English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 March 2009, 08:30   #1
Claw22000
Registered User
Claw22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN/USA
Age: 39
Posts: 222
Floppy Drive Emulation (Multi-Platform)

I don't know if it has been posted on this forum before but in case someone's floppy is dead and they need a new one check this out instead. Might just be the last floppy you ever buy.

http://torlus.com/floppy/



I found this today and as soon as I figure out how will be ordering one just in case my floppy dies.
Claw22000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 March 2009, 10:16   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
http://torlus.com/floppy/images/standalone.jpg pretty
s2325 is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 11:59   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
It's been in the works for a long time. The guy is very good. Unfortunately the board design is a bit clunky.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 15:02   #4
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
What is interesting to me is that I've been following this project for a couple of years now and in the last week or two it has been mentioned (seemingly out of the blue) on a few different forums and mailing lists. I can't figure it out.
gklinger is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 15:51   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I think it's a bit like the guy who when dating a supermodel finds out that both her and her identical twin sister want to try a threesome?

"Why are you telling us?

Telling you? I'm telling everyone!"
alexh is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 15:53   #6
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
I'd rather get the threesome than a floppy drive emulator.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 22:47   #7
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Has there been a major breakthrough or development? Something must be behind the spurt of attention.
gklinger is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 00:14   #8
Claw22000
Registered User
Claw22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN/USA
Age: 39
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
I'd rather get the threesome than a floppy drive emulator.
There not all there cracked up to be. A lot of work very messy unless you end up in the lake (which then its not so messy) but still 2 times the work. But the foreplay is AWESOME! awe back when I was young and stupid.

Now I'm not young any more .
Claw22000 is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 00:43   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
It says units were delivered in 2008.
Does this really exist? It sounds really good.
Akira is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 13:46   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
It really exists and more units have been produced in 2009.

They require the PC as a host to stream the data to the Amiga though.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 15:41   #11
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
s2325 linked to a picture of a unit with a memory card socket (of a sort) so this thing might end up being more useful to me than I first thought. My feeling is that solutions that require a second PC aren't ideal. What would rock the Casbah is if it were both standalone and designed to the same form-factor as a 3.5" disk drive so it could be mounted in place of one. I'm not sure how you'd go about choosing disk images but it sure would be neat and tidy.
gklinger is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 15:48   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
They require the PC as a host to stream the data to the Amiga though.
I see, that'd be pretty damn useless.
Here's hoping for a 1541U like upgrade!
Akira is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 01:12   #13
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
I know it's in poor taste to follow up one's own post but I'm going to flaunt convention because I've been thinking about something day and I can't come up with a simple solution...

If a memory card equipped floppy drive simulator were made to fit in place of a floppy disk drive (screw holes lining up and all that sort of thing) so that you could easily swap it in, how would you go about selecting disk images?
gklinger is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 02:08   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
how would you go about selecting disk images?
most of these have in built interfaces for that, for example, a bunch of buttons and an lcd display.
Akira is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 03:32   #15
gklinger
Vegetable Lasagna
gklinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Age: 47
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
most of these have in built interfaces for that, for example, a bunch of buttons and an lcd display.
Right, except buttons wouldn't be accessible and an LCD wouldn't be visible were the unit internal.
gklinger is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 04:20   #16
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by gklinger View Post
Right, except buttons wouldn't be accessible and an LCD wouldn't be visible were the unit internal.
Ok, but the unit will hopefully have a 3.5" form factor, and the buttons & display could be put on the visible side (the side where you inserted the real floppy, on the real 3,5" drive).
Supamax is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 05:03   #17
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
It looks to me some haven't even REALIZED what a breakthrough this is!

You can now play SPS images on your REAL Amiga!!
I thought this would never have been possible, especially not for heavily-protected ones.

BUT ...

My pet hate is this freakish way of data cables hanging out of hardware slots at greater length. Eeek!

This could be done a bit better:

By having a receptacle mounted on the home computer's case to be able to connect/disconnect the Floppy Emulation hardware cable from the computer.
This will also make transport easier and safer, e. g. in a car.
So the sensitive data cable (1 wire broken might mean that you can throw it away) could be stored at a safer place, e. g. the glove compartment.

Last edited by andreas; 11 March 2009 at 21:08.
andreas is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 19:40   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Once they do this without the need for a host PC I'm sold.
The disk selection could be implemented in a myriad of ways. Nobody said this should go exactly where a diskdrive is. It's not a diskdrive after all! I'd happily have an LCD display and buttons built into my Amiga's case, like atop, where the vents are. It would be very convenient.

SPS use is probably welcome to some, and a great breakthrough, but I grew to the point where I cannot care about floppy disks anymore at all, and preffer a WHDLoad install to anything. In any case you always end up needing a floppy so this will be a great tool once it's rid of its PC slave.
Akira is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 21:07   #19
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
andreas is offline  
Old 11 March 2009, 21:28   #20
Claw22000
Registered User
Claw22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN/USA
Age: 39
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Once they do this without the need for a host PC I'm sold.
The do have one. Theres an SD Card reading one that has the option to select which image you want from the SD card.

Also they have one thats being sold by email VIA
peter (dot) sieg1 (at) gmx.de

His version fits into the Amiga FFD slot


Claw22000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About improving the WinUAE Floppy Drive Sound emulation... Dr.Venom request.UAE Wishlist 48 10 April 2017 12:09
Floppy Drive Emulation Speed and available memory Supamax support.WinUAE 20 13 October 2009 07:12
poll for the multi platform tournament turrican3 EAB's competition 16 21 January 2009 22:24
WinUAE floppy drive sound emulation boing_1000 request.UAE Wishlist 3 20 January 2006 22:44
Floppy Drive Emulation Speed... DamienD support.WinUAE 7 12 September 2005 18:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36964 seconds with 11 queries