English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 May 2009, 20:29   #1
RokChild
The One The ONLY
RokChild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia USA
Age: 53
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to RokChild
ADF back to Amiga disk Problems

Hello everyone,

hopefully someone will be able to assist me with a problem I am having. I recently bought a second hand Amiga 1200, after not having one for some 14 years and loving playing games on WinUAE, i wanted to have the real McCoy again. The machine works well, and though not expanded, has an 80MB HD, which is sufficient for the time being. The machine came with a few disks so I thought I might try to convert some of the ADF Files I have back to amiga format. I bought a PCMCIA Compact Flash ADF transfer kit from Amiga Vintage in Germany. After installing the software on the amiga, I eagerly transferred some ADF files to the card, inserted the PCMCIA card and the CF card into the 1200. So far so good. After a little confusion and messing about I got everything up and running and started transferring my first ADF back to amiga format. The first try came up with the error " not enough space on target disk" or that sort of thing. after half an hour I got a disk to write successfully, so having done the remaining disks for the game I was eager to try them out, the disk read, then went straight to HD, something had gone wrong!! I did this with 3 more games with the same result.

The disks, when inserted in DF0 show the following DF0:????. I am thinking that they should read as NDOS disks but not being particularly technical aren't fully sure.

The transfer software is called Tracksaver and there is another program called ADF Blitzer.

Has anyone any ideas what may be the problem??
RokChild is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 May 2009, 21:27   #2
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
Have you tried booting from the floppy disk?

Ie..
Turn Amiga off
Insert game disk one
Turn Amiga back on
Magno Boots is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 21:32   #3
RokChild
The One The ONLY
RokChild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia USA
Age: 53
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to RokChild
I have tried booting from the newly made disk yes, the df0 light comes on when the disk is read, but then the hd boots which I know means the disk hasn't booted correctly, thanks anyway
RokChild is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 21:46   #4
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
What does 'Tracksaver' do and how are you using it?

It may be stuffing up your adfs.
Magno Boots is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 22:00   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by RokChild View Post
Has anyone any ideas what may be the problem??
Hi RokChild,

Have a look at this thread:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=44952
terexuk had much the same problem restoring adfs to disk.

prowler
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a good ADF-Tool for writing back onto disk Alf support.Apps 7 01 July 2007 18:18
ADF back to floppy disk .. Kitty New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 18 May 2005 12:04
ADF to amiga disk jettaman support.Games 0 16 April 2005 14:58
Help Converting ADF to be able to play back on Amiga Unregistered support.Apps 12 29 August 2004 05:27
PROB - ADF files back into Amiga disks anim8 support.Apps 1 04 December 2001 18:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19975 seconds with 11 queries