English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2009, 20:04   #41
paul773car
RAC377LAUP
paul773car's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Billericay UK
Age: 43
Posts: 93
Do I have to restart the amiga after each change or rom to be sure its picked up correctly or something??

Paul
paul773car is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:06   #42
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824

Last edited by DH; 13 May 2009 at 20:14.
DH is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:07   #43
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,674
It's about WHDLoad kickstart emulation, not the WinUAE rom detection. Don't confuse paul, DH.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:09   #44
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hi Paul,

just tried Deluxe Pacman AGA (http://www.whdownload.com/games/Pack...n_v1.0_AGA.zip) with the kickstart that Retro and I mentioned (verified the CRC again). Works fine here Maybe the folder where you put the files is wrong. Which partitions have you and where exactly do you put the kickstart and RTB file?
TCD is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:13   #45
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,674
As i said before: Sometimes the WHDLoad kickstart detection fail. You get "invalid kickstart" errors, even with the correct files. I noticed it several times too. I don't know if Wepl already "fixed" it in WHDLoad 16.9.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:13   #46
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
It's about WHDLoad kickstart emulation, not the WinUAE rom detection. Don't confuse paul, DH.
Ahhhhhhhhh!!!!! sorry retro & paul, I keep forgeting it's WHDLoad we're talking about damn confusing this is, I think I need a drink
DH is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:21   #47
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Paul this is how you should have your Devs:Kickstart directory named.

You should have the .RTB named as the rom file

AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:23   #48
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,674
Incorrect names are NOT the problem, i'm afraid.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:31   #49
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Well he could give a try has I never had this problem, on either Winuae or my A4000.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:34   #50
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
We had this sorted at the start of the thread xpect. He uses the right name and the right RTB file from skick346.lha. I think Retro is right. Is there any known way to 'reset' WHDLoad, so it checks again?
TCD is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 20:59   #51
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,674
I zipped my kickstarts in WinUAE emulation and paul unzipped them on his real Amiga. Now it works.

I assume Windows corrupts something with the files, if you pack/unpack the kickstarts+rtb files there. Had similar troubles, and probably did the same some month ago.

Edit: But i still think a better WHDLoad kickstart detection won't cause such problems.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 13 May 2009 at 21:14.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:04   #52
paul773car
RAC377LAUP
paul773car's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Billericay UK
Age: 43
Posts: 93
Thank you all so much for your help!!! Emails and patience!!!

Cant believe how many people have been willing to take the time to help.

Thanks again

Paul
paul773car is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:23   #53
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I assume Windows corrupts something with the files, if you pack/unpack the kickstarts+rtb files there. Had similar troubles, and probably did the same some month ago.
Wonder why it worked fine for me and DH then...
Anyway good to hear it's sorted Paul
TCD is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:26   #54
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Wonder why it worked fine for me and DH then...
Well, never noticed this issues in WinUAE, only on my real Amiga.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:27   #55
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Well, never noticed this issues in WinUAE, only on my real Amiga.
Ah, so I guess the transfer method (FAT instead of NTFS) might be the problem. If you transfer the archive the flags are stored inside it, but not if you transfer the actual files.
TCD is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:29   #56
paul773car
RAC377LAUP
paul773car's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Billericay UK
Age: 43
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Wonder why it worked fine for me and DH then...
Anyway good to hear it's sorted Paul
Thanks TCD, just paused Pinball Fantasies to reply!!!!

I'm going to go and play my favourites for a bit given it took me two weeks to get here. I have a cold beer at the ready as well! But I'll be back in a day or so. Also I have just bought a hard drive for my old A600 so I'll be doing this all again in a week or so. This time it will be much easier though.

Cheers everyone have a nice evening,

Paul
paul773car is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:30   #57
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,674
Quote:
Ah, so I guess the transfer method (FAT instead of NTFS) might be the problem.
I use NTFS.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:32   #58
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I use NTFS.
On your CF card too? That's what I meant

@Paul
A cold beer eh? Now that's a good idea Enjoy Pinball Fantasies
TCD is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:33   #59
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
On your CF card too? That's what I meant
Aah, that's true. FAT16 there.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 21:37   #60
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I think we have listed (almost) all possible error constallations with WHDLoad and the kickstart images now Nice work guys
Edit : Maybe someone should sum them up and hand the info to Cody for his FAQ?
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Falling at the 1st.... well last Hockmiester support.WinUAE 2 26 March 2013 16:46
TimeRunner - how do complete 1st level!? Minuous support.Games 3 19 January 2010 11:15
CAUTION April 1st.... DDNI Amiga scene 17 07 April 2008 16:50
On the 1st day of January... Fissuras Retrogaming General Discussion 1 12 January 2003 06:42
1st Sensible Soccer Nico request.Old Rare Games 1 13 May 2002 15:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30614 seconds with 11 queries