English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2009, 17:55   #1
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Happy Only the Amiga makes it possible...

OK, so what does 'only' the Amiga make possible in your lives?

Please, no mental images of you know who singing the Amiga song... for the love of god.
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 June 2009, 18:08   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
It is the only OS where I know how to find every system file.....!
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 18:12   #3
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Only the Amiga makes it possible to introduce a user-friendly system to computer noobs in the late 80's / early 90's

Plus, wut DDNI said
Shoonay is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 15:14   #4
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
Only Workbench has a snapshot desktop icons feature as standard!
Harrison is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 15:18   #5
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
For the time, full multitasking, 4096 colour palette plus the ability to draw in a glorious 32 or 64 colours (EHB Mode), 8 bit 4 channel sound chip made it possible to make some killer MODS..etc..

Nothing else could touch it and nothing else made it as possible as the Amiga.
blade002 is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 15:22   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Startup-sequence... you gotta love it
Btw : There was this other thread... oh nevermind
TCD is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 15:25   #7
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
Only Workbench has a snapshot desktop icons feature as standard!
Yeah but the difference being...

When I turn off Windows, the icons are still where I left them when I turn it back on...

No need to snapshot it!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 15:35   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
^
keropi is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 15:46   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Only the Amiga made that multi-resolution-screen-drag thing possible.

And only the Amiga makes it possible to run the ClassicWB without emulation.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 18:30   #10
Harrison
classicamiga.com
Harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Yeah but the difference being...

When I turn off Windows, the icons are still where I left them when I turn it back on...

No need to snapshot it!
Try changing the resolution in Windows and then tell me you prefer how Windows "remembers" where the icons were!
Harrison is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 18:50   #11
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
You're right, I'd much rather they disappear off the edge of the screen
killergorilla is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 20:40   #12
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
Try changing the resolution in Windows and then tell me you prefer how Windows "remembers" where the icons were!
This reminds me of how annoying it is for XP and later to redraw all the icons and refresh all the windows after you change the colour setting for your display (say from 32-bit to 16-bit). 95/98 never had to do this, so I wonder what went wrong?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 21:46   #13
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Startup-sequence... you gotta love it
Btw : There was this other thread... oh nevermind
I once tried to find a simple startup-sequence in Linux, to check where it launches all the stuff it tells you about during boot-up. Impossible. Only the amiga makes startup configuration that easy.

More AmigaOS only features unbeaten to this day:

- datatype.library: built-in datatype handling that doesn't rely solely on filename extensions but can rely on binary data, e.g. the file-headers! This is a BIGGIE imo. And AFAIK no modern system does this right compared to Amiga. Closest might be mime but it only uses extensions - useless. How has this been missed over the years.

- locale.library: built-in localization support through simple .catalog files. This is also HUGE. It baffles me how modern OSs still require you to download a whole new executable if you just want a different language. On the Amiga, it also allows anybody to translate programs, simply by editing the catalog file!

- system default filenames, directories and extensions that make more sense than anywhere else: .library for library, "utilities/" for utilities, etc. Granted, c and s are not so intuitive but still, for example Linux is so much more horrible here "etc, bin, opt, sbin, usr..." directory structure is a complete nightmare. .so for library? On windows, .dll for library? Why oh why?

- MUI: Completely customizable toolkit. This is so much more than the simple skinning you find on modern systems. I think this is the only toolkit that allows such easy and complete customization, where every user can change every little detail of the GUI experience using simple control panels, on a _program by program_ basis even.

- amigaguide.library: ...
... where shall I stop...
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 22:56   #14
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Let's see... there wasn't another thread recently with this kind of trickery?


The 1st real plug 'n' play system - Autoconfig
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 23:08   #15
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 637
Boot times - I love the way that I can be playing a game on my Amiga in the same time it takes the BIOS on my PC - despite the latter being over 2000MHz faster
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 23:13   #16
cybernoid
Bold as Love
cybernoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
It is the only OS where I know how to find every system file.....!
Agree
and the (power of) sound. Still miles ahead.
cybernoid is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 23:16   #17
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabbit80 View Post
Boot times - I love the way that I can be playing a game on my Amiga in the same time it takes the BIOS on my PC - despite the latter being over 2000MHz faster
+ booting to workbench (off floppy)
Paul_s is offline  
Old 17 June 2009, 02:09   #18
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
Only the Amiga ..

Playing Deluxe Galaga.
easy change accelerators from TrapDoor ?
Soft Reset - reboot with keys (Ctrl+A+A) ?
Anemos is offline  
Old 17 June 2009, 02:46   #19
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Well, that was a slogan created when it was indeed generations ahead.

Only Amiga has demo compos on partys?
Photon is offline  
Old 17 June 2009, 14:26   #20
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 637
No F****NG WGA crap to stop me from logging into my perfectly legitimate copy of Workbench
Rabbit80 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What makes you an Amiga user? manic23 Nostalgia & memories 63 14 May 2015 23:15
Only Amiga makes it possible Reynolds request.Other 10 15 October 2010 05:09
Only Amiga makes it possible: The Fall of the Berlin Wall :P viddi Amiga scene 10 29 August 2009 09:43
Only Amiga makes it possible! laffer Retrogaming General Discussion 13 07 June 2007 06:50
What makes an Amiga 500PLUS ? Konrad New to Emulation or Amiga scene 15 14 November 2003 12:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34409 seconds with 11 queries