English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2009, 14:23   #1
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
ADF Transfer Kit

Here's what I've come across on the German eBay site, anyone have a clue how/whether this works?

http://tinyurl.com/mh5z5f

To translate what it says in the auction:

"With this article you can, without problems, make real Amiga Disks from ADF files. No modifications on the Amiga or PC are neccessary.

You will be delievered the following:

1. HD-disk with PC software
2. DD-Disk with Amiga software, bootable
3. German-written instructions manual

You need:

1. Amiga 500/600/1200/2000/3000/4000
2. PC with disk drive and Windows operating system
3. A few DD-disks for the Amiga"

How can this work, as far as I know no PC drive can write anything that an Amiga drive can read, so how could this software make it possible? Anyone have a clue which software is in question?
quantum112 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:32   #2
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 31
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum112 View Post
Here's what I've come across on the German eBay site, anyone have a clue how/whether this works?

http://tinyurl.com/mh5z5f

To translate what it says in the auction:

"With this article you can, without problems, make real Amiga Disks from ADF files. No modifications on the Amiga or PC are neccessary.

You will be delievered the following:

1. HD-disk with PC software
2. DD-Disk with Amiga software, bootable
3. German-written instructions manual

You need:

1. Amiga 500/600/1200/2000/3000/4000
2. PC with disk drive and Windows operating system
3. A few DD-disks for the Amiga"

How can this work, as far as I know no PC drive can write anything that an Amiga drive can read, so how could this software make it possible? Anyone have a clue which software is in question?
Well it's the Amiga floppy drive that you write those ADFs. You'll need null-modem cable to attach PC to Amiga.
Old Fool is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:33   #3
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
Don't think so...doesn't mention anything about any cables.
quantum112 is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:35   #4
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 31
Posts: 600
Interesting. Is it a fake then?
Old Fool is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:37   #5
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
I don't know
quantum112 is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:38   #6
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 31
Posts: 600
Is here someone who speaks German and would translate it to English?
Old Fool is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:40   #7
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
I already did in first post, that's exactly what it says, I sent email to seller and will see what he says...
quantum112 is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:45   #8
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 31
Posts: 600
Oh yes, the rest was some other text...
Old Fool is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 14:58   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,086
Looks pretty much useless to me. "The PC software creates a data disk from the ADF." WTF?!
StingRay is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 15:07   #10
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
Yes but it then says "The Amiga software creates a usable Amiga Disk from the Datadisk" ?? Seems pretty vague.
quantum112 is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 15:13   #11
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,086
What it does is just copying the ADF to a PC formatted disk which the Amiga program then mounts and writes back to disk. That's my guess at least.
StingRay is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 15:15   #12
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
Well isn't that what all of us need to do? What I wonder is does it work, because it sounds much simpler than having to deal with complicated serial transfers...
quantum112 is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 15:21   #13
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,086
You can do all that yourself without paying 11.90EUR, format a PC disk, copy the ADF in question to that very disk, mount PC0: on Amiga, copy the file to your Amiga and write it back to disk with tools such as TSGUI.
StingRay is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 16:54   #14
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
You can do all that yourself without paying 11.90EUR, format a PC disk, copy the ADF in question to that very disk, mount PC0: on Amiga, copy the file to your Amiga and write it back to disk with tools such as TSGUI.
No, not without a serial cable, which is exactly what this is supposed to be an alternative to. And how do you intend to get that tool to the Amiga without again, a serial cable? And if I had a serial cable(that worked), I certainly wouldn't pay 12 Euro for two floppies. Get it? It's the whole chicken/egg scenario. This is supposed to be a much simpler replacement. I won't try it, because the eBay seller is vague, I don't know who wrote the software and he provides zero info, there's nobody to ask for tech support if the whole thing doesn't work, etc. I'll make do with my Bluetooth Serial adapters but I just figured it was something worth looking into if others want some cheap alternative for a bone stock A500 like mine.
quantum112 is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 18:54   #15
Arnie
I can now retire at 66 :)

