English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 May 2009, 00:13   #1
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
Question 3DO discs burning tips?

Could someone tell me how can I burn 3DO disc images with Nero? Is ISO file enough or I need also cue file?
s2325 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 May 2009, 00:16   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
iso is enough if there are no audio tracks on the game... CUE/BIN works with images that have audio....
In Nero choose Recorder -> Burn Image , no special settings are needed at all... 3DO games are plain cd's without any kind of protection or tricks.
I would recommend you to use IMGBURN , for all your burning needs, you can grab it for free here: http://www.imgburn.com
keropi is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 00:20   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
I have two working copies from someone but yesterday my burned CD didn't work. Maybe CD was too cheap/incompatible or something. Could you post example of cue file for 3DO? Or maybe they are the same as for PSX games?
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 07:30   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
example???? there is no generic CUE file... games are simple isos or cue/bin if they have CDA... I think you need to try another CDR brand
keropi is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 07:39   #5
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Are the cue files ok? I know someone who burned cds with wrong cue files. Idiot
Btw: do you have 3do swos?

edit:
Check the cue files. The pigs just upload the games prepared for playing in the emulator. Cue files have to be modified then.

Last edited by Sensi; 28 May 2009 at 07:46.
Sensi is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 07:53   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
I have not Sensible Soccer image or any cue files for 3DO. My source of 3DO games is snesorama and gametronik.
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 08:04   #7
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
I never downloaded any cd images there but try to check the cue files, I didnt do and games didnt work
Sensi is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 08:56   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
grab some good files here s2325: http://www.mondemul.net , all I tried work fine
keropi is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 09:18   #9
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
thank you
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 11:47   #10
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I use both DiscJuggler and Alcohol 120% for burning ISO images for most of my old consoles and i have never had a problem running them

By the way if you have a Goldstar 3DO then they can be very fussy with CD-R's but if you have a Panasonic or Samsung model then you should be ok runnning most CD-R's if they are burned correctly

With DiscJuggler and Alcohol 120% i have never needed to change or tweak any settings, Just choose the ISO and then burn Both these programs will recognize and burn different types of ISO/disc images.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 12:03   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
it's Panasonic 3DO FZ-10
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 12:12   #12
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
it's Panasonic 3DO FZ-10
Then it should be ok with CD-R's (do not use CDRW's). You should try Alcohol 120% as it also supports Nero images.... I hated using Nero for burning game discs! I can pretty much burn any type of image just by using Alcohol 120% or Padus Discjuggler, You should check them out
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 12:15   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
IMGBURN FTW!!!!
keropi is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 12:22   #14
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
IMGBURN FTW!!!!
I forgot about that one! also a great utility and it's 100% free
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 12:42   #15
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
NERO FTW!
Erm, what was the topic again?
Ah yes... you only need a cue file if there are additional audio tracks (WAV files). If not you can just burn the ISO
TCD is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 12:44   #16
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
Thank you for your help. I will try with TDK discs and Nero this evening.
s2325 is offline  
Old 28 May 2009, 15:38   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,626
Use Imgburn if you notice problems. Keropi is a wise man. Dont't use newer Nero versions for old CD games. Nero 6.6 is still the best for that purpose.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 30 May 2009, 14:04   #18
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
Nero is enough and 3DO Wolfenstein is awesome.
- new, better sound fx
- higher resolution
- new music in CD quality
- savegame after each level
- new weapons: flamethrower and rocket launcher
s2325 is offline  
Old 30 May 2009, 15:48   #19
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Nero is enough and 3DO Wolfenstein is awesome.
- new, better sound fx
- higher resolution
- new music in CD quality
- savegame after each level
- new weapons: flamethrower and rocket launcher
Wolfenstein was great on the 3DO, but Doom was a disaster.... It is worse than the nasty 32X version. On the 3DO it runs in a small window with bad sound and framerate issues... one to avoid. Escape from Monster Manor on the other hand was fun
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 01 June 2009, 12:27   #20
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,523
Why do you think that 3DO Doom is disaster? Window is not so small and game is smooth if you have not problems with cd. It's my favourite version now because of playability, music and controls.
s2325 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAL 3DO Question..... PowerPie5000 Retrogaming General Discussion 13 27 April 2009 08:47
Problem burning bootable CDTV discs cpfuture support.Hardware 6 13 January 2009 01:53
3do Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 15 05 November 2003 08:47
3DO Thread!! Fred the Fop Nostalgia & memories 32 06 September 2002 23:20
3DO M2 Development System Shadowfire MarketPlace 0 14 June 2002 06:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20849 seconds with 11 queries