English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2002, 14:44   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
winuae sound quality test released

Download and report! http://www.winuae.net/

Set sound to 16-bit and frequency to 22050Hz/44100Hz/48000Hz.
Report also lowest sound buffer position that still produces (nearly) good quality sound. (usually it is somewhere between 1-4)

and finally, does sound work better than 0821's? or 0817's sound?

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 22 April 2002 at 08:27.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 April 2002, 16:40   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I tested Big Time Sensuality demo with it.

Given the same config, this test version gives very close or the same result as r2. It's very good but I cannot decide if it's as good as r2 or just unnoticably close to it. It's explicitly a lot better than r3.
 
Old 21 April 2002, 17:05   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Can you decrease size of sound buffer without any bad side-effects now?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 April 2002, 17:16   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I can lower buffer size from 4 to 3. The difference is not much but noticeable, it skips a bit. I'd rather keep it at 4.

By the way, some parts of this demo like the AGA plasma effect part, sound is plain horrible with any configuration and any winuae so I'm just saying if it's better or worse compared to older versions but I'm not saying it works perfectly.
 
Old 21 April 2002, 17:26   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Quote:
By the way, some parts of this demo like the AGA plasma effect part, sound is plain horrible
This is not sound code's fault. It is your pc that is too slow
Complex copper effects require huge amounts of cpu power...
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 April 2002, 17:31   #6
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
The sound is much better I can now set the sound to 3 in OCS Mode.

Well I have just formatted and reinstalled my PC so cannot say properly

EDIT
Just tried Big Time Sensuality demo and have the same results as Burseg and have to turn frame skip to 2 sound to 4 to get better sound.

Anyway keep up the great work Toni

Last edited by Paul; 21 April 2002 at 17:38.
Paul is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 17:53   #7
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
This is not sound code's fault. It is your pc that is too slow Complex copper effects require huge amounts of cpu power...
That's what I had in mind
 
Old 21 April 2002, 18:12   #8
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Exclamation

for anybody:
Do not use 8 bit sound setting.
It might cause crackles while playing sound.
Only 16 bit works for me with the beta.
andreas is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 19:19   #9
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
I find this beta version terrible.

It sounds to me like it doesn't play all channels properly, and Nine Fingers sounds shit, some of the instuments are missing.

0.8.21r3 plays it fine though. But I do have a VIA motherboard (A-Bit KR7A) and a Sound Blaster Audigy which might be causing the problem.

And on the subject of Big Time Sensuality, well you must need one HELL of a system to emulate that properly, my XP1800+ can't do it.

And another thing I've noticed, if you get behind with the sound buffer it really f*cks up the sound until you press F12 and let it catch up with itself.

In my opinion this release makes things worse, but hey, I have the sound buffer set to 1 anyway without any problems with the other releases so I guess it's not really aimed at me.
Ian is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 19:32   #10
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
my XP1800+ can't do it.
Hmm, then I'll delay my upgrade plans until AMD clawhammer is out. It's a shame that modern PCs suck at emulating a 10yr old computer. LOL.
 
Old 21 April 2002, 19:34   #11
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Oh, can someone else test the Nine Fingers demo and see if it's the same for them please
Ian is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 19:41   #12
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
Oh, can someone else test the Nine Fingers demo and see if it's the same for them please
Just tested Nine Fingers Demo on my Win98 SE AMD1000, SB Live 5.1 and had no problems with the sound!
Paul is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 20:15   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Ian, did you try sound buffer sizes 2 or 3?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 April 2002, 21:08   #14
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
I did, but strangly, it's working now.

I doesn't seem to matter what sound buffer size I choose either. Might have been a dodgy connection of one of my 5.1 speakers.
Ian is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 21:22   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Quote:
I did, but strangly, it's working now.
I also noticed strange sound problem when I was testing winuae on my brother's pc: winuae's sound is very bad if winamp is open! (in stopped state) Probably another SB Live problem or something...
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 April 2002, 21:45   #16
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
I also noticed strange sound problem when I was testing winuae on my brother's pc: winuae's sound is very bad if winamp is open! (in stopped state) Probably another SB Live problem or something...
One thing I've noticed is that the SB Live/Audigy series is that the drivers and/or hardware really hogs the DMA and PCI bus Not sure if this is by design or what? Could also be just poor driver coding too
jmmijo is offline  
Old 21 April 2002, 23:08   #17
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
tested on :-

P2 350
256mb SDram
SB Player 1024

tested with :-

State of the Art [spaceballs]

result :-

(sound buffer set to 1, 8-bit) sound is crackley, frame rate drops.
(sound buffer set to max, 16-bit) sound is perfect, but 2 sec gaps every five or so seconds.
Djay is offline  
Old 22 April 2002, 03:15   #18
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 517
Re: winuae sound quality test released

Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
Download and report! http://www.winuae.net/
Big thumbs up here..

Under XP I got no probs (its toughest test) and I also have a 5.1 sound card.

Excellent fix by all involved!!
Mclane is offline  
Old 22 April 2002, 17:36   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Quote:
sound is perfect, but 2 sec gaps every five or so seconds.
Do you have NTSC enabled? (I just noticed NTSC-mode's sound seems to be broken in recent winuae releases..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 April 2002, 18:29   #20
Darkseid
 
Posts: n/a
Hooooo

System specs

Athlon XP700+
ECS KS75A mobo
512MB pc133 cas 2
ATI radeon 7500
SIS 7012 sound
40GB WD HD

Tested the beta against r3 on the following demos.

Big time sensuality
Real (Complex)
Burning Chrome (Haujobb)

Beta was worse than r3 until I enabled V-sync then for some reason the sound was almost perfect at 16bit 44100khz with sound buffer set to 4.

I would have thought the sound would be worse at the faster speed (i.e running at 60Hz with v-sync enabled) as opposed to simulated 50Hz.

All demo`s reacted the same to the v-sync enabling, except the real AGA plasma part of BTS which was expected after reading previous posts.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the most accurate speed test for WinUAE? Steve support.OtherUAE 5 04 December 2012 18:04
WinUAE 2.3.1 & The quality Picture !!! meme support.WinUAE 39 06 April 2011 16:15
CD32 Frog Feast test available. Test out the final! cdoty News 42 01 April 2008 16:20
Problems with graphics quality when using winuae! Unregistered support.WinUAE 13 27 August 2006 19:11
low quality sound icewizard2k5 support.Hardware 10 14 March 2005 13:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27289 seconds with 11 queries