English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2009, 19:49   #21
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Tricky that:
-eBay
-CJE Micros
-ADPL
-A serial mouse + driver will also work (three button).
-Acorn -> PS2 adapter (bloody expensive as they are very sort after)

Hmmm,
I've got one of the latter for one of my RiscPC's - I've been tempted to open it up in an effort to duplicate them...
...not done that so far in case I rodger it.
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 April 2009, 19:52   #22
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Hmmm,
I've got one of the latter for one of my RiscPC's - I've been tempted to open it up in an effort to duplicate them...
...not done that so far in case I rodger it.
My dear friend, It more than likely contains a programmed PIC and will be impossible to clone as it is probably locked.

So don't "Rodger" it

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 22 April 2009, 20:02   #23
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
The PIC source code for the ACORN->PS2 adapter is available on the net.

The older Acorn mouse interface was known as Quadrature after the type of BUS signals it used. Similar (identical?) technology to early PC's which had the Bus mouse.

But who could be arsed to make their own? This is an interface from guy I knew at University at UMIST :

http://www.stdevel.com/riscos.html

Last edited by alexh; 22 April 2009 at 20:18.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 April 2009, 00:35   #24
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfletcher View Post
In the end I picked up an A3000 with HD. Also managed to pick up a Risc PC for 30 quid, so I guess Ive addressed both ends of the spectrum!
P.S.
The A3000's PSU will cope with 110v BUT it's not auto-switching...
...open up the computer...
...either the PSU has a cardboard cover which pulls off or a metal cover that comes undone by...
...push a cross-head screwdriver through the 'lightning' symbol on the top into the recess for the screw...
...there's a jumper in the PSU to switch over *electricity*...
...ask if it's not obvious.

The RiscPC's PSU should be auto-switching BUT check yours when it arrives just in case.
Charlie is offline  
Old 23 April 2009, 00:37   #25
mfletcher
Bawbag.

mfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 368
@Charlie -

Ive got a big muckle voltage convertor that allows me to use my 240V Brit appliances in the US. Been using it with my C-Lab Mk1 for a while now. :-)
mfletcher is offline  
Old 23 April 2009, 01:15   #26
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
The PIC source code for the ACORN->PS2 adapter is available on the net.

The older Acorn mouse interface was known as Quadrature after the type of BUS signals it used. Similar (identical?) technology to early PC's which had the Bus mouse.

But who could be arsed to make their own? This is an interface from guy I knew at University at UMIST :

http://www.stdevel.com/riscos.html
But 25 is a lottah moolah.. Surely a PIC interface could be done for a fiver? Zetro????
Methanoid is offline  
Old 23 April 2009, 10:55   #27
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
But 25 is a lottah moolah..
Stay in one weekend and I'm sure most people would save that much in bar bills & Taxi's alone?

Make packed lunch for a fortnight instead of buying food at the canteen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Surely a PIC interface could be done for a fiver? Zetro????
If you made it yourself, just soldered the wires to the legs of the PIC, wrapped the whole thing up in black insulating tape then probably!

To design, manufacture, assemble, program, package etc. the bill would soon go over the 15/unit for break even, let alone profit.

Last edited by alexh; 23 April 2009 at 11:04.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 April 2009, 16:49   #28
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
It's interesting;
I'd kind of wondered if the PS2MouseMini was a rather simpler device as from the outside it looks like a 'standard' port converter...
...the insides must be very tightly packed if there's a PIC + PCB etc in there.

Now I'm even more tempted to have a look for curiosity's sake.
Charlie is offline  
Old 01 May 2009, 22:12   #29
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
It's interesting;
I'd kind of wondered if the PS2MouseMini was a rather simpler device as from the outside it looks like a 'standard' port converter...
...the insides must be very tightly packed if there's a PIC + PCB etc in there.

Now I'm even more tempted to have a look for curiosity's sake.

and................
Methanoid is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 01:27   #30
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
In my opinion, an Acorn A4. (The portable one.) If anyone has one for sale, I'm interested

I have an A3000 and a RiscPC in my collection so far.

Another option is the A7000, with a nice CPU upgrade and full memory (132MB).
Photon is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 01:46   #31
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
The A4's a great little machine, I'd love one...
...prices tend to be a bit crewel.
Charlie is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 01:53   #32
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
...prices tend to be a bit crewel.
Just like they are for any other portable machine.
prowler is online now  
Old 31 May 2009, 12:07   #33
Christian
Zone Friend

Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gloucestershire
Age: 44
Posts: 218
Ha - you guys talking about all this makes me want to dig out one of my old machines.

I think I've got 2 A3000s, an A3010 and an A3020 in the loft (don't ask - they were free/very cheap)

Multiplayer Chocks Away! = one of the reasons my grades at school could've been better -
Christian is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 13:47   #34
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
I'm after an A3000 in good nick if you ever consider selling one.
alexh is offline  
Old 31 May 2009, 17:00   #35
Christian
Zone Friend

Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gloucestershire
Age: 44
Posts: 218
Aye maybe mate,

I'll try and get up there when I can. I think the 3000s came from schools and have that security ink stuff on them, also no boxes which is a shame.

