English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2009, 17:32   #1
don27dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: uZI sUICIDE!
Posts: 67
Ami-Express Question

Does anyone know of a way around the 2 GIG barrier. If I assign upload directory to any Partition larger than 2 GIG Ami-Express said No free Space for uploading. If I use a small partition Upload works fine. There doesn't seem to any problem with downloads. I have 100Gig partition and everything downloads fine.
don27dog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 June 2009, 14:24   #2
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,607
Real Amiga or WinUAE?

WinUAE make a hardfile under 2Gb, upload to that, have a script run on logoff (or even on filecheck!) that moves all the files to your 100 Gb partition?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 18:20   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Probably much easier to patch the size check, should be really easy for anyone who has done similar stuff
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 June 2009, 16:09   #4
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Probably much easier to patch the size check, should be really easy for anyone who has done similar stuff
had a look for some suspicious code fragments, but my skill are limited.
but i found some "#7fffffff" and "#80000000" entries ( which means size of 2GB ).
anyone more luck, skills?
hit is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 17:31   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Problem is 32-bit overflow and also using signed variables when calculating free space. There won't be any 0x7fffffff's or similar..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 June 2009, 20:48   #6
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Problem is 32-bit overflow and also using signed variables when calculating free space. There won't be any 0x7fffffff's or similar..
there is one SUBI.L #7fffffff,... but i dont understand the context. seems they didnt wrote AmiTCP in asm - many obscure offsets, which doesnt make disassembling easier - once i'll give ida a run.
i can see the "No space left on device" message on a certain offset, but no reference to it, in the code. thats too bad. :/
hit is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 20:52   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,529
Since /X is coded in C the compiler most probably used a base register such as a4 and accesses all data relative to this base. IDA Pro won't help you here either if you don't tell it which base register to use.
StingRay is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 21:28   #8
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Since /X is coded in C the compiler most probably used a base register such as a4 and accesses all data relative to this base. IDA Pro won't help you here either if you don't tell it which base register to use.
indeed. "D0,($4B70,A4)", thats dosbase. and i edited these entries manualy, since i cant find a way to replace them all (resource). ida must be sort of more intuitive. anyway, the other day.
hit is offline  
Old 16 June 2009, 21:33   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,529
Scroll to the line where the base register is initialised, should be one of the first things you see in the disassembly. Once you found that, select 'Convert (xx,a4) EA's -> This operand' from the "*" (SPECIAL FUNCTIONS) menu.
StingRay is offline  
Old 17 June 2009, 20:04   #10
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Scroll to the line where the base register is initialised, should be one of the first things you see in the disassembly. Once you found that, select 'Convert (xx,a4) EA's -> This operand' from the "*" (SPECIAL FUNCTIONS) menu.
thats did the trick. thanks. saw this funktion and played with it, but of no use. now more readable
hit is offline  
Old 17 June 2009, 20:20   #11
don27dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: uZI sUICIDE!
Posts: 67
Methanoid,

I am running it on a real A3000T. I had the board up from 88-97 then shut it down and didn't touch an amiga until a year and a half or so. I was home at my parents for x-mas and found my old Amiga in the attic and brought it home with me. After buying some parts from Amigakit I got it back up and running. Wasn't much longer and I put the board back up. A logoff script should do the trick until someone can change the code.

Last edited by don27dog; 17 June 2009 at 20:46.
don27dog is offline  
Old 17 June 2009, 20:22   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by don27dog View Post
A logoff script should do the trick until someone can change the code.
Shouldn't be very hard to do but I let Hit try his luck first. I don't have /X here anyway else I would have already checked.
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 June 2009, 14:42   #13
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Shouldn't be very hard to do but I let Hit try his luck first. I don't have /X here anyway else I would have already checked.
i do my best. managed to find/assign some lables and library bases.
now its even more readable and I try to find the realtion to the "no space left" message

Edit: is there a way to stop a running search operation (resource) - this makes me sick :/
hit is offline  
Old 18 June 2009, 14:55   #14
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post
Edit: is there a way to stop a running search operation (resource) - this makes me sick :/
Of course there is. Just press right Amiga+A (for abort).
StingRay is offline  
Old 18 June 2009, 16:04   #15
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Of course there is. Just press right Amiga+A (for abort).
ah, hmm, thnx. winuae only, and keys are not maped (missing Amiga-Keys). but found the menu-entry on the most left, this works too

Edit: after some learning procedures, I've fiddled with AmiExpress ($VER: Version v4.4 (Aug 21 1994, 19:42:44) - size: 323588 bytes) and here is a problem:
the code is relative to A4, first occurance is right at the start: "LEA (START+$04FA58).L,A4" but the biggest offset is $48A1E. so i cant jump to the "$04FA58" offset and use the Special menu (convert ...,A4). :/
are there some unsupported hunks, resource cannot handle?

Edit: *some days later* does really noone know, how to cope with this?

Last edited by hit; 29 June 2009 at 21:56.
hit is offline  
Old 08 August 2009, 23:15   #16
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
*bumP* where are the resource experts?
hit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ami-Express on WinUae don27dog support.WinUAE 7 20 February 2014 07:30
IDEFix Express... or not? protek support.Hardware 21 25 September 2008 08:47
Ami-Express bbs in .DMS format GreenMeanie request.Apps 6 13 June 2008 11:29
Ami-Express V1.3 or 2.0 WANTED! D4Ni3L3 request.Apps 0 31 May 2008 11:27
Ami-Express V1.3 or 2.0 WANTED! D4Ni3L3 support.Apps 0 30 May 2008 19:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31522 seconds with 11 queries