English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2002, 20:37   #1
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Errors with OS3.9+PPC

I installed OS3.9 to make use of my PPC+Bvision boards and my 20GB HD. The installation was successful, I even booted it a few times and it worked ok but all of a sudden it started to display the following error during boot:

AddDataTypes
Program Failed (error #80000008).
Wait for disk activity to finish.

I reformatted the HD and reinstalled os 3.9 now I get the same error but ramlib crashes instead of AddDataTypes. Does anyone have a clue why this is happening? I think the error number explains it but I don't know what it means.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 April 2002, 20:39   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
That's all I know about the error code:

8OOOOOO8 Type: Deadend
Subsystem: CPU
General: General fault
Specified: Privilege violation error
ShowGuru: Hier handelt es sich um eine Privilegverletz-
ung.
LastGURU: Privilege violation
 
Old 26 April 2002, 22:17   #3
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,198
Could be any number of problems. First thing to do is make sure that all cards, cables etc. inside your tower are securely in place, especially the PPC and BVision cards. It doesn't take too much movement/dislodgement for them to make you visit guru city. Ensuring my cards and cables are secure usually does the trick for me when I start getting complaints about ramlib or gurus on booting.

If that doesn't do the trick, the next thing to do is make sure that your PPC and BVision cards have the latest drivers (060, PPC, SCSI, CyberGraphX) and have the latest firmware flashed. All the Phase 5 drivers can be located here (ftp://ftp.meanmachine.ch/pub/phase5). Latest updates of CyberGraphX software can be found here (http://vgr.com/cybergfx). Best to update all this software after a fresh installation of OS 3.x (which you've already done it seems).

OK, there are other things that you can try, but that's plenty for now. Let us know if you still have problems after doing all that.
DrBong is offline  
Old 26 April 2002, 23:30   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the quick reply.
This happens randomly. I just booted up fine then it failed to boot again. I suspect my card is not cooled enough. There is a white substance on my cpu that looks like thermal paste (or whatever it's called in english). I asked the previous owner about it and he said there was a (plastic?) part covering the cpu that caused gurus. He says the gurus disappeared after he took that part off.

Maybe it was a heatsink, or maybe I need a fan.What do you say?
 
Old 27 April 2002, 00:01   #5
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,198
Yep, the more fans the better inside a tower. The BVision gfx chip is
something that would heat up quite a lot. I recommend sticking a fan
directly on that. The PPC CPU shouldn't heat up all that much as it
runs at a low voltage, but an 040 would definitely fry an egg after a
while, so stick a fan on that if it hasn't got one already. A heatsink
really is not enough.

If you have an 060, I would still recommend putting a fan on the CPU
because it will heat up somewhat if air circulation is poor in the
tower or if the tower is full with expansion cards and other hardware.
Hopefully the tower has another big fan designed just for general air
circulation.

Tell me how you go!
DrBong is offline  
Old 27 April 2002, 00:39   #6
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I cleaned the white thing on the cpu completely now. There is a fan directed to the Bvision, and I don't have a 060, just a 040/25mhz.

I have two hard drives connected. The old one is a 2.1gb Quantum, and the other is a 20gb Fujitsu. When I boot from the smaller one, it just seldomly fails and when it does, it fails with IPrefs or AddDataTypes. The contents of two drives are identical to each other. If I try to boot from the bigger drive, it mostly fails with AddDataTypes' but seldomly works. When I remove the smaller drive (psyhically) and try to boot from Fujitsu, it always crashes with ramlib. When two drives are connected, Quantum is the master and the Fujistu is the slave.

All failure messages are displayed on my RGB monitor (actually TV card-ish video input) but only the last one, the error that is displayed when I only connect the big drive is displayed on a CybergraphX mode screen.

I was planning to remove the smaller drive but it looks like I have to keep it as a boot drive until this issue is solved. I currently have CybergraphX 3 installed but I'll have version 4 after monday. I suspect there may be more than one reason of this problem, like the displacement of cables may be causing the problem with the system on the 2.1 drive whereas the bigger drive's SFS filesystem may be another problem. I may be compleyely wrong on that final statement though.
 
