English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2009, 01:27   #21
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I do have all the ROM updated to v0.130 though but haven't bother with the CHDs
What do you mean with "CHD"?
Supamax is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 April 2009, 01:31   #22
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
What do you mean with "CHD"?
What is a CHD file:

The following is taken from http://www.mameworld.net/easyemu/mamechd.htm

A CHD file is a compressed image of the hard drive used in an arcade cabinet. Hard drives are used in arcade games because of the huge storage available on them (gigabytes!). Luckily for us the lovely Mame developers have found a way to support a compressed version of these hard drives although some can still be quite large.

At the moment there are now several games that use hard drives with sizes from 50MB up to over 2GB so make sure you have plenty of space left.

--------------------------------------------------

Where to put them!

CHD files need to be put in their own folders in you main Roms folder.

For example Killer Instinct uses a romfile called kinst.zip and a hard disk file called kinst.chd. First the rom file need to be put (Still zipped!) into the main Mame roms folder (Normally C:MameRoms). You then need to create a new folder in your roms folder called kinst and copy the kinst.chd (Not zipped!) file into it (C:MameRomskinst). If you are unsure how to create folders then have a look at the Windows Basics page as it has a description of what to do.
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2009, 01:32   #23
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
What do you mean with "CHD"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wikipedia
For arcade machines which use hard disks or CDs, MAME uses CHD (Compressed Hunks of Data) files which contain the entire contents of the original hard disk, CD or Laserdisc. Due to the large size of these media, the CHD files derived from them also tend to be large.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAME
TCD is offline  
Old 21 April 2009, 01:43   #24
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Thanks .

OK, a CHD file is the equivalent of a CD/HD.
But is it - for some "small" games - something like HD in WinUAE (I mean: directories/partitions on the hard disk which emulate an Amiga HD), or is a CHD file always "full" of data?

In other words, is CHD (for some earlier games) only an available space (mainly empty) on the user's HD, where the game can/will save some data, or is CHD *always* a filled space (for example, a Space Ace CHD will be full of a lot of audio+video data, of course) ?

If a game has a 100MB CHD, the related directory in MAME will permanently occupy 100MB HD space on my HD?
Supamax is offline  
Old 21 April 2009, 03:00   #25
bLAZER
Awesome to the max

bLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gothenburg / Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 946
CHD = Compressed Hunks of Data, so they are already compressed.

CHD is gamedata that were orginally on CD/Lasterdisk/HD in the arcade cabinet (intead of on a chip)

Yes, a game with a 100 mb CHD will always occupy 100mb on your hd. But most games does not use a CHD and thus will only occupy the size of the rom file.
bLAZER is offline  
Old 21 April 2009, 04:55   #26
Marlon
Registered User
Marlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England, York
Age: 48
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Bloodwych, you're a man after my own heart!
Yep, I stopped at 106 also, which - non-coincedently - was the last version to support hiscore.dat. The only game fixed (ish) after this release that I miss is Virtua Racing.
Marlon is offline  
Old 21 April 2009, 16:47   #27
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
other than compatibility, there are definitely advantages to upgrading.

For example, I noticed I was able to play the "beta" versions of some 3D VS Fight games with a more accurate speed, most notably Mace -The Dark Age. A "beta" for me is when you get a warning "the audio or video is not 100% accurate" before the title screen. This might be due to the faster CPU or "fully enabled" OpenGL drivers of my relatively recent Radeon GPU.

Also, I don't really get how newer MAME binaries can be slower. Are you talking about the GUI or the games themselves ? It seems to me MAME is throttled when a game in launched, so I am surprised to read it feels slower for you. Also, if some games won't work, there must be some discrepancy between your version of MAME and the roms.

As for HD space, it's easy to get rid of most of the CHDs after you downloaded them, simply replace the ones you don't need (bowling, horse racing variants...) by a .txt file. Personally, I burnt them onto DVD-Rs and kept a few cool "action point & shoot" games like Area 51. Oh, by the way you wouldn't want to miss Street Fighter III , do you ?

Finally, I was under the impression 0.119 was a major update, since "plete" collections were released at the same time, and exotic MAME binaries started to flourish. When playing an old 2D game it's nice to have the bezels surrounding the screen, and these enhancements take vitually no HD space.

Oh, but I am no MAME specialist, like some of you I prefer to avoid updating too often... I simply consider it's rewarding to slowly build one's collection. However it seems lotsa MAME resources are being re-allocated these days, so beware of broken links.

This said, there are some evolutions goin' on apparently : The CHDs are getting a hash signature and Daphne Laserdiscs (Dragon's Lair) are being incorporated into MAME (so if you don't need them : more HD space spared).
Attached Files
File Type: txt MAME_chdsInAnutshell.txt (8.2 KB, 150 views)
NewDeli is offline  
Old 21 April 2009, 17:18   #28
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,832
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
Oh, by the way you wouldn't want to miss Street Fighter III , do you ?
Well, missing it helps keeping your ears sane by not earing the so-much-loved announcer.

Anyway, the CPS3 games are playable in final burn alpha so as usual, if you can play a game with something else than MAME (Raine, FBA, Nebula, Zinc etc...) you should
lilalurl is offline  
Old 21 April 2009, 18:12   #29
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
with WD releasing their 2 TB HD theres always lots of room available to keep all the CHD files, Its to the point now where you don't have to worry about running out of space. I have a cabinet set up with GameEx front end as the main menu system and it handles pretty well all emulators. (including Winuae, if anyone needs the config files for the games, let me know). I created all the configs for each game to load properly within Winuae.

i think theres about 3000... and yes it took a while even with a mass text editor.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 17:36   #30
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by bLAZER View Post
CHD = Compressed Hunks of Data, so they are already compressed.