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 56
Posts: 1,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
You can do all that yourself without paying 11.90EUR, format a PC disk, copy the ADF in question to that very disk, mount PC0: on Amiga, copy the file to your Amiga and write it back to disk with tools such as TSGUI.
Can the Amiga read 1.44mb pc disks?. I thought pc0: only read 720kb disks and since adf`s are what 880-900? it wouldn`t fit on the disk.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 18:57   #16
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 27
Posts: 10,106
If you archive them then they generally tend to fit
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 19:23   #17
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum112 View Post
No, not without a serial cable, which is exactly what this is supposed to be an alternative to. And how do you intend to get that tool to the Amiga without again, a serial cable? And if I had a serial cable(that worked), I certainly wouldn't pay 12 Euro for two floppies. Get it? It's the whole chicken/egg scenario. This is supposed to be a much simpler replacement. I won't try it, because the eBay seller is vague, I don't know who wrote the software and he provides zero info, there's nobody to ask for tech support if the whole thing doesn't work, etc. I'll make do with my Bluetooth Serial adapters but I just figured it was something worth looking into if others want some cheap alternative for a bone stock A500 like mine.
Excuse me? Serial cable? First of all, I don't see that this tool comes with any serial cable. So I'm quite sure it just works the way I described. Anyway, you do not need a serial cable at all, so far I always managed to insert a disk into my Amiga drive without the help of any serial cable (sorry, couldn't resist). Again, format a disk on the PC, copy the ADF to it (you may have to split or pack it so it will fit on a 720k disk) and just read the disk on your Amiga then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Can the Amiga read 1.44mb pc disks?. I thought pc0: only read 720kb disks and since adf`s are what 880-900? it wouldn`t fit on the disk.
The Amiga can read 1.44 disks too but you need floppy drive that is able to read HD disks obviously.
StingRay is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 21:14   #18
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Excuse me? Serial cable? First of all, I don't see that this tool comes with any serial cable. So I'm quite sure it just works the way I described.
I'm sure it does. I never said anything about the transfer kit needing a serial cable.

Quote:
Anyway, you do not need a serial cable at all, so far I always managed to insert a disk into my Amiga drive without the help of any serial cable (sorry, couldn't resist). Again, format a disk on the PC, copy the ADF to it (you may have to split or pack it so it will fit on a 720k disk) and just read the disk on your Amiga then.
That would be really nice if I could do that, unfortunately my Amiga doesn't read PC written floppies. And "Mount PC0:"...wait, what? I have an A500 with WB 1.3 with obviously no CrossDos support and I can't get tools like Dos2Dos on it either without a serial cable. And just like I said if I had one I wouldn't need the 12 euro kit. Since that kit is obviously meant to be able to write ADFs for the Amiga to read it's a good alternative for those without serial cable and then like you said "You can do it without paying 12 euro" - yes, with a serial cable. Otherwise, your only choice is to buy this.
quantum112 is offline  
Old 13 June 2009, 23:41   #19
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,689
Hi quantum112,

If I were putting together a package such as this, it would be

(1) a PC formatted floppy disk containing a utility to split an ADF file in two, so that the two halves could be copied onto 720K DOS formatted floppies for transfer to an Amiga, and

(2) an Amiga formatted floppy disk containing a Dos2Dos-type utility, an ADF2Disk-type utility and a utility to rejoin the two halves of an ADF file (and it wouldn't need to be bootable).

However, from what I can see of the German instructions in this picture,



it is far from certain that the method is that simple. These words, for instance: ...Betrieb des PCMCIA... and ...per drag and drop auf jedes..., seem to be describing something beyond what is strictly necessary.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 14 June 2009, 12:05   #20
quantum112
Registered User
quantum112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 121
True, the PCMCIA thing is not very convincing. Oh well, my Brainboxes adapters arrive next week (in stores they cost 100 pounds each, I got two for 30 pounds, nice bargain)
so hopefully all will be fine.
quantum112 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amigakit.com EasyADF PCMCIA Compact Flash Transfer Kit Vollldo support.Hardware 26 29 May 2011 12:23
EasyADF PCMCIA Compact Flash Transfer Kit ? ruffian New to Emulation or Amiga scene 29 16 November 2009 17:39
EasyADF Transfer Kit Update amigakit.com MarketPlace 0 20 March 2008 15:45
EasyADF Transfer Kit amigakit.com News 0 17 November 2006 14:41
Problem with ADF transfer RealaT support.Hardware 1 23 May 2002 22:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.44289 seconds with 11 queries