English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 July 2009, 22:25   #21
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
.....but assigning to pad does not seem possible ?
Should be possible, have you tried a custom input setup?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 July 2009, 22:25   #22
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk View Post
...but assigning to pad does not seem possible ?
Of course it is. Go to the input panel, select your joypad, choose configuration #1 and click on the autofire entry in the listview for the firebutton. It should switch from no to yes then
TCD is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:05   #23
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
ive tied that but upon returning to game pad is inoperative, the pad only seemed to work in compatibilty mode.

however, ive not really faffed with that option that much, but now i know its possible ill giv it a good crack !

cheers
kirk is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:10   #24
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Have you switched your pad to "Joy2"? There's a "Swap 1<>2" button in the input panel.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:12   #25
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Forgot to say that you might have to change the 'Joy1' bit to 'Joy2' via the 'Swap' button. Adjust that once and save a 'default.uae' config, so it should be available in most of your configs.
TCD is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:16   #26
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
yep, just had another go, and as i experienced before, the pad only works in compatability mode (which wont let me alter settings), but i can alter settings in config#1 mode but this disables the pad !

how can i get this going ?

cheers
kirk is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:19   #27
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
ooops, ive done it again and posted before your replys !

ill give the swap joystick thingy a go right now

cheers
kirk is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:35   #28
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
great, thats the ticket, got it going now.

thanx r d and c d

im off to check that thread from last month about substituting a pad button for up on dpad for jumping.

cheers
kirk is offline  
Old 05 July 2009, 00:43   #29
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Ah, good to hear you got it working kirk With the input panel you can do a lot of nifty things
TCD is offline  
Old 06 July 2009, 17:55   #30
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Yes, MegaDrive and Genesis joypads are very good but you must find original, not shitty noname (I have one). Sega Master System d-pad and CD32 d-pad are strangely similar.
The standard three button Megadrive pads are OK but the smaller 6 button (for SF2) official Sega Megadrive pads have much better d-pads.

I think the wired 360 controller is OK personally, and you can get an adaptor to use the wireless 360 controllers too but it all adds up to quite a lot of cash in total so try it out first in a video game store and only if you are happy with the 360 controller on display purchase a wireless PC (XP/VISTA) kit for the 360 controller.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
Old 06 July 2009, 22:34   #31
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
I use a PS3 DualShock 3 now. D-pad isn't that good, but much better than the horrible one on the 360 pad.
adolescent is offline  
Old 08 July 2009, 23:14   #32
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent View Post
I use a PS3 DualShock 3 now. D-pad isn't that good, but much better than the horrible one on the 360 pad.
Agreed, the 360 dpad is an abomination, really, im staggered at just how bad it is.

I actually think the ps3 pad is ok, but im afraid of screwing up my pc installing the hack/driver for it (horror stories on some forums)

last month i spent hours getting the dualshock3 going on pc, followed instructions carefully, got the pc bluetooth driver to pick it up ok but windows would not recognize it.

adolescent, what prog did you use to succesfully get the dualshock3 going, do you use it on pc wirelessly ? (even if you use it wired)
kirk is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 02:43   #33
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
How about this one.



Retroplay is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 03:13   #34
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I just use a cheap generic USB gamepad from GAME. It does the job and has a total of 10 buttons, a fairly decent d-pad and auto-fire

And on my older PC's i use a pad that is similar to the N64 one (uses gameport).
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 04:17   #35
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 31
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPie5000 View Post
I just use a cheap generic USB gamepad from GAME. It does the job and has a total of 10 buttons, a fairly decent d-pad and auto-fire

And on my older PC's i use a pad that is similar to the N64 one (uses gameport).
I've got that one and it does work well, but I have noticed that it is not very compatible with certain PC games.
skateblind is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 05:31   #36
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPie5000 View Post
I just use a cheap generic USB gamepad from GAME. It does the job and has a total of 10 buttons, a fairly decent d-pad and auto-fire

And on my older PC's i use a pad that is similar to the N64 one (uses gameport).
yeah, their ok i suppose, but a lot of miggy stuff comes from the days of pixel perfect positioning and jumping etc (eg,fuzzball), and only the best dpads will do.

by the way, retroplay, that setup looks great, but am i mistaken, or have you built that in a margerine tub !?
kirk is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 11:45   #37
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 31
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk View Post
yeah, their ok i suppose, but a lot of miggy stuff comes from the days of pixel perfect positioning and jumping etc (eg,fuzzball), and only the best dpads will do.

by the way, retroplay, that setup looks great, but am i mistaken, or have you built that in a margerine tub !?
Any dpad should work perfectly with Amiga games, if you have a problem with precision, then I would blame your fingers.
skateblind is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 12:01   #38
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
No, try with Microsoft Sidewinder http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...500_AA280_.jpg Even easy game will be hard...
s2325 is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 12:14   #39
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 637
Amiga games should be played on amiga joystick... none of these crappy d-pad things!

Put a 9 pin d-sub into a cheap controller, get a real Amiga joystick and you will be happy!
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 10 July 2009, 01:12   #40
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
i really fancy getting wireless dualshock 3 going on pc, but have failed, anybody been sucessfull ?,
i nearly did it, bluetooth picked it up fine and responded to button presses, but xp wont detect button presses, even though it shows up in controller panel properties etc.

I HATE wired controllers, im always tripping over em and the lead just generally gets in the way, and im sick of packing/unpacking em when moving netbook around.

my dream wud be a small (no analog sticks) wireless pad with a good dpad (an old snes pad almost fits the bill, but its not wireless,obviously)
kirk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any decent Amiga IDE? commodorejohn Coders. General 14 22 May 2013 23:37
Decent ATX PSU for Amiga 4000 CU_AMiGA support.Hardware 1 31 May 2011 23:27
Decent box of (original) boxed Amiga games for beer kots MarketPlace 3 08 February 2009 04:59
Are there any decent Amiga stores??? th4t1guy Amiga scene 10 11 December 2003 16:40
Are there any decent athletics games on the Amiga? Steve Nostalgia & memories 16 01 September 2003 18:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28774 seconds with 11 queries