English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2009, 16:37   #1
paul773car
RAC377LAUP
paul773car's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Billericay UK
Age: 43
Posts: 93
What should I buy next???

Hi all.

I have a towered A1200 with an 040 Accelerator card 8mb Ram and a Fastata 1200 EIDE controller. 2 hard drives a CD rom drive and 2 floppy drives and WHDLOAD installed.

I love it!!!

My question is; I recently sold quite a bit of my old stuff and have a reasonable amount of cash burning a hole in my pocket. I know I need more ram and I'm looking at that now but what would you buy next???



Thanks

Paul

Last edited by paul773car; 24 June 2009 at 16:53.
paul773car is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 June 2009, 16:40   #2
skateblind
Village Idiot
skateblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK, England
Age: 31
Posts: 579
I do not know much about them, but do 060 accelerators exist? Maybe you could buy one of those and then sell your old one. You could buy more ram for your current one if it supports any more.
skateblind is offline  
Old 24 June 2009, 16:41   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,811
CD32 and box of cd-r. Never sell retro stuff without good reason.
s2325 is offline  
Old 24 June 2009, 17:06   #4
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
More memory! Treat yourself to at least 32mb (depending on what accelerator you have as Apollos can be a bit picky).

You're pretty much set
ppill is offline  
Old 24 June 2009, 17:10   #5
paul773car
RAC377LAUP
paul773car's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Billericay UK
Age: 43
Posts: 93
Hiya, my apollo only has one ram slot currently with 8mb in it. It has the holes on the board (on the other side) for another slot to be added but for the time being how much ram can I put in the one slot?

Paul
paul773car is offline  
Old 25 June 2009, 00:15   #6
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
What's the model of the card? I assume most 040 cards will allow you to add at least 32MB RAM, possibly up to 128MB. Once you know the model, you can check it on the Big Book of Amiga Hardware and see what the maximum it supports is, then check out www.amigamaniac.com for some cheap RAM. I reccomend at least 32MB RAM. I've been using an A1200 with 32MB RAM and it's never run out, although when running IRC, MSN, a web browser with 10+ tabs open, email, music player, paint program and a bunch of other little utilities and it starts to get down to that final few megs of RAM free, and you just know if you were to try running Lightwave from this point, it may have a bit of trouble rendering animations with all those apps running in RAM. Of course none of the programs will slow down, because it's not a PC, they'll keep running at their full speed, multitasking away with each other in harmony, but the RAM can get crowded if you're making yourself very busy. Don't you just love it when your 17 year old Amiga is loading a bunch of CPU-intensive, Javascript-filled websites while the music player plays without missing a single beat? Now that's true multitasking.

And you know what would really enhance your Amiga experience even more? Either an Indivision AGA flicker fixer, so you can use Workbench and web applications at 1024 x 768, or a Mediator/Grex PCI board and a Radeon graphics card maybe. The graphics card is way more desirable if you're more into using your Amiga seriously, but the Indivision is essential if you want to play games on any modern display device (well, a few LCD TVs will sync down to the Amiga's output but composite won't look as good as VGA).
Cammy is offline  
Old 25 June 2009, 17:04   #7
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateblind View Post
I do not know much about them, but do 060 accelerators exist?
Yes, but I think 040 is better, I rembember many games "went guru" on 060, ie: AB3D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
And you know what would really enhance your Amiga experience even more? Either an Indivision AGA flicker fixer, so you can use Workbench and web applications at 1024 x 768, or a Mediator/Grex PCI board and a Radeon graphics card maybe. The graphics card is way more desirable if you're more into using your Amiga seriously, but the Indivision is essential if you want to play games on any modern display device (well, a few LCD TVs will sync down to the Amiga's output but composite won't look as good as VGA).
But do old games work with a graphic card?
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 25 June 2009, 22:08   #8
paul773car
RAC377LAUP
paul773car's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Billericay UK
Age: 43
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by MazinKaesar View Post
Yes, but I think 040 is better, I rembember many games "went guru" on 060, ie: AB3D.



But do old games work with a graphic card?
Good point does anyone know?

Paul
paul773car is offline  
Old 25 June 2009, 22:42   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by MazinKaesar View Post
But do old games work with a graphic card?
Most of them don't.
StingRay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What did you buy today. Dizzy Retrogaming General Discussion 5571 28 November 2017 22:09
Where to buy? TroelsDK MarketPlace 5 11 April 2011 00:25
Can someone please buy me this??? Anubis Retrogaming General Discussion 7 30 March 2007 05:08
I'm going to buy a new pc nnever2000 support.WinUAE 28 23 December 2004 16:42
A4000T - to buy or not to buy? DPainter MarketPlace 31 31 May 2002 01:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14645 seconds with 11 queries