English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Would you sell/swap your PC for an Amiga ?
Yes Give me an Amiga Now 19 33.93%
No way 33 58.93%
humm I don`t Know 4 7.14%
Voters: 56. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2009, 21:02   #1
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Would You Sell/Swap Your PC for an Amiga

so would you?
you may have to bear with me as this is the first poll I`ve ever done
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:15   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
I selected "No way"...

I don't see why anyone would do this unless the computer is a few years old? Besides the serious reasons for having my computers, they run all the emulators for any system that I have ever loved. Can't *really* run MAME32, Snes9x, Unz etc on an Amiga now can you

Plus WinUAE is so good that I can't really see the point in getting a real Amiga anyway when you can have many models / configurations in one program.

Sure, have a PC and an Amiga if you will but getting rid of your PC completely is crazy IMHO
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:16   #3
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Would have to be a nicely loaded Amiga with some rare hardware - but I'd consider it
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:16   #4
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 66
Posts: 681
i voted no way,
reason,both machines have there usefullness, and as my tower has been down for about a month now waiting for amigakit and elbox to test and possibly repair my mb and fast ata111, i would have no way to get on the internet, to pay bills etc , plus no EAB
twizzle is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:33   #5
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,982
I voted NOOOOOOOOOO WAY

No fecking way would I give up the PC, if I did, the wife would kill me, I wouldn't be able to talk on EAB sensibly I wouldn't be able to play or do anything miggy in WinUAE 'cause it don't work on an Amiga I wouldn't be able to create wallpapers with my Photoshop skills, slideshows, Avatars for my mates , Logos, EAB logos (modified), Database's, Spreadsheets and, and, the list goes on and on

Don't get me wrong, I love to own a miggy, but swapping a PC for a miggy would be just plain crazy especially if you're not too familiar with the miggy in the first place (Leytond )
DH is online now  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:38   #6
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Nope

My Mrs would go Ballistic

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:41   #7
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
I said no because I already have lots of Amiga's

Also the PC is far more useable in 2009 than an Amiga could ever be!
BippyM is online now  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:41   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Well even if I wouldn't have to keep the PC for my job, I wouldn't swap or sell it for an Amiga. That said, of course it's another thing to buy a bunch Miggy's when you keep your PC Like Damien and DH said, there are just too many things I would miss (new games anyone? ).

P.S. : Just waiting for Akira's 'Sure! I still have my Mac ' post

P.P.S. : Poor leytond...
TCD is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 21:46   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
hum now theres a point forgot about the mac
I`ll just edit the poll

wow 2 ppl would ditch there pc for an amiga so far

well I can`t seem to edit the poll so we pretend the mac is PC as well hehehehehheh
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:04   #10
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
one of those votes was me....as i have several pcees
DoogUK is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:10   #11
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I have a similar train of thought. But if the rule was ALL PCs/Macs etc then I'd reconsider
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:13   #12
JuvUK
Registered User
JuvUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cheltenham/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 312
i've answered yes, but i'd have to have no amigas 1st
JuvUK is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:14   #13
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
The only sane answer here is "No way!" of course!
StingRay is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:15   #14
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Yes of course, I wanna swap one my PCs (486/66) for brand new Amiga 1200 I still use another 486/100 and PII 333, these I dont wanna swap.
Sensi is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:17   #15
asm1
Registered User
asm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 637
I've got a Miggy and a PC, and couldn't now do without either
asm1 is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:40   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
My PC is shite so if anyone wants a 2.4GHz Northwood with 2GB of RAM in exchange for a PPC/060 Miggy then please PM me.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:49   #17
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Hell, yes!
I have several - anybody want to give me a fully-loaded A4000T or DraCo for a POS x86 box..?
Charlie is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:52   #18
Sensi
Unregistered User
Sensi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Hell, yes!
I have several - anybody want to give me a fully-loaded A4000T or DraCo for a POS x86 box..?
If its got 5,25'' floppy and at least 20 MB HD we can make a deal
Sensi is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 22:52   #19
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
It's No Way! No miggy can do what my PC does - and my PC is shit (these days), plus I already have an Amiga or two...

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
My PC is shite so if anyone wants a 2.4GHz Northwood with 2GB of RAM in exchange for a PPC/060 Miggy then please PM me.
What sort of RAM? Would you be interested in a part-chop of some cash and other RAM for it?
meega is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 23:05   #20
leytond
MY 1200 IS AWSOME
leytond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: doncaster england
Age: 49
Posts: 700
Send a message via MSN to leytond
ill tell ya what, ill do a swap for the best amiga offerd for my pc, here is what is in it,

asus-p5q deluxe main board.
4 gig ddr2 ram
pci express nvidia 9600gt video card 1 gig ram.
pionear dvd rom with latest krion firmware for xbox copying
pionear dvdrw
1 tb sata 2 maxtor hdd
1 256 gig sata 2 maxtor hdd
tv capture card
flopy drive
card reader
and so on, alll the usual stuff.
leytond is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why did you sell your Amiga? Anna Nostalgia & memories 64 05 February 2013 20:57
[sell] Amiga 1200 end Amiga 4000 ONLY EUROPE Dexther MarketPlace 11 21 October 2009 15:24
Sell Original set of Commodore Amiga 3.1 Kickstart ROMs for an Amiga A3000 Vars191 MarketPlace 2 02 December 2008 22:43
Untested Amiga 4000 - to sell or not to sell? dswalef MarketPlace 12 29 August 2007 18:54
Sell/swap: Bunch of original game disks cheap Photon MarketPlace 1 07 December 2006 18:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.49083 seconds with 12 queries