English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2009, 14:57   #21
MoogleLally
Raised on Superfrog.
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to MoogleLally
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
Nice piccies mate! How about some in daylight

I still say, you'll need to replace the caps or at least some of them. They will leak from the bottom and some you wont be able to check 'cause the cap is seated right on top of the leakage and can't been seen. Check around all caps to see if there is any surface damage to the mobo, a bit like an acid burn.

Good luck with the miggie mate, and I hope you have hours of immense fun with it, whether gaming or modding
But the daystar burns us! Hissss!

Okay, now when you say "caps"... what are we talkin' about?
MoogleLally is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 April 2009, 15:18   #22
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,981
Capacitors, the blue and brown things that usually stand up on the board with two legs

Like these

DH is offline  
Old 07 April 2009, 15:38   #23
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Welcome Lauren Nice to have another female Amiga gamer in our midst, you will find as i am sure you already have many of the people here very helpful!
blade002 is offline  
Old 07 April 2009, 17:08   #24
MoogleLally
Raised on Superfrog.
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to MoogleLally
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
Capacitors, the blue and brown things that usually stand up on the board with two legs
Ohhh. Okay, that makes the most sense, since they seem to be the most prevalent thing inside the case next to chips. heh. Now I know the slang!

Also, isn't there a battery I should look out for? I peeked around a bit last night but I must admit, I might not have been paying enough attention.
MoogleLally is offline  
Old 07 April 2009, 17:11   #25
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
IIRC the A500 itself has no battery. The battery is on the memory expansion, so you should have a look before you put it in
TCD is offline  
Old 07 April 2009, 17:35   #26
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
IIRC the A500 itself has no battery. The battery is on the memory expansion, so you should have a look before you put it in
Your memory serves you well.
seuden is offline  
Old 07 April 2009, 17:41   #27
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
Your memory serves you well.
Hey, that's what Doom3 told me when I entered IDDQD...
Thanks for confirming seuden
TCD is offline  
Old 07 April 2009, 18:03   #28
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoogleLally View Post
Ohhh. Okay, that makes the most sense, since they seem to be the most prevalent thing inside the case next to chips. heh. Now I know the slang!

Also, isn't there a battery I should look out for? I peeked around a bit last night but I must admit, I might not have been paying enough attention.
There'll be plenty more slang coming that you'll not be used to Sorry mate! I should of been more clear, not everyone knows some of these slang words that get used

And just what TCD says, the battery is on the memory expansion, you can remove it and bypass the circuit for it, as it's only there to keep the correct time and date, but for me it's worth replacing if it's gone pfzzzzzzt, especially if you intend adding that HDD from your father, who I'm sure will part with it to save an A500 in need
DH is offline  
Old 07 April 2009, 19:22   #29
MoogleLally
Raised on Superfrog.
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to MoogleLally
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
IIRC the A500 itself has no battery. The battery is on the memory expansion, so you should have a look before you put it in
Ahhhhhhhhh! Man, I'm learnin' stuff left and right. Thanks to EVERYONE for helping me out.

Now to try to make sense of this whole porting game files from PC to Amiga business. I tried reading the wiki on it, but it kinda launches straight into the technical terms and anagrams and the like... Not asking for anyone to hold my hand, I just need to slog through it.
MoogleLally is offline  
Old 08 April 2009, 06:07   #30
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002 View Post
Welcome Lauren Nice to have another female Amiga gamer in our midst, you will find as i am sure you already have many of the people here very helpful!
ahh at least one guy seeing she is a girl. lol (no lucky guy here ). Isn't it Cyberdruid ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 08 April 2009, 07:02   #31
MoogleLally
Raised on Superfrog.
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to MoogleLally
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
ahh at least one guy seeing she is a girl. lol (no lucky guy here ). Isn't it Cyberdruid ?
heh, and here I thought the Lally part of my user name was a dead giveaway.
MoogleLally is offline  
Old 08 April 2009, 08:45   #32
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Isn't it Cyberdruid ?
Uhm, yeah... guess that's a valid point But you also know the confusion caused by lolafg

Welcome to EAB Lauren I'm sure you'll find the crazy bunch here quite helpful in terms of Amiga thingies Don't ask about real life... we certainly have no clue
TCD is offline  
Old 08 April 2009, 10:30   #33
Nostalgeek
OT Whore
Nostalgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Age: 35
Posts: 280
Yes we DO have a clue TCD!

Hi again guys, I'm actually back from Real Life, spending a one month trip there. It did change quite a bit since my last visit. Didn't take much pictures tho' sorry...


Welcome Lauren! Hope you'll enjoy your stay on, let's be honest- the greatest board of the Interwebz! You can blindly follow these guys' advices...they're the greatest rocket scientists/NASA engineers I've ever met

From my (very noobish) point of view, you are indeed lucky of finding an A500 in a great shape!

Pay us a visit in the Off-Topic section when you got some free time; it's full of , and , sometimes even , but in the end it's always full of and , right guys?
Nostalgeek is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 OS Advice CU_AMiGA support.Other 6 06 March 2010 00:57
Looking for actual AMIGA demos (A500) on Amiga Disks Gilbert request.Demos 8 20 July 2009 23:46
Compatibility with Amiga 500 and 500+ games ErickDF Amiga scene 2 23 May 2008 21:16
actual time on on-screen LEDs Gary7 request.UAE Wishlist 3 26 July 2007 16:46
WTB: Amiga 600, 500, 500 +, 1200 (NTSC) JeremyDay MarketPlace 2 30 November 2006 04:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40875 seconds with 11 queries