English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 April 2009, 12:51   #1
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
PAL 3DO Question.....

I know this is not Amiga related But i recently purchased a PAL Goldstar 3DO system and i am a bit peeved that it does not support RGB and does not even have an s-video connection like the US versions!! (just stuck with RF and Composite outputs)

Does anyone here own a Panasonic or Goldstar PAL 3DO? I cannot find much info on the UK PAL versions and would like to know if any come with the s-video connection (not including US version).

Any info is always appreciated, cheers
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 April 2009, 20:28   #2
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I guess not many people own or have much knowledge on these ill fated machines? It was a bit of an impulse buy and i may just re-sell it Even the people over at 3DO Zero forums are not too helpful and they should all be the experts These machines are one of lifes mysteries
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 01:12   #3
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
You could always email RJ Mical... OK, I'm only kidding but didn't he co-create the 3D0?
I think I remember him discussing it in the interview that was posted up here a little while ago... he also created or co-created the Atari Lynx - I always wanted one of those - I bet they look really dated now...

Good luck with your search for a solution... seems like the N64 problem with picture output is the same for this machine... RF sucks...!
Maybe I will hunt down a moded NTSC N64 one of these days... I wonder if someone has attempted a picture output mod for the 3D0?
Peter is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 01:56   #4
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I have seen a RGB mod for the Panasonic FZ-1 3DO but it looks very complicated and messy! It also requires a seperate custom PCB which i think will be difficult to find anywhere I know NTSC models had s-video output and i think so did the early UK Panasonic models but they removed it in later revisions.... i assume to cut costs but what a mistake

Yes RJ Mical was the co-inventor of both the 3DO and Atari Lynx, He also developed arcade games for Williams Electronics and of course had a major role in the development of the Amiga... He did quite a bit.... but i am sure he would rather forget about the 3DO
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 02:29   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,746
Sell the PAL and buy a US NTSC machine. The 3DO has no region lock. I assume you can play 99,9% of all PAL games on a NTSC console. Get a Panasonic FZ-1. The Goldstar versions look very cheap imho. I've also heard that these models are very picky with burned CD images.

Only Japanese games have problems on western machines due the missing Kanji fonts.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 26 April 2009 at 02:41.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 02:55   #6
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I think i will get a Japanese Panasonic 3DO My Goldstar works fine with burned CD's and to be honest the Panasonic FZ-10 is the cheap version! it looks and even feels cheap and flimsy.

My Goldstar is the all grey second revision and it works fine.... I just don't like the fact that it has no s-video port and the borders in some games bother me on the PAL machine I will keep an eye out for a nice US or Jap 3DO (not the FZ-10)

As far as i know there are only very few Japanese titles that actually use the machines Kanji fonts.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 02:58   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,746
Sounds good to me. I will buy an FZ-1 too in the near future, but first i want a premodded Sega Saturn for a fair price.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 13:30   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Sounds good to me. I will buy an FZ-1 too in the near future, but first i want a premodded Sega Saturn for a fair price.
define fair price plz
I have a spare modded model2 here...

and to be on topic, I have a US old-style 3DO, it is OK but too crappy games for my taste
keropi is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 17:02   #9
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I am looking for either a Jap or US "old style" 3DO I assume your one is the Panasonic FZ-1? they don't get older than that

I am not sure what a fair price for a modded saturn is? Here in the UK i have seen pre-modded saturns selling for anything upto around 100 but if you get a non-modded one then they are substantially cheaper.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 17:06   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,746
I will try to mod a Saturn myself. Here in Germay you will find an unmodded Saturn for app. 25-30€.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 26 April 2009 at 17:12.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 17:11   #11
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Yeah it's around the same here... an un-modded saturn will be around 30.

Modding a saturn can sometimes be difficult as some of them are very "fussy" when it comes to mod chips and there are also a few different revisions of model 2 saturns that use different brand CD drive boards and either 32 or 64 pin IC's..
A model 1 saturn can be modded but finding a mod for it will be hard and i think installing it is also hard compared to the other saturns.

Here is a link with mod guides for some versions of the saturn: http://www.angelfire.com/pa/Raluminat/saturnmod.html
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 18:54   #12
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I have 2 model2 saturns: one 32pin , and the other newly modded 64pin one... I think the 64pin saturns boots faster (though I still use my old-trusty one )
keropi is offline  
Old 26 April 2009, 20:01   #13
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
You should keep it Keropi , I think having two pieces of fav console is duty, three is ok and four ideal (talking about old and used machines).
Sensi is offline  
Old 27 April 2009, 09:47   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
yeah, both are new-ish , the spare one sits inside it's box
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newb question: PAL amiga on US RGB monitor Grizaptimus New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 10 August 2011 00:35
PAL/NTSC question Parsec Retrogaming General Discussion 0 01 January 2011 23:00
NTSC & PAL Question ghost_of_war support.Hardware 3 12 June 2010 20:10
3do Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 15 05 November 2003 09:47
3DO Thread!! Fred the Fop Nostalgia & memories 32 07 September 2002 00:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20898 seconds with 11 queries