CHD is gamedata that were orginally on CD/Lasterdisk/HD in the arcade cabinet (intead of on a chip)

Yes, a game with a 100 mb CHD will always occupy 100mb on your hd. But most games does not use a CHD and thus will only occupy the size of the rom file.
Thanks bLAZER, now it's all "sadly" clear ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
CHDs are getting a hash signature and Daphne Laserdiscs (Dragon's Lair) are being incorporated into MAME (so if you don't need them : more HD space spared).
Sorry for the noob question, but: will it be possible to have a CHD of the *real* original uncompressed data of the Dragon's Lair (and Space Ace etc.) LaserDisc?
I mean, not a downsized .mpg or .avi or similar as used in Daphne?
A bit-to-bit copy of the original LaserDiscs?
Supamax is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 18:18   #31
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Not sure this is the answer to your question, but HD versions of Dragon's Lair and Space Ace have been issued by Digital Leisure inc..

So, if quality is your concern, you should be watching/playing better, remastered versions of the classic Daphne games with these two easy-to-find isos.

They also have Blue-ray and "Arcade Authentic" versions, the latter to be included in actual cabinets.

I haven't experienced "MAME" versions of Laserdiscs games yet, but I doubt CHDs are being used for these.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 18:22   #32
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Sorry for the noob question, but: will it be possible to have a CHD of the *real* original uncompressed data of the Dragon's Lair (and Space Ace etc.) LaserDisc?
I mean, not a downsized .mpg or .avi or similar as used in Daphne?
A bit-to-bit copy of the original LaserDiscs?
LD video is analog..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 18:44   #33
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
I haven't experienced "MAME" versions of Laserdiscs games yet, but I doubt CHDs are being used for these.
They are,
Cube Quest, Firefox, M.A.C.H. 3, Us vs Them.
Each LD CHD is approx 11,5GB
Retroplay is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 19:11   #34
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Well, except Thayer's Quest, Cliff Hanger and Esh's Aurunmilla similar to D's L in the sense that they bear a brave but awkward hero, I don't think the other LDs are really worth checking. (and may be Galaxy Ranger for the lavish graphics)

Let's see... Mozilla Firefox...weights 7.2MB ! Ah, that must not be the Firefox on your list !

While I am here : After some hesitation, I can say I am a supporter of internal hard drives. External devices such as the one pictured above are slow, it's a bit more expensive but if your mobo support Firewire 800 (or you could get a PCI adapter), go for the higher transfer rate it allows. WD makes rather cheap "Green" 640MB HDs these days, if you're hunting for a bargain.

Last edited by NewDeli; 22 April 2009 at 19:18.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 19:41   #35
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
LD video is analog..
You're right, I forgot it!
Supamax is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 19:45   #36
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
They are,
Cube Quest, Firefox, M.A.C.H. 3, Us vs Them.
Each LD CHD is approx 11,5GB
Do you know who digitalized the audio/video clips? How is the quality?
11.5 GB is *very* big... I would say huge!
1 hour DV video is about 12 GB.
1 hour MPEG-2 video is in the range 2..5 GB.

So I suppose that, with 11.5 GB, the a/v quality of those games would be superb, fantastic, impressive ... (since the total a/v length of all the video clips is relatively short). But I feel skeptic, dunno why...
Supamax is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 19:59   #37
Specksynder
Registered User
Specksynder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Apolidia
Posts: 401
Be careful - With the 0.130u1 release all the chds have been changed
So,you have to convert EVERY SINGLE CHD folder
Specksynder is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 20:20   #38
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zambot_3 View Post
Be careful - With the 0.130u1 release all the chds have been changed
So,you have to convert EVERY SINGLE CHD folder
This is one thing I always *hated* about MAME. Every time (or so) I had to upgrade/change the games ROMs.
Now you're telling me that I have to do the same with the huge CHDs?
Supamax is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 20:28   #39
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
The newer Mame versions are slower (since 0.120?) with the new video core on my PC. I also noticed that the cheat.dat is still broken in Mame Plus. Was it maybe fixed in the last 1-2 month? Haven't tried the recent updates.
I noticed it gives me a HUGE speed boost on the newer version of Mame, if I choose Direct3D rendering instead of DirectDraw. Directdraw worked fast in the old versions, but now since some re-write of the rendering engine happened, directdraw has become very slow, at least for me. Direct3D, contrary to Directdraw, will always scale your images to fit the full screen width or height, at least on one of the sides. However, using a high resolution like 1024*768, with a pre-scaling of at least 2 really doesn't look so bad at all with almost all the games. This way it is fast for me, and I don't have to set custom resolutions for every game... yay!
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 21:33   #40
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
This is one thing I always *hated* about MAME. Every time (or so) I had to upgrade/change the games ROMs.
Now you're telling me that I have to do the same with the huge CHDs?
Yeah, you must use chdman 0.130u1 or newer and update.
chdman -update old.chd new.chd
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How is your Indivision ECS experience amigoun support.Hardware 7 06 December 2011 22:12
My Alien Breed 3D experience! vroom6sri Nostalgia & memories 3 06 July 2011 15:38
Anyone experience uploading to Aminet? alexh Amiga scene 5 02 March 2010 01:03
Does anyone have any experience with the dkb1240 Nikolaj_sofus support.Hardware 14 19 January 2010 11:06
best retro roleplaying experience Marcuz Retrogaming General Discussion 13 28 September 2008 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23458 seconds with 12 queries