English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 August 2009, 11:42   #141
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Hmmm, bugs 'n updates:

Looks like the first release will need a little work - nothing major, just some anoying bits have come to light as I've been a-testing.

-1)'Spealing' mistakes in some of the docs
-2)Some of the HD_Installed games don't like my !Boot setup
-3)One of the Games doesn't like MemFS - the swine!
-4)A groovy patch to force small icons in dir's with lots of files isn't working. (much)
-5)Antialialised font redrawing's a bit slow @ times.
-6)No doubt there's other stuff...

-1)I'm fixing it
-2)+3) Can be fixed a few ways:
a)I can patch the offenders, dull for me but will keep things nice.
b)I can modify !Boot to have an alt start with a stripped 'games version' on a key-press. Easy for me but less transparent.
c) I can try to work out what it is that my !Boot is doing - tricky!
What do peeps think?
-4)Already sorted.
-5)Already sorted.
-6)Let me know...

Finally, what about updates?
Options:
-1)I just re-release the whole thing with fixes from time to time...
...easy for me but not very efficient on the downloading side.
-2)I release update patches...
...much harder for me, but more efficient. Down side is that the patches may fail as peeps modify their own setup.
-3)I just release an 'errors doc' with info on how to fix and an occasional full update...
...very easy for me, but could be anoying for users. Does have the advantage that it could become a useful tour of the setup.
-4)Arculator supports two HDF's. I could also release 'non-huge' updates as 'hd5.hdf'...
...delete the offender, drag 'n drop the new.
Thoughts..?

Last edited by Charlie; 04 August 2009 at 12:00.
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 August 2009, 16:29   #142
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@Charlie

To conserve bandwidth my friend I like the sound of the hd5 option with "Install Patch" script.

Was playing around with it last night and having great fun....

Found an oddity with the cmos file too, nothing to do with you I may add, but your cmos file gives a very nice clear rendered desktop whereas the original shipped with Arculator gives a fuzzy filtered image..
odd but it's not an option that can be changed by Arculator's settings.

Oh & btw Chess3D crashes, I'm probably the only boring sod who ran it

I'm doing fine with Amibay taking up most of my time so I'm spending less of it here, I hope you & the family are well.

Best Wishes
TC

BTW - Thanks for the HD tips, sadly like you it's the "writing" aspect that would be really usefull & helpfull
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 04 August 2009, 19:39   #143
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Ah, now there's a reason for that cmos 'issue' you mention. Mine's been 'fiddled-with' a bit.

BTW, TC:
I know you're familiar with RiscOS - I see no reason why this setup shouldn't work on a real Arc, though an Arm3 + VIDC Enhancer would help...
...hmmm, if you dare it would be interesting to try writing that CMOS to your real Arc (not RPC!) - at worst you'll have to do a <PowerOn>+<Delete> if it goes horribly wrong!
Also
Many of the patches in !Boot...PreDesk & Tasks may be useful for your RPC too if you haven't already got them...
@Thread:
...Minifier works properly if you move it from Tasks to PreDesk (a <Shift>+'Select' when you drag 'n drop)

Last edited by Charlie; 04 August 2009 at 19:48.
Charlie is offline  
Old 05 August 2009, 22:41   #144
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Never let it be said that I'm afraid of double-posting.

There's been a development over at The Qube RiscOS Server - there's a prize (possibly) for the first person to spot it.
Charlie is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 00:09   #145
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@Charlie

Apart from the ClasicRiscOS Section,, There's now a BB-Forum

Charlie that is fantastic my friend and well done

Don't know how to say this mate but start looking for a permanent offsite server solution, you are going to need it soon.
This is one support & Forum site that's going to stay and get bigger and bigger

Congratulations and praises indeedy

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 00:21   #146
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Most kind, thank you.



Did I mention the prize is a big sloppy kiss? ..?
Charlie is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 00:24   #147
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Did I mention the prize is a big sloppy kiss? ..?

mmm Keropi tactics i see
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 00:28   #148
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,199
Hi Charlie,

The Qube RiscOS Server goes from strength to strength.