I have been meaning to set one up again but space is always at a premium. From what I remember I've even got a proper Acorn screen and the plinth thingy that sits on the back of the computer for that proper "at school" feel. lol

Have they become rare or something? I think I picked up a couple off Ebay for 10! Just had a quick search and not much came up.


Edit: Who remembers the Lander demo which became Zarch? Wow, was totally blown away by that when I first saw it.

Last edited by Christian; 31 May 2009 at 17:14.
Christian is offline  
Old 01 June 2009, 03:54   #36
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
It was the reason I got an Archimedes in the first place. Well, almost. It was a mindblowingly fast machine with the best BASIC ever made, before or since. (Well, even the Acorn Atom had an awesome BASIC, perhaps even better considering the size!) I remember a renderer where you created your scene by typing SPHERE 300,300,200 etc also.
Photon is offline  
Old 01 June 2009, 08:24   #37
Christian
Zone Friend

Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gloucestershire
Age: 44
Posts: 218
Yeah - seem to remember something like that too - wasn't it called Euclid or something? dunno - maybe not.

There was also a pretty nice music proggy too but can't remember too much about that apart from being pretty impressed by the sound the thing could do. 8 channels I believe. I liked the OS too.
Christian is offline  
Old 01 June 2009, 22:08   #38
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian View Post
Yeah - seem to remember something like that too - wasn't it called Euclid or something? dunno - maybe not.
Hi Christian,

I think the Euclid program creates a spiral.
prowler is online now  
Old 04 May 2017, 10:02   #39
Zarchos
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Paris
Posts: 39
The A3010 is a very good choice, in particular if you can do a bit of soldering.
It's got the same onboard multifunction chip than the A3020 and the A4000 (and I believe the A5000) providing IDE capabilities, so you can, by adding what is missing, get an IDE capable machine.

Also, a stock machine can be overclocked to 16 Mhz, and if you replace the DRAMs by 50 ns DRAMs, and add a passive heat sink, you can run the machine reliably up to 26 Mhz (CPU and bus), with the addition of a cristal.
The boost in performance is staggering since you are very close to an ARM3 equipped machine.

Projects are detailed here :
http://www.vectorlight.net/retro/com...e-modification

http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/vie...clocking+a3010

I hope this helps.
Xavier.
Zarchos is offline  
Old 04 May 2017, 10:07   #40
Zarchos
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Paris
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian View Post
Yeah - seem to remember something like that too - wasn't it called Euclid or something? dunno - maybe not.

There was also a pretty nice music proggy too but can't remember too much about that apart from being pretty impressed by the sound the thing could do. 8 channels I believe. I liked the OS too.
There were several available (public domain) and the 2 that were commercial products were :
- Digital Symphony by Oregan (programmed by BASS, who were also demomakers)
- Desktop Tracker by The Serial Port (then VTI).

You can see some videos of Coconizer (IIRC from demomaker group Armaxess) on YouTube :
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]

The Matrix Tracker (from Germany) allowed an Archie to play S3M files (after conversion to the Matrix Tracker format) up to 32 channels. I'll soon post a video on my YT channel.
Too many people, even in the Acorn enthusiasts community, forgot it existed.

What's authorised to download freely can be found there :
http://ftp.uni-stuttgart.de/pub/syst.../riscos/sound/

Btw if you own a pre ARM250 machines, you MUST bypass the filter implemented by Acorn.
It's too powerful and spoils the audio experience.
All these machines have an onboard connector to get unfiltered sound, except the A3000 where a bit of soldering is necessary.
Contrary to the Amiga the filter is always on, you can't disable it by software.
You can also decide to replace the onboard OPA by one with better specs.
I did that, and used a Burr Brown OPA, and I'm extremely happy with the results.

I've read some people stating that the overall quality of the Archie sound was inferior to the Amiga's, for various reasons.
For example the Amiga has 1 DAC for each channel, when the Archie has 1 for the overall output etc ...
I won't say the technical explanations are true or not, I'm no expert.
I can only advise people to listen to the real thing, and not through emulators (be it on the Amiga or the Archie).
Read the specs of both chips too (VIDC on the Archie, Paula on the Amiga) and make your own opinion.

What is certainly true is that it takes much more time for the Archie to play a sound than on the Amiga, but as you know the ARM CPU is very powerful, so again make your own conclusions.

Last edited by Zarchos; 04 May 2017 at 10:22.
Zarchos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acorn Archimedes Software Preservation MarkYoungIW project.SPS (was CAPS) 584 12 November 2017 16:17
Lost Computers - The Acorn Archimedes Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 122 28 December 2016 09:41
Acorn A7000 Archimedes- any good? mjnurney Retrogaming General Discussion 45 09 December 2012 01:54
Acorn Archimedes? SilentBob Nostalgia & memories 36 02 March 2010 09:51
Sensible Soccer (Acorn Archimedes Version) Kyon request.Old Rare Games 36 29 July 2009 14:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23327 seconds with 11 queries