nice
andreas is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 09:02   #9
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
I knew I was right Honest!
Excelle is offline  
Old 15 May 2002, 19:01   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Floppy speed option was removed because Bernd does not like options that can cause compatibility problems (and useless bug reports) Immediate blitter is another "bad" option but before it can be removed "normal" blitter emulation must be cycle-exact.

Maybe WinUAE needs "expert"-page for options that may cause compatibility problems but still are useful for many not-so-tricky games and demos?

BTW: Programs that use Kickstart's floppy routines are not emulated cycle-exact.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 May 2002, 19:08   #11
Excelle
Junior Member
Excelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wolverhampton/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 108
Sounds like a top idea Toni! Any chance of it?

If so, maybe we need a new thread for 'Expert page requests' or something? Since quite a few of us are experts I'm sure!
Excelle is offline  
Old 17 May 2002, 02:22   #12
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally posted by Excelle
Sounds like a top idea Toni! Any chance of it?

If so, maybe we need a new thread for 'Expert page requests' or something? Since quite a few of us are experts I'm sure!
I second the idea of the experts page too...

Sure, the core should remain as near as damn it for all versions but test / advanced extra's should be allowable for any or all platforms
Mclane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having more issues! - Slow downs,Crawling Amiga 1200 Neil79 support.Hardware 21 16 May 2013 22:12
ADFs Rabbit80 support.Games 5 10 June 2009 00:53
ADFs? Macca Amiga scene 1 14 June 2007 20:19
Again On ADFs !!!! Another World support.Games 2 08 May 2007 09:28
My ADFs Djay Amiga scene 29 03 April 2002 18:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16063 seconds with 11 queries