English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 March 2009, 17:31   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Scalos vs. Workbench

So I her it that lots of people here use Scalos.

I know that it has a bunch of additions, but what I am looking for the most is performance.

Is Scalos in any way faster than the original Workbench, or is it indeed slower? What about memory requirements?

I'd be very interested in hearing results from experienced people
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 March 2009, 20:26   #2
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
Scalos seems no slower to me than Workbench. RAM-wise, I'm not sure, but it probably makes better use of Fast and Zorro RAM than the original workbench does, menaing that it's nice if you have other RAM and want to free up some more Chip RAM, but otherwise, I'm not too sure.
Madcrow is offline  
Old 17 March 2009, 04:57   #3
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 729
I have been using scalos for years, doesn't seem any slower than regular wb to me. I like that it gives right click context menus, amongst many other good little features.
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 00:51   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
So I her it that lots of people here use Scalos.

I know that it has a bunch of additions, but what I am looking for the most is performance.

Is Scalos in any way faster than the original Workbench, or is it indeed slower? What about memory requirements?

I'd be very interested in hearing results from experienced people
Hi Akira,

I have two A1200s: one with Scalos installed; one without, and there is absolutely nothing to choose between them in terms of performance which may be attributed to the presence or absence of Scalos. This is hardly surprising. By its very nature, Scalos would be most unlikely, by itself, to have a measurable impact on throughput.

But consider this:

Although the Amiga OS has benefitted from the introduction of a whole load of extra hardware support and features between versions 1.x and 3.x, the GUI hasn't changed fundamentally in all that time. Scalos puts this right by adding configurability to the Amiga Workbench, giving it the potential to be more efficient, without drastically altering its look and feel.

My A1200 with Scalos has Version 1.2d installed. The Workbench Menu is replaced with context sensitive pop-up menus which appear with a right-click on a selected item or items and don't disappear when the right mouse button is released. Submenus and menu items are then selected by clicking normally. This gives access to all the features of the Workbench Menu without having to move the mouse pointer to the top of the screen and keep the right mouse button depressed while navigating. This can save a lot of time and feels much more natural once you get used to it.

So, in answer to your question, I would say that this is the best example I can give of the way that Scalos is faster than the original Workbench. It achieves this by boosting the performance not of the machine, but of the person using it!

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 04:51   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
I alrteady have that functionality using MagicMEnu (for the WB,not contextual menues).

I think I might try to give Scalos a try if it doens't affect my system's performance. I guess MagicMenu alone might be a bigger system ho (if any) than Scalos.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 09:06   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Open up a directory full of icons on WB and do the same on ScalOS and try and do anything else at the same time... da da!
alexh is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 10:17   #7
DC33
Zone Friend
DC33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 269
alexh is right.... da da!!

I have tried it too and noticed the difference.
DC33 is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 10:42   #8
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,170
i have not tested Scalos on real amiga, nor the latest version of some day ago, but on my experience, Scalos has some incompatibility issue with some whdload game, almost always graphic glitches, for instance with Eye of the Beholder.
it's usually nothing major, but worth to be taken in account imho
Marcuz is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 12:06   #9
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Is the new ScalOS more compatible with os3.9?
Could Bloodwych use it in his OS3.9 CWB?
DDNI is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 14:33   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
I would like to know more about these WHDLoad incompatibilities.

Alex, that is indeed nice. I used to have it when I used MBench on my A600.
Akira is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 15:01   #11
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,170
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...whdload+scalos
EoB 1 and 2 have the same problem.

occasionaly i have seen some glitch in other games that goes away when running ClassicWB without ScaloOS, but due to the fact that i use winuae and not a real amiga, i cannot be sure whta's the cause, but on the 2 EoB, i have tested it throughouly.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 18 March 2009, 15:58   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
To be fair to AmigaOS3.9 there is a user contribution which came with BB1 called AsyncWB which gives AmigaOS3.9's WorkBench this particularly cool feature of ScalOS
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Scalos Workbench replacement DalaMicke support.Apps 1 03 September 2013 04:53
Scalos,what is it ??? leytond support.Apps 32 22 March 2009 22:33
Scalos V41.5 cronos News 7 14 August 2007 19:55
Scalos 41.1 Frog News 3 27 August 2005 16:55
Scalos Darius support.Apps 8 03 August 2005 12:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18572 seconds with 11 queries