English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2009, 14:59   #21
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
Why don't you get some high-end CRT monitor that costed thousands a few years ago and now cost peanuts?
Four years ago I've got meself a 21" EIZO FlexScan F77S for 200PLN including courier postage (around 40PLN) on Allegro.pl.
It allows up to 1280x1024 in 100Hz and 85Hz in 1600x1200.
And what about 640x480? I think 15'' CRT monitors were ideal for DOS games or speccy games under emuls.

EDIT-I havent found brand new 17'' crt monitors (except xerox), only 19'' (better than nothing) :-)

Last edited by Sensi; 15 March 2009 at 15:08.
Sensi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 March 2009, 15:07   #22
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by SensibleFan View Post
And what about 640x480?
Of course!

Same goes for 16bit and 8bit modes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SensibleFan View Post
I think 15'' CRT monitors were ideal for DOS games or speccy games under emuls.
Yeah, if you like to sit 2cm from the monitor
Shoonay is offline  
Old 15 March 2009, 15:09   #23
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
Yeah, if you like to sit 2cm from the monitor
Have we ever done that? We had to be mad
Sensi is offline  
Old 15 March 2009, 15:10   #24
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Car boot sales are a great place to fing old Dos games It's a good idea to have a 'test version' first, to see if the game is worth it (except it's a real bargain of course ).
Oh and be sure to check 'Under a killing moon'
Already have an original of that one, and with a couple of tricks got it running on DOSbox without using the discs (ripped them into isos). I always got the impression it was supposed to be a serious detective game (never played any of the Tex Murphy games before), so I was quite shocked by the comedy element of it. Watching a grown man playing with his gun pretending to shoot bad guys like som cowboy kinda removed that impression immediately.
StarEye is offline  
Old 15 March 2009, 15:15   #25
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Ah great Well, it has a sense of humour for sure, but it's also a really intense detective game Don't worry, it never goes the Monkey Island way of doing things
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2009, 15:25   #26
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Ah great Well, it has a sense of humour for sure, but it's also a really intense detective game Don't worry, it never goes the Monkey Island way of doing things
As if that would be a bad thing.

I look forward to trying it out properly. Right now I'm installing all these games and playing around with the emulator.
StarEye is offline  
Old 15 March 2009, 20:31   #27
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
I found SGM2.01 soundfont to be the better one though it's rather large.

http://students.oamk.fi/~k4mala00/SG...1.sf2.only.zip
Can you guide me in getting this to work in DOS? I'm supposedly supposed to make timidity start in asla daemon mode, then edit 128:0 into dosbox.config - but I have no idea how to start timidity in daemon mode.
StarEye is offline  
Old 15 March 2009, 22:29   #28
Madcrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 228
No need to be ashamed about DOS. The true gamer is never ashamed of any games platform they had good games. They leech good games for all platforms equally.

Anyways, for DOS, if the game has good GUS or (for later games) AWE32 support, then it will sound great. If it used soft-synth, the quality is variable. For the most part FM synthesis was lame sounding, but a ew things managd to get it sound at least as good as the SID.

Last edited by Madcrow; 15 March 2009 at 22:39.
Madcrow is offline  
Old 15 March 2009, 22:33   #29
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Well Dos had some quite good genuine games in the later years. Not so much as the Miggy, but still
TCD is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 01:00   #30
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarEye View Post
Can you guide me in getting this to work in DOS? I'm supposedly supposed to make timidity start in asla daemon mode, then edit 128:0 into dosbox.config - but I have no idea how to start timidity in daemon mode.
If you downloaded Timidity++ English from the Japan server it has built in support. No need for things like Midi Yoke, etc.

All you need to do is type:

"mixer /listmidi"

after starting dosbox and note the number corresponding to Timidity++. Than edit dosbox.cfg and write the number next to "config=" you may need the save the config to somewhere else and then replace by hand as Vista doesn't allow direct saving the config file into C:/Program files/dosbox directory.

No need for daemon mode or anything else here.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 01:12   #31
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Niiiiice! Thanks! Does that work only in DosBox & ScummVM?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 01:16   #32
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
Niiiiice! Thanks! Does that work only in DosBox & ScummVM?
You can play midi files with Timidity++ too Other than that I can't think of any other use
ancalimon is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 01:20   #33
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Ah, cool, so technically you could use it with *ANY* proggie that uses midi?
And works with Vista x64 even?
Awesome.
I was waiting for such a tool since that old DOS on Windows tool... VDMsound or something...
Shoonay is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 12:53   #34
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
If you downloaded Timidity++ English from the Japan server it has built in support. No need for things like Midi Yoke, etc.

All you need to do is type:

"mixer /listmidi"

after starting dosbox and note the number corresponding to Timidity++. Than edit dosbox.cfg and write the number next to "config=" you may need the save the config to somewhere else and then replace by hand as Vista doesn't allow direct saving the config file into C:/Program files/dosbox directory.

No need for daemon mode or anything else here.
Ah, but Timidity++ doesn't show up when I do that.
StarEye is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 13:14   #35
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarEye View Post
Ah, but Timidity++ doesn't show up when I do that.
Are you running dosbox as administrator? Did you install the needed programs by right clicking and running as administrator?
Did you install this version? http://sourceforge.jp/projects/twsynth/
Did you use http://akkordwechsel.de/15-windows-v...r-midi-mapper/
to select Timidity as default midi?
ancalimon is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 13:38   #36
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Assuming that "this version" is the Timidity download halfway down the page, yes I did install that one. I also used the midimapper (although for some reason it never showed up in control panel, so I had to run it manually). I feel I've done pretty much everything right, 'cause it works flawlessly in ScummVM. Yet, I can't seem to get it working in Dosbox.
StarEye is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 13:53   #37
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,359
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
By the way, you could use one of the available frontends with the venerable DOSBOX, these make life a bit easier !
.. easier? I mean dosbox is already automatic. No config.sys/autoexec.bat changes needed. The only thing I added to dosbox.conf was keyb su 437 and mount c: c:\games ..

You just start it up, cd to your game dir and start the game.

It is not DOS gaming if you don't start it from the command line. I refuse to accept any substitutes. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 13:56   #38
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The only thing I added to dosbox.conf was keyb su 437 [...]
what does that do?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 13:58   #39
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
what does that do?
Set Finnish keyboard layout
TCD is offline  
Old 16 March 2009, 14:01   #40
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
ooh
thx tcd :]
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox 68k Frog Retrogaming General Discussion 25 17 December 2012 11:17
DOSBox 0.74 released! Zandig Retrogaming General Discussion 15 19 August 2010 21:37
DOSbox v0.73 is out! Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 31 01 July 2009 11:02
Angry Video Game Nerd again Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 0 21 February 2008 04:59
DOSBox Frontend P-J Amiga websites reviews 18 25 May 2004 17:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39668 seconds with 12 queries