English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2002, 18:30   #21
darkseid
 
Posts: n/a
Angry

sorry forgot to mention

OS is Win XP
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 April 2002, 19:11   #22
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Argh.. Non-vsync fullscreen mode is buggy, it may drop every other frame causing big slowdown...

I think it is time for another public beta soon...
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 April 2002, 23:09   #23
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Toni, you're doing a fantastic job, keep up the good work on WinUAE and these BETA test releases. I think with the different machines out there, we all here should be able to find most, if not all the bugs and quirks of code
jmmijo is offline  
Old 22 April 2002, 23:20   #24
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
I think all beta versions should be publically released, this way you get a massive user base and machine spec spread right across the board.

I do understand why you don't do this Toni, but I think it would help.
Ian is offline  
Old 22 April 2002, 23:23   #25
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
If beta versions make it to the public there will be a lot more problems and demand for solutions. This may give winuae a bad name
 
Old 22 April 2002, 23:26   #26
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Your right of course, but that's one of the reason I can think of for Toni not doing it

Anyway, it doesn't really matter now, Toni say's when it's going to be released and that's when it is released. This never used to happen so I suppose we're all better off anyway
Ian is offline  
Old 22 April 2002, 23:29   #27
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Stick out tongue Obligatory AOL response

me too
jmmijo is offline  
Old 22 April 2002, 23:29   #28
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
If beta versions make it to the public there will be a lot more problems and demand for solutions. This may give winuae a bad name
Sadly it's true..

The more the public see, the more chance Toni will get flooded by 'lamers' (ah, the good old days) who scream abuse when their tiny often mistakenly spotted bug isn't fixed in the next 2 mins.

I'd hate for Toni etc to get so pissed off by the needless complaints that the emu gets side lined. The work is much appreciated and Toni can see that, lets keep the happy balance..
Mclane is offline  
Old 29 April 2002, 07:35   #29
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 62
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen


Do you have NTSC enabled? (I just noticed NTSC-mode's sound seems to be broken in recent winuae releases..)
I had been having no luck with the sound in R3, though it was slightly better in the sound fix beta. Sound was somewhat choppy in either of those versions. After noticing a post on the UAE discussion board that said that someone had noticed that the problem only occurred if NTSC was enabled, I went back and tried turning NTSC off. Suddenly sound was once again clear, with no choppiness. I used Shadow of the Beast as my test case, and it sounded great with NTSC turned off. Oddly enough, I had expected to see the game speed and music tempo affected, but it all seemed to run at normal speed. It sounds like (no pun intended) you're on the right track to solving this if you're concentrating on fixing NTSC sound.

Thanks for all your efforts. They are greatly appreciated.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 29 April 2002, 08:21   #30
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Thans for reports. It seems creating fully automatic and working sound adjustment is futile.. Next WinUAE release will have manual sound adjust slider and minimal automatic adjustment.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 April 2002, 08:23   #31
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
Thans for reports. It seems creating fully automatic and working sound adjustment is futile.. Next WinUAE release will have manual sound adjust slider and minimal automatic adjustment.
Do you think this has to do with the timing veriations between machines or even from the same machine? Remember that all these PC's have many different perhipherals attached and they all can hickup from time to time or just not play nice with each other
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the most accurate speed test for WinUAE? Steve support.OtherUAE 5 04 December 2012 18:04
WinUAE 2.3.1 & The quality Picture !!! meme support.WinUAE 39 06 April 2011 16:15
CD32 Frog Feast test available. Test out the final! cdoty News 42 01 April 2008 16:20
Problems with graphics quality when using winuae! Unregistered support.WinUAE 13 27 August 2006 19:11
low quality sound icewizard2k5 support.Hardware 10 14 March 2005 13:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15995 seconds with 11 queries