English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2009, 21:58   #1
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Big grin Friday I'm in love

A nice shiny Amiga 1200 with 4gb HDD and a shitload of stuff should arrive by mail this friday.
Paid the guy 100 euros for the whole lot.
I wanted to have one for soooo long (again) and now the time is almost there.
Damn I can't wait to see what else is included.

Last edited by Retroplay; 14 May 2009 at 20:05. Reason: stupid typo
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 May 2009, 22:01   #2
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,987
One day I hope to join you retroplay

I hope you re-enjoy the experience and have a fantastic Friday
DH is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 22:02   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Have fun Retroplay. Now you are WHDLoad heaven.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 22:13   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Nice to hear that mate Have fun with your A1200
TCD is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 22:13   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Yessiree, only 2 days to go.
Next I'll be on the lookout for a Blizzard 030 me think.
I suspect there's some fastram in the Miggy already but if there ain't a Blizzard is a must have.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 22:31   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Congrats on your new arrival....

I hope you have a fat wallet!!!
DDNI is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 22:45   #7
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
I found a Blizzard 1230 MKIV with 16mb fastram.
The guy wants 1500 DKR (201.41 EUR) for it.
Is that an acceptable price ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 22:47   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
It's no acceptable price, but sadly normal these days. Wait a bit and check other offers.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 23:00   #9
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Will do that.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 23:07   #10
extralife
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: denmark
Posts: 267
ITS WAS U RETROPLAY!!!!! lol I had my eye on that one (the a1200 that is)
extralife is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 23:25   #11
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Ahhaha so you were browsing dba.dk too.
Den der kommer først til mølle.. du ved
Retroplay is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 23:29   #12
extralife
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: denmark
Posts: 267
haha ja, men så må mit 060 kort jo ligge i skuffen lidt endnu gz m8
extralife is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 23:38   #13
ungi
Amiga Games Historian
ungi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vienna
Age: 45
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I found a Blizzard 1230 MKIV with 16mb fastram.
The guy wants 1500 DKR (201.41 EUR) for it.
Is that an acceptable price ?
bought my last for around 55 euros 3 yrs ago... seems the price has gone up a bit since then. anyway, it is a good card!
ungi is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 23:39   #14
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
TY
I'm glad I never had the heart to part with my trusty old 1084S-D1 btw.
It just needs a little Retr0brite and it's as good as new.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 14 May 2009, 00:39   #15
extralife
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: denmark
Posts: 267
looks like u are pretty much set then m8 about the price on the 1230, it's difficult really to say if its fair, but i suppose it isn't too steep really, considering how few of them tend to surface here in denmark and since it is a blizzard,is the mkiv running at 50mhz ?? I would say go for it, if u can spare the money, u won't regret it either way u need some fast ram at least, so why not just make the a1200 as it should have been from the start, equipped with a 030 but keep in mind if u want to be running the new aga demo's u still need to keep an eye out for the insanely expensive 060, but these are even more rare to buy in our country m8
extralife is offline  
Old 14 May 2009, 00:48   #16
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Of course an 060 would be nice however I don't really need such a "brutal" accelerator.
All I want is some fastram so I can keep WHDLoad happy.
About the 030 running 50mhz, don't know, the guy didn't mention anything like that.
I'll do what Retro-Nerd suggested, wait and see if something better will turn up.... maybe.. ahem.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 14 May 2009, 01:25   #17
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 38
Posts: 1,120
cheaper solution is fastram expansion,4 or 8 mg.It will double the speed of the A1200.Acelerator is faster but less compatible

BTW congrats!
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 14 May 2009, 01:31   #18
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Yup, I remember seeing Wing Commander on a 1200 with 4mb extra fastram.
Huuge difference from a vanilla 2mb A1200.
The game was actually playable.
That reminds me that I actually spent countless hours playing that game from floppies on my 500.
Talk about slooooow.

[edit]

No yellow stuff

Last edited by Retroplay; 14 May 2009 at 01:48.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 14 May 2009, 01:43   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
ebay nr: 150343873958

A better offer, but still too expensive imho.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 May 2009, 03:12   #20
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
You should go for one of the accelerators from SoftHut, I picked up a GVP Typhpoon 030/40 with an FPU and 16mb ram for 140 uk pounds including shipping to Japan and its brand new, 1 year warranty
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elite - Braben and Bell on TV Friday C5 7.30 ish Angus Retrogaming General Discussion 68 29 August 2008 02:55
No Love Greater than the Love of Moto Zetr0 Hardware pics 15 05 October 2007 19:42
Fred Fish passed away Friday April 20th 2007 :( ppill News 29 15 May 2007 13:59
Friday the 13th - Part V (19xx)(Wanderers) Jimbo support.Demos 7 25 October 2006 00:51
Having a Amiga600 since friday i need HELP ser6io Amiga scene 10 30 December 2005 23:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33991 seconds with 11 queries