English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 July 2009, 16:59   #1
paulcan
I LOVE YOU GUYS
paulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex U.K
Posts: 134
Smile What hardware for Amiga 500 to Broadband?

What hardware for Amiga 500 to Broadband?

Is this even possible I have 2 amiga 500's (one 1.3 the other a 500+ 2.04)
I have a null modem cable attached to my pc so via amiga explorer can transfer anything.
Do I just need some software and it can use my broadband on the pc, or am I waaaaayyyyyy off?


Any help greatly recieved.

Thanks
paulcan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 04 July 2009, 17:01   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,152
Why would you want to do it? What would you do?
alexh is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 17:04   #3
paulcan
I LOVE YOU GUYS
paulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex U.K
Posts: 134
I have no idea I'm just
Just wanted to see porn on an amiga, and that probably wouldn't be viewable would it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Why would you want to do it? What would you do?
paulcan is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 17:43   #4
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 1,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulcan View Post
I have no idea I'm just
Just wanted to see porn on an amiga, and that probably wouldn't be viewable would it?
Broadband through a null modem cable is just as slow as dial up, but it's probably possible to get it to work (don't know how).

As for the porn (or any other jpeg image), there are certainly enough picture viewers for the Amiga, but, you might need some extra ram, and without an accelerator, it's going to be slow, and without aga it's not going to be pretty, and you'll need proper image conversion software to get reasonable results on an A500.
Thorham is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 19:50   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,152
Waste of time if you ask me.

You're gonna need to spend upwards of 300 on an A500 to get it to the point where you can browse the internet in anything like the way you do on the PC.

And it will still be a crap experience. Slow, few colours, most sites wont look correct or load at all because of poor Amiga web-browsers.

If you started with an A1200 or A4000 it would be cheaper, but not by much and still be a poor experience.

You'd spend all the money, time installing stuff, try it once for half an hour, think "Thats crap" and never do it again.

Forget it and do something more fun instead.
alexh is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 20:20   #6
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 36
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
if you want to see porn on your A500, just get the stag series and watch them
coze is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 20:44   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,444
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Or copy a bunch of gifs and jpgs to floppy and use a gif viewer.. Like the rest of us did in 1992.
Jope is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 20:56   #8
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 36
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I think you guys should forget about viewing jpgs on a stock A500. It is quite painful even on a A1200 or A3000. though you probably meant iff. but anyway.
coze is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 21:20   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,444
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Indeed it was slow. The disk drive was almost faster than the gif decoder.
Jope is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 21:49   #10
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,953
The actual Amiga computer is porn so look at that instead
Paul_s is offline  
Old 04 July 2009, 21:59   #11
orange
Registered User
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 567
yeah, just like mentioned, your 'best bet' would be to reduce resolution and save as HAM iff (on PC, there are programs for it or use UAE).
it won't look so bad on TV.
orange is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:42   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,236
'come on guys..... the Amiga is an Adventure.... its not about the destination its about the Journey


@Paulcan

Lovin' that Can Do attitude.... you wont need much investment to connect to the broadband internet.. just a lot of TIME!

you can use FTP's / Telnet services / I think you might even be able to join a few MUD's and newsgroups and IRC's etc.

Theres more to the internet than just webbrowsing,

HTML Web Browsing is just not going to happen on an 8mb a500... personally I wish some one had wrote a WAP broweser for the Amiga, that would indeed be awesome and wouldn't need that much processing power.

Hmmmmm now that would be a cool coding project for the miggy, I would love to tie-it-in with ppill's Hombre project!

you will need a hardware and software interface to your router or network sharing PC, so this comes down to howmuch you want to spend really...

by far the cheapest is a NULL Modem Serial cable to a Network Sharing Device that will appropriate a TCP/IP Stack vai the serial to the device....

heres a bit of software for the PC (Windows 95/98/ME/2K/XP) heres a Net for 2 - 3.0 software download

You will need to configure the internet/network connection sharing on that PC machine

It may be wise, to point out, reading up on networking could be a good idea here..

now for the Amiga a couple of options exist, but before we throw out lucsious linkies all random like please have a read here

now lets give you a link to Null TCP

heres a little more info if you are setting up a SLIP proxy on Linux, it may give you a little more insight to setting it up via windows

now, lets give you some programs;

IRC clients for the Amiga

Amiga ICQ clients

FTP Clients


What more could a little 8MB A500 want?!

