English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 June 2013, 12:16   #21
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Some time ago there was a discussion regarding DiskimageDevice having problems mounting CDs and ISOs here on A1k and it turned out that these problems are caused by certain file system drivers like CDFilesystem (!) or AsimCDFS. CacheCDFS and AmiCDFS seem to work fine with DiskimageDevice.
pintcat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 June 2013, 13:15   #22
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Why don't you try with the default CacheCDFS instead?
I use MountISO for the CD and works like a charm
mfilos is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 20:41   #23
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
@pintcat + @mfilos

Guys, I've tried both fsystems and , while the system doesn't freeze with those, I don't get to mount anything either. I'll read that a1k thread and see if it gets me somewhere. If not, I'll be back here to pester you! :-p
Thx!

Last edited by vulture; 21 June 2013 at 20:49.
vulture is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 21:40   #24
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
Update:

used the example mountlist from the a1k thread and after a few corrections (?) everything works just fine!

Many thx guys!
vulture is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 12:56   #25
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Yes indeed, you'll have to adjust some details in the mount list if you change the fs driver.
pintcat is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 21:16   #26
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 261
I assume that non-dos adfs don't work? It would be great to have the same functunality with adfs as you get with winuae especially as not all games have whdload installs.
Havie is offline  
Old 22 June 2013, 22:14   #27
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
You mean mount a NoDOS-ADF and then boot from that image? I'm afraid this would be a tough achievement with DiskimageDevice - at least out of the box.
pintcat is offline  
Old 27 January 2015, 22:29   #28
eva
Registered User

eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Constanta / Romania
Posts: 202
I wanted to give this a try but the linked package from the first post does not contain diskimage.device. I have tried compiling the sources to obtain diskimage.device using vbcc but no joy since it requires some headers that I am not even able to locate with Google.

Does anyone have a copy of a diskimage.device from this archive or the only way to get it is to compile the sources?
eva is offline  
Old 27 January 2015, 22:33   #29
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by eva View Post
I wanted to give this a try but the linked package from the first post does not contain diskimage.device. I have tried compiling the sources to obtain diskimage.device using vbcc but no joy since it requires some headers that I am not even able to locate with Google.

Does anyone have a copy of a diskimage.device from this archive or the only way to get it is to compile the sources?
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/diskimage.m68k-aos

Good ol' Aminet (this is the binary, btw)
jbenam is offline  
Old 27 January 2015, 22:44   #30
eva
Registered User

eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Constanta / Romania
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/diskimage.m68k-aos

Good ol' Aminet (this is the binary, btw)
Beat me to the post. Thank you! I was trying diskimage_device-os3usr.lha but that does not exist.

Found it.

I am getting error #80000004 now, time to dig some more...
eva is offline  
Old 27 January 2015, 23:15   #31
eva
Registered User

eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Constanta / Romania
Posts: 202
Just to clarify for the people that are as confused and clumsy as I am. This diskimage.device manifests something that you can call "crapshoot behaviour" - so it either works fine sometimes and sometimes it just crashes your entire system - particularly it seems to dislike mounting simple Amiga ADF images (nothing fancy, like NRG or some such). I have removed it from my Amiga and replaced it with:

which, granted, is a 11 years older and does not support that many image formats, however it does not arbitrarily crash the system.

In case the developer will update the library, I will switch back. For now, you can give the Thore Böckelmann version (link above) a try since it does not have issues with mounting ADFs.
eva is offline  
Old 28 January 2015, 14:38   #32
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
I'm also sticking with the ancient diskimage.device, works fine for me + it's very quick to use after making a few shell aliases for diskimagectrl. :-)
Jope is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DiskImage: How does it work? alkis21 support.Apps 5 08 August 2011 16:12
Help with diskimage.device Jonathan Drain support.Apps 0 23 January 2010 02:32
uaehf.device and HDToolbox: Error 224 reading device description Ebster support.WinUAE 3 16 September 2008 10:24
Diskimage v37.7 usage zigmund support.Apps 0 20 March 2008 21:39
DiskImage Twistin'Ghost Amiga scene 3 22 April 2002 05:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17997 seconds with 11 queries