English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2009, 23:29   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,467
Changing the WB banner/title in OS 3.9

Hi,

I noticied that it's possible to change the banner bar in WB (OS 3.9), what utility can you use to do it? Any side effects (eg unstable system, chipram usage)?

Thanks,

Nova
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 00:40   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,035
There *should* be some tiny tools for that on AmiNet, but I can only remember the MCP package now.

Any side effects shouldn't happen, don't worry, too little modification...
Shoonay is online now  
Old 16 March 2009, 00:45   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,467
Cool thanks, I'll give MCP a go.

I was after something like what they've done with AmiKit
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 02:18   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
MCP is a HORRIBLE patch. Don't use it.
I use this or something similar:
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/AmiLogo
Akira is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 02:46   #5
smoorke
Registered User
smoorke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ghent/Belgium
Age: 37
Posts: 247
Send a message via MSN to smoorke
somehow i can't manage to get amilogo to display the right graphics. Probably has something to do with my custom 3.9 rom.

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/WBTitle14 will allow to changing of the text and adding of additional information to your workbench title

Last edited by smoorke; 16 March 2009 at 02:56.
smoorke is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 19:40   #6
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,091
Ressurection time - I'm currently searching the googled webs looking for any information on AmiLog and creating your own logo for it. I know I can use something like Pic2Icon to create a logo for it but I need to know image dimensions and what kind of images are good for pic2icon format, etc... I'm on OS3.9 BBags1-4 SAGA RTG.

Any help is (as usual) greatly appreciated... (Still search EAB ATM....before returning to the outer webs)
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 20:38   #7
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 457
I use MCP to change the title on my 1200, but the boing ball is added using VisualPrefs (http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/VisualPrefs)

Piccie: http://photos.app.goo.gl/d0LfVKzSe9H7TTQ02
indigolemon is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 20:43   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,387
I use NiceBar, image size 70x17 (see screnshot), on AfA-OS there are still more Themes which have a wider bar and therefore you need a bigger Logo.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 April 2018 at 00:58.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 11 April 2018, 20:46   #9
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I was after something like what they've done with AmiKit
DOpus Magellan has an option for it (Settings->Environment->Miscellaneous->Custom Screen Title), so Amikit has probably used that.
jPV is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 21:52   #10
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,091
Whoa - so many options. OK, I'm tired of trying AmiLogo so I will start trying these and see what i come up with. Thanks for the suggestions.
I'll report back what I end up with...

EDIT - I don't know how you get such Hi-Res looking images so small but I cannot get the desired effect i want - it's way too low a resolution at that size for me. To fit my title bar I can only do 8 pixels hi. *sigh*

I went with NiceBar although (Thanks AMIGASYSTEM) - it is straightforward, easy to use and works. Just not for the image I had I mind.

Last edited by Sinphaltimus; 11 April 2018 at 22:33.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 22:47   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,387
Attach your image I want to do some tests !
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 11 April 2018, 22:52   #12
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 74
I use MCX (2.80). You can see my bar in the attached picture.

Can someone tell me how to change the name of the OS?

I would also like to know what "T:59 L:35 S:1" means and if it is possible to remove them and move date and time more to the right, thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	img3.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	57798  
jurassicman is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 23:05   #13
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 134
T: Tasks
L: Libs
S: Screens

I think with MultiCX it's not possible to change contents the title-bar. You can just switch it on or off, but can't change what's displayed.
Etze is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 23:24   #14
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etze View Post
T: Tasks
L: Libs
S: Screens

I think with MultiCX it's not possible to change contents the title-bar. You can just switch it on or off, but can't change what's displayed.
Thanks for the info!

There should be a place where MultiCX checks the OS version... maybe I have to declare a variable somewhere or something like this...

I am using a "custom" OS 3.9 based on CW 3.9.
I'm also using a Custom ROM via blitzkick.

Last edited by jurassicman; 12 April 2018 at 13:55.
jurassicman is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 23:57   #15
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Attach your image I want to do some tests !
Source Image:https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped...3/Bobdobbs.png
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 00:26   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,387
The image is not a colory and stands out less

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 April 2018 at 00:58.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 12 April 2018, 01:34   #17
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,091
Hooooo

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
The image is not a colory and stands out less
Oh My God, That's beautiful! How the heck did you do that? can i have it? LOL

Please?
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 02:00   #18
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,387
Nothing so complicated, i only reduced and corrected the image a little, i attach small Logo

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 13 April 2018 at 00:58.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 12 April 2018, 02:29   #19
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,091
I have no idea. I must have had PS in a weird mode or something doing 8 pixels high destroyed it. really. I don't know what size these are but thank you so much for these.

Why is this so great? Here, I'll let you in on a little secret but don't tell anybody.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 10:09   #20
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 239
Why not use VisualPrefs for this ? It gives you control over most common things in GUI in AmigaOS
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	30
Size:	5.0 KB
ID:	57809  
TuKo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore is Awesome Banner Competition Kitty News 42 28 July 2012 20:50
no tactical changing wind support.Games 0 10 October 2006 22:48
Changing disks Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 14 August 2004 20:05
I need a banner Djay Amiga websites reviews 2 12 February 2004 12:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08863 seconds with 13 queries