English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2009, 17:57   #1
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 526
4000T Workbench Disk

My original 4000T workbench disk has become corrupted,and have been looking for the original disk images in .adf format,for this disk and the other 2 disks ( Install & Extra's )

These 3 disks are specific to the 4000T.

I have found a zip file which contains all the original files but these only fit on a 1.44 disk as apposed to my original disk which is 880kb.

Can anyone help ?
THX1138 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 May 2009, 20:57   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
The original A4000T floppies are HD disks (1760kb). Otherwise you would need six disks rather than three. WB 3.1 does not fit on three 880kb disks.
thomas is offline  
Old 19 May 2009, 21:23   #3
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 526
Floppy disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
The original A4000T floppies are HD disks (1760kb). Otherwise you would need six disks rather than three. WB 3.1 does not fit on three 880kb disks.
I do have 6 disks,they are all 880kb.

Install 4000T \ 370299-97
Workbench 4000T \ 370300-97
Extras 4000T \ 370301-97

Storage 370299-99
Locale 370300-99
Fonts 370301-99
THX1138 is offline  
Old 20 May 2009, 00:01   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX1138 View Post
My original 4000T workbench disk has become corrupted,and have been looking for the original disk images in .adf format,for this disk and the other 2 disks ( Install & Extra's )

These 3 disks are specific to the 4000T.

I have found a zip file which contains all the original files but these only fit on a 1.44 disk as apposed to my original disk which is 880kb.

Can anyone help ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by THX1138 View Post
I do have 6 disks,they are all 880kb.

Install 4000T \ 370299-97
Workbench 4000T \ 370300-97
Extras 4000T \ 370301-97

Storage 370299-99
Locale 370300-99
Fonts 370301-99
Hi THX1138,

Does the zip file you have found contain an .ADF file which is 1760kB?

If it is, you could mount it in WinUAE and copy the files you require to another, blank 880kB .ADF file (which WinUAE wiull allow you to create), to recreate the disk you want.

This could then be copied to your Amiga to be written to disk with a program like TSgui. And this will be the Workbench disk you require.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 20 May 2009, 02:56   #5
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
The original A4000T floppies are HD disks (1760kb). Otherwise you would need six disks rather than three. WB 3.1 does not fit on three 880kb disks.
They also come in HD Disks? So that means there was more than 1 version of them. Where does this information come from? I am sure the thread where they are making CRCs of Workbench disks would be interested in this.

Last edited by Calgor; 20 May 2009 at 03:04.
Calgor is offline  
Old 20 May 2009, 04:15   #6
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
I am sure the thread where they are making CRCs of Workbench disks would be interested in this.
Yes we are .
I'm following this thread from its very start.
It's a pity his disks got ruined...
Supamax is offline  
Old 20 May 2009, 08:14   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Hi THX1138

Have you still got the corrupted disks ?
Did you Try any ways to fix the disks ?
Are all of them corrupted ?
and finaly the question that should have been first,
Have you Still got the disks ?
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 20 May 2009, 17:56   #8
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 526
Ok,I told a little lie at the beginning of the thread........

I said the files are corrupted and there not.

But i'm not sure if these disk have been mucked around with or not ?

I'm trying to get these to install on my hardrive but am having no luck....

Of course this may well be down to something else.

So i thought by getting the exact same original image in .adf format
and writing it back to the original disks,then i would be sure that none of the files would be missing.

I am a bit skeptical of all of this,how do we know that someone hasn't already copied over a 880kb version for use with an Amiga 1200 say ?

How do i found out exactly what the version is on disk ?

Last edited by THX1138; 20 May 2009 at 18:08.
THX1138 is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 03:00   #9
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,476
Hi THX1138,

Oooh, so the files are not corrupted , good to know!

I hope you didn't ever write-enable them...

If, as I suppose, all the tracks are correctly readable, could you please make .adf dumps of your floppies and upload them to The Zone? (*)

So we'll be able to tell you which exact version they are.
We will not be able to tell you for sure if they haven't been modified, unless we find another user with a similar set and the same disk checksums.

(*) could you please make two separate dumps/adf of each floppy, so we can be sure they are correctly dumped by comparing them byte-per-byte? This is my usual method when I dump floppies.
Supamax is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 08:55   #10
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Hi THX1138,

Oooh, so the files are not corrupted , good to know!

I hope you didn't ever write-enable them...

If, as I suppose, all the tracks are correctly readable, could you please make .adf dumps of your floppies and upload them to The Zone? (*)

So we'll be able to tell you which exact version they are.
We will not be able to tell you for sure if they haven't been modified, unless we find another user with a similar set and the same disk checksums.

(*) could you please make two separate dumps/adf of each floppy, so we can be sure they are correctly dumped by comparing them byte-per-byte? This is my usual method when I dump floppies.
No problem........will upload them at the weekend.
THX1138 is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 20:08   #11
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,476
Hi THX1138,

Damn, I forgot we should never ask about WB disks on EAB !
Please do not upload them!
(thanks, cosmicfrog, for reminding me of that)

I'll PM you about the floppies' checksums .
Supamax is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 23:46   #12
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
They also come in HD Disks? So that means there was more than 1 version of them. Where does this information come from? I am sure the thread where they are making CRCs of Workbench disks would be interested in this.
Yes, the first A4000T from Commodore had the HD-Version on 3 disks as all had a HD floppy inside. Later AmigaTech put only DD floppy drives into the A4000T and released 3.1 on 6 disks.
DJBase is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench 1.3.3 disk jvidia MarketPlace 25 20 July 2017 23:57
High Density floppy disk in 4000T videofx support.Hardware 10 17 February 2013 15:12
Workbench 1.3 - damaged disk jeff__ request.Apps 3 24 March 2011 13:51
Workbench Disk's polish MarketPlace 7 01 January 2006 00:53
Best Disk Copier for Workbench 3.1 RetroGeek support.Apps 10 04 February 2005 03:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17141 seconds with 11 queries