English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2002, 21:02   #1
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
VCD Format

Hello chaps. One thing that has bugged me is my inability to read VCD's on my Amiga A12oo Tower (o6o). It always tells me there is a read/write error.

Anyone know where I can get the appropriate libraries and shit so I can finally load these damn things, I hate having to rely on the PC to do everything
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 May 2002, 21:56   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Which Player do you use to play those ??? VCDīs DATīs are mpg1 files, so Frogger will play them fine ....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 May 2002, 22:01   #3
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Hmmmm

You misunderstand. My system won't recognise the discs properly, so using Frogger or whatever isn't even an issue right now. The VCD format of the disc is obviously not supported by the libraries that run the CD-ROM, so the question is, where can I get any suitable updates that will enable the reading of the FORMAT of the disc?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 13 May 2002, 22:31   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Does it work when you copy the .dat to your hard drive and rename it to .mpg ?
 
Old 13 May 2002, 22:45   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
And which CDFS you use
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 May 2002, 23:58   #6
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Right

I am using CacheCDFS at the moment. What I can do is this:

I can copy any .exe files, but when it comes to the massive mpg files, The system reports a read/write error and its the same for Frogger.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 14 May 2002, 00:19   #7
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Hmmm, Iīm also using CacheCDFS from OS 3.9 here and I have absolutely no prob in copying big mpg-files to HD Do you use internal IDE Port ? With or without an IDEfix Controller ? Without one, the data stream will go through one cable to the controller on the mobo and back to HD and that may cause the read/write error ..... Or maybe your HD is faulty ? Just a guess ....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 14 May 2002, 00:36   #8
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Bugger!

Just updated IDEFix, not only has it stuck on a poxy demo version, it has overwritten my reg!!

Damn..... does anyone have a cracked install of IDEFix and all associated files so I can load Mpg files on my Amiga?

I am 'assuming' that the problem is the size of the files as smaller files I can copy and look at.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 14 May 2002, 00:51   #9
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
nbvngfrhf

I have also upped the max transfer rate, no joy there!

Someone must have an install package that they used to install their CD-ROms, my system is second-hand and was already setup.... this is really starting to get on my tits......... as if you hadn't already notice
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 07:15   #10
sturme
Zone Friend

sturme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seymour/USA
Posts: 46
re: vcd problem

Some (mostly older) cd roms physically cannot read the vcd format. which is most likley the problem in your case.
sturme is offline  
Old 16 May 2002, 19:38   #11
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Hmmmm

The CD Rom is a 32x Toshiba that was installed in the PC and that read VCD's fine, and now on the Amiga it has troubles over some files, its not the drive, its the lame software that interfaces between.

How much is OS3.9 these days, as this supposedly rectifies all these problems.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 12 June 2002, 20:25   #12
oli_hd
 
Posts: n/a
Cool

Hi,

Quote:
My system won't recognise the discs properly, so using Frogger or whatever isn't even an issue right now.
Frogger and Amp access the CD-Rom at an SCSI command level so even if the Workbench cant see it Frogger will...
Try that...
I use Alegro CDFS and its great, I can just read through VCD`s, UDF DVD`s and everything... Its a great little CDFS..

PS: this is my first ever post here so everyone say Hi
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF Format Failure chocolate_boy support.WinUAE 14 08 May 2014 12:51
Amiga Format CD 28 _ThEcRoW request.Other 20 24 August 2006 01:05
I canīt format my new HD Firstbase support.Hardware 7 22 August 2006 12:59
980k format haribootje request.Apps 11 28 June 2003 12:26
VCD / PC requirements Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 2 28 June 2002 04:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27895 seconds with 11 queries