Old 27 April 2002, 08:25   #7
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I was gonna say it's a heat problem, too. The cooler the room, the better as well.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 27 April 2002, 21:25   #8
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the replies. I'm using the Amiga while the case is totally open now, yet it fails to boot most of the time. Not good, not good at all Maybe I should go back to 3.1.
 
Old 27 April 2002, 22:29   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Now I'm getting somewhere. I removed the PPC card and put my 1230-IV instead. Now the system on Quantum works but the 20gig drive gurus! It means there are more than one problems. For now, I decided not to use that drive until main problem is solved. At least now I'm sure it's related to nothing but the PPC board. (Now I'm smart or what )
 
Old 28 April 2002, 02:02   #10
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
formatted DH0:
installed 3.1, it works
formatted again
installed 3.9, it works
installed idefix anf cybergraphx, it works
turned off
waited for an hour
turned on
it doesn't work.

By the way, that ftp doesn't have the phase5 directory anymore
 
Old 28 April 2002, 11:31   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I installed a clean 3.1 last night and it was working. I haven't moved the case even a millimeter but it doesn't boot this morning.
 
Old 28 April 2002, 12:53   #12
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
This kinda sounds like a loose connection and/or a power supply problem. Not sure what else to tell you here but you maybe right in having multiple problems with the machines and/or devices
jmmijo is offline  
Old 28 April 2002, 21:12   #13
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Have you checked to make sure the chips are all seated snugly? Is there any bowing of the motherboard? These are issues which have given me similar headaches in the past.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 28 April 2002, 22:22   #14
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I removed Bvision from the PPC board and noticed that the board is slightly bent because of the tight screws. I loosened them a bit. Actually it took around half an hour this morning to boot properly but after that, it didn't fail at all. I didn't install anything that forces the hardware though. Anyway I'll try to install a serious system with CybergraphX 4 tomottow. Let's hope it will be stable. I hope I'm not boring you with these problems.
 
Old 11 May 2002, 11:46   #15
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I forgot about this thread! Sorry guys

I used a different os3.9 now. Mine had maybe some files missing, for it didn't install internet software at all. I don't know the reason for sure but everything works fine for a while. Thanks for all the help
 
Old 11 May 2002, 19:58   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
About the white paste thing... im sure it had a heatsink there.... you should put one of those 486 slim fans over it if you can! cool it as much as possible.

What a beast you got, burseg!
Akira is offline  
Old 11 May 2002, 20:10   #17
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah!

Quote:
About the white paste thing... im sure it had a heatsink there....
In this photo, there is a cooler:
http://amiga.multigraph.com/photos/blizzardppc.html

In this one, there is "something else":
http://www.amiga-hardware.com/blizzppc040_front_big.jpg

Mysterious isn't it?
 
Old 12 May 2002, 04:41   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,981
On thesecond pic, there's nothing else, they removed the cooler and only the siliconated grease remains. What looks like a "plaque" over the 603 is just...err.. the 603

See? So you need a cooler Though phase5's effort seems feeble, they should have put a greater heatsink PLUS a fan in there. The little bitch runs hella hot. My PowerMac's 601 is similar, and its got a heatsink as big as that of Pentium 3 CPUs, and above it it has a turbine fan :P
Akira is offline  
Old 07 July 2009, 15:45   #19
klapdeur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Almere/Holland
Posts: 50
Hi the ramlib error is common.

you have to instal the mcpramlibpatch to get rid of it.

just put it in your c: and edit startup-sequence just after setpatch

Gr
Klapdeur
klapdeur is offline  
Old 07 July 2009, 16:09   #20
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 637
Wow - way to bring back an old thread!
Rabbit80 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
List of PPC versions of software and alternate libraries for OS3.9 diablothe2nd support.Hardware 17 26 August 2013 09:22
ECS. Make OS3.1 look like OS3.9 without loosing speed. lukassid support.Apps 21 19 February 2013 00:13
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz + 128MB RAM (no SCSI) stachu100 MarketPlace 0 07 April 2011 07:45
Errors creating an Emergency Disk Os3.9 Szehang New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 17 August 2007 20:24
SALE: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@160 , 68040 @25 MHz morka MarketPlace 3 12 October 2006 00:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22875 seconds with 11 queries