[info]

Serial Baud Rates (10 bits per byte)

you should get between 57600bps(56K) - 115200bps(112k)

as you have a SCSI HD8+ this will drastically improve your serial perforamce, I doubt you will get to 115200bps as I am sure you would need atleast an 030 to get that speed, But i am confident you will get 64 - 72KBps pending on load and maybe what else you might be doing.

to give you an idea of this speed, the Floppy disk drive is about 64KB a sec.

*remember

Document your Journey, and add some pics as you go for others to discover

Last edited by Zetr0; 05 July 2009 at 01:01.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 01:14   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,152
Right tool for the right job.
alexh is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 02:37   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 39
Posts: 9,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Right tool for the right job.
that implies work m8..... this is FUN!!!

making it happen! thats what its about....

even in 1994/95 I could of bought a PC that had better internet capabilities....

its not always about comming first.... sometimes the reward is in the particiaption
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 08:32   #15
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 784
Quote:
HTML Web Browsing is just not going to happen on an 8mb a500
Here I am, posting this from my 8Mb A500. Guess what I'm doing? Yep, that's right... I'm viewing porn.

I have a second browser tab, a page with some badly dithered porn, but I also simultaneously have a 24-bit DCTV porn image on another screen. Nice, eh?
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 11:11   #16
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 542
One day, hundreds of years into the future, a team of archaeologists will finally crack open MR_A500's a500 and find, under a photo of an a500's innards, it's actually a pentium pc on a mini AT motherboard, and he was having us on all along.

Probably.

rare_j is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 11:11   #17
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 36
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_a500 View Post
Here I am, posting this from my 8Mb A500. Guess what I'm doing? Yep, that's right... I'm viewing porn.

I have a second browser tab, a page with some badly dithered porn, but I also simultaneously have a 24-bit DCTV porn image on another screen. Nice, eh?
but your A500 have a 020 or 030 derringer AFAIR right ? I think Alex meant a A500 8mb with 68000 (a plain HD8+ or something like that)
coze is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 11:21   #18
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,953
mr_a500 is my idol

The force of the 500 is strong with him!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 11:35   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
this is FUN!!!
Not in my opinion it isn't. The poor bugger will just end up with a huge anti-climax.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
making it happen! thats what its about....
The experience is what it is about. And everyone who knows the Amiga realistically understands the experience of trying to make an A500 access the internet will not be a good one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_a500 View Post
Here I am, posting this from my 8Mb A500. Guess what I'm doing? Yep, that's right... I'm viewing porn.
How much is the additional A500 equipment you have worth? Several hundred pounds no doubt.

How long did it take to render one page? How many sites failed to load before you found one that did?
alexh is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 14:33   #20
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 784
Quote:
One day, hundreds of years into the future, a team of archaeologists will finally crack open MR_A500's a500 and find, under a photo of an a500's innards, it's actually a pentium pc on a mini AT motherboard, and he was having us on all along.
No need to wait hundreds of years (...unless you want to). See my A500 innards here. There's no pentium, but there are some broccoli-related hardware pieces.

Quote:
How much is the additional A500 equipment you have worth? Several hundred pounds no doubt.
No, I weighed it and it's only a few grammes.

If you're talking money, it's almost exactly 300. I do NOT recommend spending this on an A500. I did 7 years ago because I got a bit obsessed with perfecting my old computer. Back then, browsing the internet was a lot more fun too because sites didn't use too much CSS, javascript or fucking flash. Browsing on an A500 is now too painful. This year I finally went high-speed and I now use BeOS on a free PC for all my porn. (I don't really browse porn... well... not on purpose)

Thankfully there are a few free dialup numbers I can use to still access the internet with my A500.

Quote:
How long did it take to render one page?
Well it depends on how many naked girls are on the page, doesn't it.

I should post my "Definitive Guide to Viewing Porn on an A500". There's a system that works quite nicely.
mr_a500 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GameCube Broadband adapter and Keyboard Dreamcast270mhz MarketPlace 1 04 June 2010 18:09
FS: Several Hardware Amiga 500/1200 etc. Amiga mia MarketPlace 9 14 May 2009 09:27
Need Amiga 500 Hardware: Help! Miked MarketPlace 1 30 May 2006 14:55
broadband on Amiga with AriadneII Slayer support.Hardware 11 15 February 2006 05:23
The EAB is unaccessible on my broadband connection Peanutuk project.EAB 30 15 July 2004 00:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21678 seconds with 12 queries