English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 March 2009, 00:37   #1
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
CF card with PFS3 and WB3.9

Hello there,
I have a CF card formated in UAE with PFS3 system, kickstart 3.1 and WB3.9 BB2.
With WB3.1 its all ok but when upgrade WB to 3.9 in UAE an error appear when startup-sequence execute LoadWB: Invalid Resident Library and doesn´t appear any Icons in WB. Same happens in a real A1200 with 3.1 Roms and Blizz040/32Mb when I put this CF in it.
This only happened when I used PSF3 because same configuration runs happy in FFS.
Any ideas how to solve this?

Thanks in advance
AlfaRomeo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 March 2009, 01:23   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
You could try SFS instead?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 March 2009, 06:30   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
I had same problem if icon.library was in ROM.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 March 2009, 09:37   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaRomeo View Post
This only happened when I used PFS3 because same configuration runs happy in FFS.
Perhaps you rebooted too early after the installation had finished ? PFS3 waits ca. 3 seconds after the last write access before it flushes its buffers. You can see this if you enable on-screen LEDs.

So if you didn't wait at least 3 seconds after the installation, the files which were copied last were not written to the disk.

Anyway, check if the right version of icon.library (i.e. V45) has been copied to the disk. If it's still V40, then copy it manually from the CD.
thomas is offline  
Old 03 March 2009, 19:37   #5
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
Thanks guys, when I get home I will check icon.lib version

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I had same problem if icon.library was in ROM.
@ Toni what you did to solve the problem?
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 03 March 2009, 20:42   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfaRomeo View Post
@ Toni what you did to solve the problem?
I thought that was obvious

Do not put it in ROM (also make sure workbench.library isn't included, I didn't even have wbfind in ROM)

Versions that come with OS installation must of course be in LIBS:
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 03 March 2009, 21:41   #7
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
How do I remove icon.library and other libs from ROM?? with SKIPROMUPDATE "icon.library"??

Last edited by AlfaRomeo; 04 March 2009 at 16:23.
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 16:29   #8
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
check if the right version of icon.library (i.e. V45) has been copied to the disk. If it's still V40, then copy it manually from the CD.
Icon.library still v40.1, that means when I updated to OS3.9 some old files
were not replaced..I wonder how many and why this happen..
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 16:42   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
How do I remove icon.library and other libs from ROM?? with SKIPROMUPDATE "icon.library"??
A normal user cannot do this. You would have to write your own ROM into an EPROM chip and replace the original ROM chip with this one.

You could however create a new ROM image file with the famous Remus software and use Blizkick or the like to soft-kick it.

Quote:
Icon.library still v40.1, that means when I updated to OS3.9 some old files

were not replaced..I wonder how many and why this happen..
I tried to tell you. PFS3 does not write immediately to disk but waits a certain period of time until it recognises that there is no more activity. If you reboot before PFS has written its buffers to disk, the data is lost.
thomas is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 17:03   #10
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
@thomas
Thanks for your help

Where I can download Remus software?
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 17:39   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/beta/index.html
thomas is offline  
Old 04 March 2009, 17:44   #12
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
Already Downloaded
Thanks again thomas
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 05 March 2009, 17:31   #13
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
While I was building my rom´s Image a doubt come in to my head: If, in physical Roms, where a library that is an older version than the one in the Libs: directory what happens when execute a program that needs that library? it will load directly the Roms lib or it will see that the lib in Libs: directory is newer and load it instead?
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 05 March 2009, 17:56   #14
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Programs usually call the OpenLibrary function. This function does all the version checking. It first checks whether the library has been opened before. If it's already open, it uses that copy and just increases the use count. But if the library has not been opened before, it first checks if there is a newer version on disk before it uses the one in ROM.
thomas is offline  
Old 05 March 2009, 18:09   #15
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
Thanks very much thomas
your explanation helped me a lot to understand how Amiga OS works
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 15:01   #16
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
I have a valid image 40.68 Rom from A1200 that even RomSplit from Remus software recognise but when I try to include Piru´s exec v44.1 in that Rom following the steps in instructions of Exec44beta4 the checksum of final rom it´s different from the checksum in instructions and after RemApollo tells me that is not a valid checksum rom
Someone knows why this could happen?
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 19:38   #17
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
I just found that the Icons does not appear in workbench if I use setpatch command in Startup-Sequence because if setpatch is not present the Icons are normal, so something in OS 3.9 Rom Update is in conflict with pfs3.
How can I find what is the Rom Update contents?

Last edited by AlfaRomeo; 07 March 2009 at 21:41.
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 21:41   #18
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 774
Ok, I think with Rom split I can find what´s inside OS 3.9 RomUpdate
AlfaRomeo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3 or PFS3 SCSI Direct xalakibaniou project.ClassicWB 105 27 July 2013 22:08
Problems using PCMCIA 128MB CF Card on WB3.1 clitosa New to Emulation or Amiga scene 29 18 November 2012 11:10
PFS3 on CF Card in PCMCIA port? spoUP support.Hardware 8 08 November 2011 20:34
PFS3 error: INVALID PFS3 COPY !!! WTF? keropi support.Apps 10 18 March 2008 22:30
WB2.1 or WB3.1 or WB3.9 Olecranon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 September 2006 18:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28006 seconds with 11 queries