English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2009, 03:38   #1
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 34
Posts: 2,753
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Wink [Useless enhancement suggestion] Lemmings: using LEDs for last three bricks warning

While reading the trivia at mobygames for Lemmings, I stumbled upon this:

'The software controllable LED of the Atari ST disk drive was used in-game. It blinks when the three last building bricks are used by the bridge builder lemming.'

I was wondering if something similar could be done with the power LED (as it is done when the sound filter is on/off) or any other LED.

Not really useful (except when playing without sound?), but still that is a feature those damn ST users can brag about and therefore somebody should do something about it


Not sure if this is the best section for such a 'request', any mod feel free to move it to what you think as a more appropriate section.
lilalurl is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 06 July 2009, 07:47   #2
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,585
Not sure if it's possible (and it's surely not really necessary ), but I really like the way you think mate
TCD is online now  
Old 06 July 2009, 08:10   #3
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 5,891
Cool, I appreciate the geeky idea, but not many players are going to take of their eyes of the screen just to see the led.
Besides, after a few times of using the builder you don't have to hear the sound, you perfectly well know how many bricks/pixels he can have.
Shoonay is online now  
Old 06 July 2009, 08:32   #4
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,585
You know that this isn't the point of the request It's just because these damn ST users have it and we not!
TCD is online now  
Old 06 July 2009, 09:23   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 4,928
Of course it possible, using the Power LED for that is however not the best idea as that will also toggle the low-pass filter.
StingRay is offline  
Old 06 July 2009, 12:09   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 2,255
How about grinding the drive motor instead?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 06 July 2009, 14:25   #7
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 5,891
Yes, please
Shoonay is online now  
Old 06 July 2009, 15:06   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 33
Posts: 12,992
cpce (Amstrad CPC emulator) have nice feature - reading disk images from floppy disk in real time as on real CPC (disk images are not loaded in memory but only single files from them), is it possible with WinUAE?
s2325 is online now  
Old 06 July 2009, 15:13   #9
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 27
Posts: 9,969
I might be missing something but isn't that completely off-topic?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 July 2009, 15:13   #10
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 4,928
It is. And WinUAE does it, that is, if I understood what he meant correctly.
StingRay is offline  
Old 06 July 2009, 15:20   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 33
Posts: 12,992
no, WinUAE load disk image to memory before game is loaded on emulated Amiga, try it with floppy drive
s2325 is online now  
Old 06 July 2009, 15:28   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 4,928
OK, so I didn't understand what you mean in your first post then. Anyway, this is rather useless, why do you need that?
StingRay is offline  
Old 06 July 2009, 16:00   #13
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 33
Posts: 12,992
because it can give better illusion of real Amiga
s2325 is online now  
Old 06 July 2009, 16:02   #14
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 27
Posts: 9,969
Far too off-topic for this thread.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Probably useless suggestion for eabmobile Maren project.EAB 5 19 October 2010 20:45
Gameboy Bricks and Modern Fossils Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 2 26 May 2009 12:17
enhancement request: Clone Amiga HDD to HDF gizmomelb request.UAE Wishlist 5 18 June 2006 15:07
Best free Workbench 1.3 enhancement tools Paul request.Apps 0 29 January 2003 10:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14614 seconds with 11 queries