English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 April 2009, 09:23   #1
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 166
PPC Emulation

To keep other threads from closing:

What: PPC cpu emulation on top of existing WinUAE (cpu selectable)

Why: So we can run OS4.x + , MorphOS and AROS (ppc native) and still have the best classic Amiga core running old school software in one "application" or setup.

I (and probably most users) can't afford all the desktop space for a PPC Amiga with my A1000, A3000 and 3 PCs, thus wold rather invest more into current x86 PC to run best of both worlds - updated Native x86 software and emulate the rest of the hardware.

Just think: Windows XP or 7, MacOS X and AOS4.x all running on one machine with multicore! Best of all worlds!

Not expecting to replace WinUAE but more of an extension of it or perhaps a seperate fork to test feasibility. There are already other PPC JIT emulators out there but more for Mac emulation than anything else, just as PearPC.
Valken is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 10:12   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
this has been discussed a trillion times already... unless YOU can code that kind of ppc support, the answer is no. Noone bothers and with good reason too
keropi is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 10:31   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Here are some for your reading pleasure

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=35135
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=33886
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=32739
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=27770
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=24309

Maybe it's an idea to merge the whole lot
TCD is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 11:44   #4
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Maybe it's an idea to merge the whole lot
And make it a sticky
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 13:03   #5
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,307
Combining two emulators seems a big task.
How does the boot process of os4 classic work?
Someone will get MorphOs and os4 running under PearPc or Qemu
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 14:19   #6
Predabot
Registered User
Predabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Swedun'
Posts: 397
Wouldn't it be better for someone to strip down the PearPC emu, and then adapt it for Amiga PPC emulation and Amiga OS4 (and similar systems) in perticular?

I have this idea regarding the two EMU's working together btw... I'm sure someone's heard about PinMame and VPinball, right? Well, there we have two programs, wherein one is an Emulator, working very closely together. I think all that connects the two, is a DLL-file and a com-object.
Predabot is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 14:55   #7
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 41
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
it's not so easy. it's not just PPC emulation, but specific blizzard/cyberstorm hardware emulation where all nasty stuff like context switching comes into play, lots of headaches and not worth it IMHO.
coze is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 18:54   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
A useless nightmare.
Besides the (alleged, I don't see any) advantage of MorphOS and OS4 usage, what else is there that would justify such a daunting task?


I hear the crickets...
Akira is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 18:57   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,677
I have no clue. Playing old PC games, ported to Amiga PPC and running them on a PC in Amiga PPC emulation?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 20:37   #10
Valken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Amiga
Posts: 166
I'm not a software engineer so do not know all the delicate details but thanks for all of the other threads for reading.

I was reading up on OS4/MorphOs and how it had to count on the older UAE core to run classic programs, but was not as far along as WinUAE in that aspect. Correct me if I'm wrong here.

So my idea was to ADD a PPC emulation layer onto WinUAE to get it to run OS4/MorphOS while keeping the already optimized winUAE core to run classic programs. Does this make sense?

One emulator to run OS4 with winuae built in to run old school programs.

I didn't mean to combine the two emulators but more like to look at the PPC JIT CPU emulation code for reference and add that to WinUAE as a start.

Of course, we would need a PPC migga bios to see what else we need to emulate but most of the "hardware" emulation is already in winuae: RTG, AGA, ECS, DirectX sound and graphics redirection, mouse, KB, network, TCP/IP stack redirection, etc....

There are actually a small but growing amount of apps for OS4.x/MorphOS that may be of interest to classic Amiga users but who do not want to invest all the money into "old" hardware.
Valken is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 21:02   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,677
You want to run an OS4/PPC emulator which runs an UAE emulator inside? Very odd.

Quote:
There are actually a small but growing amount of apps for OS4.x/MorphOS that may be of interest to classic Amiga users but who do not want to invest all the money into "old" hardware.
There are enough good apps and tools for the PC. Why should i use some OS4 apps/tools in emulation? Makes no sense imho.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 09 April 2009 at 21:09.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 21:06   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
It has been explained to you in the posts above, particularly Coze's post, that this is not as trivial or easy as it sounds, and that all the effort is HARDLY worth anything.

Of course if you feel so strongly about this, you should consider start coding!
Akira is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 21:10   #13
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 633
For the sake of presevation, PPC emulation built into WinUAE would be good.. These boards are gradually dying
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 09 April 2009, 21:17   #14
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Since WinUAE is open source and Toni is not interested -> Do it yourself (which was said by keropi and Akira in this very thread before). If noone who is capable of doing it is interested there might be a reason...
TCD is offline  
Old 10 April 2009, 17:22   #15
HenryCase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Someone will get MorphOs and os4 running under PearPc or Qemu
MorphOS already runs under QEMU:
http://bigfoot.morphos-team.net/test/qemu.png
However, it's just available to MorphOS developers at the moment.
HenryCase is offline  
Old 10 April 2009, 17:54   #16
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I have no clue. Playing old PC games, ported to Amiga PPC and running them on a PC in Amiga PPC emulation?

Ah this is very interesting. Why not play them on the PC after all?
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 10 April 2009, 17:57   #17
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
Why not play them on the PC after all?
I think that was Retros point here
TCD is offline  
Old 10 April 2009, 18:09   #18
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
I think that was Retros point here

Exactly. Apologies to Retro and a kick for me for not reading properly.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 10 April 2009, 22:29   #19
Predabot
Registered User
Predabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Swedun'
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryCase View Post
MorphOS already runs under QEMU:
http://bigfoot.morphos-team.net/test/qemu.png
However, it's just available to MorphOS developers at the moment.
VERY interesting! That would make it possible to build something like an Amithlon, now wouldn't it? With a stripped-down Linux running a stripped-down QEMU and loading it straight after the boot-sequence. Then you would be able to put AOS4 and Aros on that!

In theory, this could take up less resources than running Aros from a VirtualMachine, right?
Predabot is offline  
Old 10 April 2009, 22:54   #20
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predabot View Post
VERY interesting! That would make it possible to build something like an Amithlon, now wouldn't it? With a stripped-down Linux running a stripped-down QEMU and loading it straight after the boot-sequence. Then you would be able to put AOS4 and Aros on that!

In theory, this could take up less resources than running Aros from a VirtualMachine, right?
Thats ambitious - Ive only run MacOS under PearPc and its not that fast. Aros under VirtualPc is native Speed.
Retro1234 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PPC emulation for winuae marauder request.UAE Wishlist 25 04 November 2014 06:13
PPC Emulation in UAE Beakster support.WinUAE 9 15 March 2008 11:28
WinUAE: PPC Amiga Classic future emulation? DaNi support.WinUAE 24 12 January 2008 22:24
PPC emulation vandam request.UAE Wishlist 15 19 July 2006 11:49
ppc emulation sturme Retrogaming General Discussion 7 21 November 2003 03:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08714 seconds with 12 queries