English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2009, 09:26   #1
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 33
Posts: 416
External IDE on my AMIGA 1200

THIS IS NOT MY AMIGA 1200, but the mod is exactly the same



My A1200 has exactly THE SAME ide modification but in the left side of the computer, near the PCMCIA port.

Well... have some of you this kind of "external" IDE? How do you actually use or connect anything to it? When I received my A1200 near one year ago, even the vendor (Iormulat, from Efunzine) didn't know actually how it worked. I've been trying to search on these forums and the internet, but the only thing I have found is this photograph.

I want to put a CDROM (I have some IDE ATAPI drives) in my A1200 and I think this mod could be perfect for it, isn't it?

Regards,

Salva
Xenon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 February 2009, 09:39   #2
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Just plug the ide cable in and a molex power cable..straight into the back of the cdrom.
As long as you have a cdrom filesystem installed you'll be set to go.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 26 February 2009, 16:58   #3
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 33
Posts: 416
So I only need to get a male-male molex cable, right? I'll try to find one.
Xenon is offline  
Old 26 February 2009, 17:56   #4
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Correct, you could also get a longer ide cable then a external enclosure for your cdrom, tidies the kit up a bit.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 26 February 2009, 23:30   #5
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam´em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 38
Posts: 570
Ho! ugly mod!
Yoto is offline  
Old 26 February 2009, 23:32   #6
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Fortunately you sit in front of the miggy
DoogUK is offline  
Old 26 February 2009, 23:33   #7
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogUK View Post
Fortunately you sit in front of the miggy


TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 00:26   #8
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 33
Posts: 416
Well, on my Amiga 1200 this mod looks very good. It's on the left of the computer and firt I didn't realize it was a mod.

DooGUK: I have a homemade external enclosure I did with a ATX PSU and a IDE Interface for my MSX 2. I used it with a HD and a CDROM. So I only need to put a CDROM again there. Even I can use the external power supply :P

Regards,

Salva
Xenon is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 00:31   #9
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Yup, that will work fine.

When i first started out i had an ide buffered interface and a long ide cable hanging out of the back of the miggy going to my external cdrom which had it's own power supply...worked a treat.

After a while i went to the slim internal cdrom mod to save deskspace.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 02:13   #10
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 33
Posts: 416
Ok, thanks for all the answers
Xenon is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 02:23   #11
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,161


Look carefully...how does this A1200 connect to anything else?!?!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 08:53   #12
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
hahahahahahahahaha its completely wireless
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 09:56   #13
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
I never noticed that.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 13:46   #14
twizzle
Registered User
twizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: taunton.som.uk
Age: 63
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogUK View Post
I never noticed that.
me neither i was drawn to the ide connector
twizzle is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 19:47   #15
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 33
Posts: 416
Well, actually, I don't remember where I've found this photo
Xenon is offline  
Old 28 February 2009, 03:38   #16
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,161
Of course I wasn't having a dig at you Xenon...just thought it looked a bit "funny"

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 10:49   #17
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 33
Posts: 416
Well, I've tried to put a MITSUMI FX4820T on the external ide using a external power supply, installing also IDEFIX97 and nothing happened. IDEFIX97 didnt' detect any device for my CDROM unit, so I think that or I am not doing things well, or this mod is not working...

Last edited by Xenon; 13 March 2009 at 10:57.
Xenon is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 11:13   #18
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
can you not post a photo of the mod inside the amiga?

Could see whats going on then.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 11:28   #19
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 33
Posts: 416
Now I must go out to Madrid (tomorrow it the Retromadrid fair) for some days. But at my return, I'll post the photos.

Thanks!
Xenon is offline  
Old 13 March 2009, 11:45   #20
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenon View Post
Retromadrid fair) for some days. But at my return, I'll post the photos.

Thanks!

And photos from Retromadrid, mate, please!

Disfruta. Qué tengas un buen viaje!
AmigaFriend is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA HD on Amiga 1200 IDE @UAE support.Hardware 16 17 March 2010 06:25
Amiga 1200 IDE-->CF Problem mange_lars support.Hardware 1 05 November 2009 05:16
WTB: Amiga 1200 External CD ROM Drive CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 11 10 September 2008 01:09
External PCMCIA CD-Rom on Amiga 1200 Teac CD-224PE Raging Rabbit support.Hardware 23 23 June 2008 05:39
amiga 1200 external cdrom pbareges support.Hardware 6 04 February 2007 11:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21133 seconds with 11 queries