Hmm... Are the BB-Forum login details the same as for FTP login by any chance? If so, I must have forgotten mine.
prowler is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 00:30   #149
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@prowler

It's a phpBB based Forum which means you will have to register.
I just checked the members list and you have not registered yet..

Well what are you waiting for

Best Wishes
TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 00:49   #150
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,199
Thanks for the info, TC. Registered!
prowler is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 14:25   #151
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Hi prowler,
If you're forgotten your ftp password (who else, I wonder - he, he) give me a PM & I'll sort you out.
Charlie is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 15:30   #152
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
(who else, I wonder - he, he)

Guilty as Charged m'lord

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 21:19   #153
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,199
Hi Charlie,

I really have forgotten my FTP login password. I changed it from the one I was originally assigned, but I can't remember what I changed it to!

I can still log in to the FTP server, because I have it set up as one of my connections, but I can't remember the password and can't display it either!

PM coming!
prowler is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 21:49   #154
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Hi Prowler,
All sorted, see PM. You'll probably find your FTP-client won't auto-login in now until you're reset that as I've given you a password of my choosing (you can change it).
My FTP Server is so d*mn secure even I can't see what anybody's password is - all I can do is reset them!

BTW - welcome to the B.B.
Charlie is offline  
Old 06 August 2009, 22:43   #155
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Hi Prowler,
All sorted, see PM.
Thanks, Charlie!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
BTW - welcome to the B.B.
But that's another password I've got to remember now!
prowler is offline  
Old 09 August 2009, 20:09   #156
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Quick update:
-v1.0 of Classic RiscOS is now ready - some new goodies & fixes to stuff I didn't test...
-I've nearly finished writing the installer for the v0.98 - v1.0 update...
...when the updater's finished I'll upload them both & update the page on the website and post here.
Charlie is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 16:15   #157
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
-Updates-

-To coincide with Tom's latest version of Acrulator (thanks very much Tom) I've released version 1.0 of Classic RiscOS. Lot's of fixes, new features, etc...
Grab the new version at the Classic RiscOS page and bask in glory of the updated screen shots.

...there's an updater for those who have v0.98 - no guarantees at all that it works!
(The full v1.0 archive is also available)

-The server's been upgraded (again) to make room for all the contributions (many thanks) so look out for more stuff soon.
Charlie is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 17:04   #158
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,628
The updater doesn't work here. Arculator quits immediately.

Edit: I've deleted the old arc.cfg. Now it works. Many thanks for the bug fixes. Looks good now.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 16 August 2009 at 17:09.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 16 August 2009, 18:01   #159
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
The EAB file server team proudly announces that both files (update and full version) are now mirrored on the EAB file server
Thanks for the update Charlie and to everyone else : Happy leeching
TCD is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 19:41   #160
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 48
Posts: 1,792
Holy cr*p! The updater actually works?

Ok, so I had more confidence in it than that but my RiscOS command-line skills are a bit rusty...
...if anyone feels like looking though the updater app's contents & make sure everything that was supposed to happen actually did I'd appreciate it.

Thanks for the heads-up RN, I'll just go add that little tit-bit to the ReadMe

Thanks very much for mirroring TCD, much appreciated.

Oh, other new stuff added to the site, much more to come.

*Edit*
The next update of Classic RiscOS will hopefully have a full set keyboard short-cuts patched into the GUI - something 'lacking' in RiscOS, if you like that kind of thing...
...it would have made it into the v1.0 release but I'm having trouble tracking down what other hacks/patches are interacting badly with this one.

Last edited by Charlie; 16 August 2009 at 19:52.
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is eab server down? trydowave support.Other 2 20 June 2013 22:03
FTP Server Magix Amiga scene 756 29 July 2010 08:53
The Qube RiscOS Server Charlie Amiga websites reviews 3 18 July 2009 17:16
The Qube Commeth! Charlie Hardware pics 22 12 January 2008 16:59
My FTP Server Jim Amiga websites reviews 3 18 October 2002 02:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27073 seconds with 11 queries