English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2009, 00:27   #1
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
Amiga Forever 2009

This was launched today... I know there's not a whole lot of love for Cloanto from some quarters but thought I'd ask... Anyone downloaded / tried it? From their website it seems a fairly minor update from 2008.
antonvaltaz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 July 2009, 00:37   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonvaltaz View Post
From their website it seems a fairly minor update from 2008.
I dont know, it seems like there's a fair amount of new content for 2009.
prowler is online now  
Old 01 July 2009, 07:36   #3
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
it seems like there's a fair amount of new content for 2009.
But a lot of that content was already there in 2008. Apart from the 'one-click AmiKit / AmigaSys integration' (whatever that means) it's not clear to me what is in 2009 that wasn't in 2008.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 01 July 2009, 07:56   #4
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
If you look at the header on the index of that 'what's new' page it still says Amiga Forever 2008!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 01 July 2009, 14:55   #5
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 31
Posts: 579
ahh, the old repackage and sell trick, I have my eye on you Amiga Forever.
skateblind is offline  
Old 01 July 2009, 15:32   #6
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
yeah the only update is the number 9
Paul_s is offline  
Old 02 July 2009, 18:23   #7
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
Not surprised.

Whereas if you download the completely free latest version of WinUAE you will have a lot of new updates and bug fixes.
Harrison is offline  
Old 02 July 2009, 20:28   #8
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
Amiga Forever is based on the current latest version of WinUAE, and they have a software updater thing which lets you know when a new version of WinUAE is available. I guess for me the main attraction of the package - apart from the legal ROMs (I still feel a bit queasy about downloading these as I don't own an Amiga anymore) - is the frontend.

I really did quite like the frontend on Amiga Forever 2008, but you couldn't add your own games to the list - you're just stuck with what they give you. You can load up ADFs or whatever by double-clicking on the file icon, but they don't stay in the game list after you shut the program down.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 02 July 2009, 21:12   #9
atrionfo
 
Posts: n/a
I was planning to buy Amiga Forever 2008 yesterday, and what do you know... there was a knew version out. I was able to upgrade for $20 (since I already own the 2006 version). The first thing that I did was boot from the CD into the Amiga emulator available via Linux. I was impressed by it. I didn't mount any games or anything, but still, it WORKED. I've always found it weird that you could boot a working operating system (Linux) from CD and now I find it even stranger that you can boot a working Linux that seamlessly and automatically boots an Amiga emulator.

After getting over the "boot into Amiga from CD" happiness (was that available in 2008?) I installed the program and tried a few included games. Cool-- it worked. I had some trouble getting my hard drive files to boot but someone helped me in another forum to get that to work. So, basically, today I have my PERSONAL Amiga now on my PC. My PC is getting on four years old now, but the emulator works okay.

I have no complaints about Amiga Forever, and I was surprised that some people don't like Cloanto. I've always thought that they did a good job with what they sell. Apart from the actual emulator I think that the best part of Amiga Forever are the DVDs available in the Premium Edition. I have the 2006 versions of these, and I guess that the 2009 version uses the same DVDs. If you haven't seen 'em, then you should!

Adam
 
Old 02 July 2009, 21:16   #10
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 31
Posts: 579
</fanboyism>
skateblind is offline  
Old 02 July 2009, 22:03   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by atrionfo View Post
"Boot into Amiga from CD" happiness (was that available in 2008?)
Hi Adam,

That feature has been available on every version since at least AF 6.0 (2004, IIRC).
prowler is online now  
Old 11 July 2009, 13:08   #12
sweed
 
Posts: n/a
wot's new is the rp2 manager

still playing with it, cloanto not exactly flooding us with knowledge on this...
 
Old 19 July 2009, 21:56   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Amiga Forever Solution

An interesting letter appears in this week's Micro Mart (Issue 1064, 16-22 July 2009):

Quote:
Any Windows XP user who finds they can no longer install Amiga Forever to their HDD should check if they added SP3 since they last succeeded.
MS slipped in a sneaky prohibition on the optical drive writing to anything but the current logged-in user. If you can spare it, remove SP3 and it all works.

Ken West
prowler is online now  
Old 19 July 2009, 22:17   #14
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 175
I have amiga forever on facebook and there was an update patch mentioned !
This is probably why !
Viceroy is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 22:19   #15
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 175
amigaforever: Working on 2009.0.4.0 update (free for all 2009 users). Will refine a few rough spots and introduce some changes...
Viceroy is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 22:24   #16
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
An interesting letter appears in this week's Micro Mart (Issue 1064, 16-22 July 2009):
Read : We have an installer that doesn't care about security restrictions, but before SP3 it worked! So downgrade your XP, because we won't fix it.
TCD is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 22:28   #17
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Read : We have an installer that doesn't care about security restrictions, but before SP3 it worked! So downgrade your XP, because we won't fix it.
Well, maybe they are fixing it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy View Post
amigaforever: Working on 2009.0.4.0 update (free for all 2009 users). Will refine a few rough spots and introduce some changes...
... or perhaps the fix will be included in 2009.0.5.0 update...

prowler is online now  
Old 20 July 2009, 09:33   #18
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
Out of interest, has anyone been able to actually get the AF2009 front end to successfully download and install either Amikit or Amigasys?

Whenever I try ---> fail.
pmc is offline  
Old 13 August 2009, 14:09   #19
Reg_B
 
Posts: n/a
I have it, havn't (yet) been able to get it to work "properly".

I had a decent (enough) configuration running under version 4.0, but trying to run that under AF2009 is "proving to be problematic".
This is on an AMD based laptop running 64 bit Vista, the same machine that ran 4.0 quite well.

This is my second attempt, when I uninstalled it from the first fiasco it wiped out my WORK: and SYSTEM: volumes from the 4.0 installation as well, so I had to resort to back-up.

Right now my guess is that the display settings for WinUAE are colliding with the prefs settings in the emulator, with the laptop's display settings, etc.
I just get gray screens no matter what I set for displays, or it flashes the screen and quits.
 
Old 14 August 2009, 15:26   #20
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
I bought Amiga Forever for the videos and never touched the software
Maren is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Forever 2009 wont load games Slattery support.Amiga Forever 0 17 August 2013 02:51
Changing disks in Amiga Forever 2009 BryceOne support.Amiga Forever 5 16 May 2011 11:02
Big Issues running Amiga Forever 2009 on Vista HP chesty support.Amiga Forever 6 25 April 2010 19:05
Amiga Forever 2009 suddenly won't boot any games. Help needed. AmigaAddict support.WinUAE 45 22 September 2009 17:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26189 seconds with 11 queries