English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2009, 10:16   #21
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
Okays, I got the new wireless yesterday, and tried it quickly.

After a little fiddling, I got to connect to the network... or at least the router.

However:

I can now ping both ways (ie, PC-Amiga and Amiga-PC utlising EASYNet)
I can NOT:
Load a web page
connect to the Amiga with AmigaExplorer (says something about TCPIP fault error)
Connect to PC with EASYNet (no (t)error message) (Yes I've got a shared drawer on the PC, I've got the right network name in EASYNet, and I've got the right "everything")

So I'm once again, stuck... however, since I can ping the router and my own PC (Haven't bothered with me GF's PC yet, and it doesn't really matter )I'm halfsure there's just something small and silly I've missed.
Doc Mindie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 July 2009, 12:21   #22
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
If you cannot load a webpage. that is a DNS problem. You need to use the correct DNS settings appropriate for your ISP.

Does EasyNet Live Update work? This does not need DNS to be set correctly. I also take it you can access your router from the web browser?
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 09 July 2009, 21:26   #23
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
oh, didn't think about that... accessing the router, that is. gimme 5 minutes

Hmmm... Liveupdate works.

Router seems to work, but can'tget the interface (only got the AWeb coming with OS3.9 installed, might just be old version)(Rechecked with AWeb from the EASYNet install, works)

rechecked DNS, now set to same as in routers' infoscreen.

Still refuses to surf the web, though :scratch

:EDIT: Whoops, typed in wrong DNS address.....

surfing is now working, however, I can't connect to the PC via AExplorer nor EASYNet's hosts

Last edited by Doc Mindie; 09 July 2009 at 21:59.
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 10 July 2009, 02:49   #24
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
oh, didn't think about that... accessing the router, that is. gimme 5 minutes

Hmmm... Liveupdate works.

Router seems to work, but can'tget the interface (only got the AWeb coming with OS3.9 installed, might just be old version)(Rechecked with AWeb from the EASYNet install, works)

rechecked DNS, now set to same as in routers' infoscreen.

Still refuses to surf the web, though :scratch

:EDIT: Whoops, typed in wrong DNS address.....

surfing is now working, however, I can't connect to the PC via AExplorer nor EASYNet's hosts
Hey I fixed your problem! You now owe me my $100,000 which is my usual fee for advice

I posted a thread somewhere here about connecting to your PC using EasyNet, it should even be possible to access your PC's CD/DVD drive that way.

Basically you need to share a folder on your PC and enable file sharing and update your PC's firewall to allow the Amiga to connect to it. In EasyNet the username/password fields are the username/password you use to login to your PC.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 10 July 2009, 08:28   #25
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
Quote:
Basically you need to share a folder on your PC and enable file sharing and update your PC's firewall to allow the Amiga to connect to it. In EasyNet the username/password fields are the username/password you use to login to your PC.
Yup done that already... or rather, I never unshared the drawer on the PC :P

And I refuse to use a firewall, there's a very good one in the router.

I don't have a password for my PC.... only username.

EDIT: Possible to share an Amiga drawer an remote connect via the PC? (as in, proper network, not AE, since AE refuses not matter what I do here.)
EASYNet still refuses to connect to my PC shared.... that's with correct (I've doublechecked, just in case) IP-adress for both computer, corect netmask, correct sharename, workgroup-name.... at least I can get online this time around, however, I've got most stuff on the PC, so wouldn't really want to go online to find everything a second time around :P

Last edited by Doc Mindie; 10 July 2009 at 08:44.
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 11 July 2009, 01:34   #26
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
Yup done that already... or rather, I never unshared the drawer on the PC :P

And I refuse to use a firewall, there's a very good one in the router.

I don't have a password for my PC.... only username.

EDIT: Possible to share an Amiga drawer an remote connect via the PC? (as in, proper network, not AE, since AE refuses not matter what I do here.)
EASYNet still refuses to connect to my PC shared.... that's with correct (I've doublechecked, just in case) IP-adress for both computer, corect netmask, correct sharename, workgroup-name.... at least I can get online this time around, however, I've got most stuff on the PC, so wouldn't really want to go online to find everything a second time around :P
Did you update your firewall settings? I had to add my Miggy's IP address to get it to work.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 13 July 2009, 10:55   #27
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
Yep, done that... "Error reading from TCP connection" is what Amiga Explorer says
Doc Mindie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EasyNet wireless card from AmigaKit problems.. Synthesize Me support.Hardware 7 13 August 2014 01:30
Easynet wireless PCMCIA from AmigaKit Reynolds support.Hardware 21 18 October 2013 19:23
EasyNet and NetGear Wireless MA401 D4Ni3L3 support.Other 13 18 October 2013 05:30
EasyNet: New Wireless Networks Scan Feature amigakit.com Amiga scene 3 15 July 2013 00:38
EasyNet, wireless and wired..... Doc Mindie support.Apps 4 19 August 2009 00:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12714 seconds with 11 queries