English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2009, 14:33   #1
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Relokick 1.4a, not sure if its working?

I recently got relokick 1.4a for my A1200 and im not sure how im supposed to tell if its working or not?

I put it in my a1200 and let it boot, then it asks me to click the left mouse button to continue, it does some memory patching or something and then when it says "kicking up" the screen goes yellow and the power light flashes fast and then resets the system.

After it resets, the A1200 will just load WB 3.0 from the hard drive as normal so i dont know if it has worked because i dont get to see the kickstart screen

Ive tried swapping the disks to an old game disk as soon as the system resets from relokick and it still does not work?

Am i doing something wrong or does my amiga just not like it
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 22 February 2009, 15:21   #2
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 753
ReloKick 1.4

Here's the info i have about ReloKick 1.4:

about: Coded by Geesus, released 18th August 1994.

Soft boots back to KS1.3 allowing older software to be run that cannot be run under the new-style OS.

Improved on Galahad's ReloKick v1.4 as this allows you to toggle the CPU caches on 68010+ and toggle NTSC/PAL.

Released:1994
OS:2.04
Disks:1 (211KB)
Format:ADF
ma693541 is offline  
Old 22 February 2009, 15:31   #3
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I have the Galahad of Fairlight version 1.4a and i dont think it works with my A1200

Maybe its my expansion board messing with it? but i dont see how? Its just a Microbotics board with 8mb fast ram and a 68882 fpu (pretty standard).

I also have a hard drive that automatically boots into workbench 3.0 when the amiga is switched on (so i dont even get to see the kickstart screen after i use relokick).

I have a few old games made for the A500 that either refuse to load or have garbled graphics! Some cause the red "guru meditation software failure" error so im guessing i need to use relokick to make them run but when i try it does nothing?

Anyone had a similar problem?

Edit: just tried again and its DUAL CREW SHINING version written by Galahad of Fairlight? and it still not working. The documentation states it lets the user switch between pal/ntsc modes and disable cache but i dont get those options?

Last edited by PowerPie5000; 22 February 2009 at 17:22.
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 22 February 2009, 17:27   #4
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
until someone finds a solution, try http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/TUDE
it need the kickstart1.3.rom (called kick34005.a500) in DEVS:KICKSTARTS
maybe this works better.
hit is offline  
Old 22 February 2009, 17:27   #5
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,720
Relokick 1.4a by me works on A1200, as that is after all the whole point of it. Clearly an issue with your machine. If you see the Kickstart 1.3 screen you will then know its working, and pal/ntsc and cpu switch is all done on a couple of the function keys or left/right mouse button (forgive my memory, it was a long time ago!).

Relokick 1.4a isn't suitable for AmigaOS applications through the CLI, its main use is to suit mostly non-dos stuff as that is where a lot of stuff failed on bootup.

Garbled graphics in a lot of cases will be blitter problems, and i'm afraid no amount of Relokick or TUDE will fix that, the game has to be patched separately to fix that, which many games 'back in the day' were.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 22 February 2009, 20:22   #6
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Hi thanks for the reply, i was guessing its probably my machine

Is the blitter problem a result of malfunctioning hardware or just a compatibility issue with older amiga games? (AGA chipset not good at running games intended for OCS?).

Is there an easy way to stop my hard drive from booting WB after i use relokick? (prefer not to remove it!) The hard drive boots up WB 3.0 straight after relokcik has reset the amiga so i dont even get to see the kickstart screen therefore not knowing if its showing kickstart 1.3

Any help is always appreciated, thanks

also is it normal for relokick to display a yellow screen before it restarts?
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 22 February 2009, 22:37   #7
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,720
The blitter problems is to do with lazy and 'clever' programming.

The Amiga was a proper multi processing computer, so whilst the blitter was doing its thing, you could have the CPU doing something else.

To help speed up programs, programmers would use the blitter to do something, and then not wait for it to finish and let the CPU continue through the code. Because the blitter was significantly quicker than the 68000 processor, invariably the blitter would be finished doing its job before the CPU gave it its next job, therefore there was no need for a piece of code to wait for the blitter to finish.

Obviously the 68020 in the A1200 is quicker than the 68000, so the same code for the blitter was failing because the 68020 could process the code quicker and was already setting up the blitter to do another operation before the blitter had finished its previous job, hence the garbled graphics.

And obviously the faster 68030/040/060 just make it even worse.

Whats makes the blitter even more of a headache is that the 68030+ are quicker than the blitter at doing the same job, you really have to question the intelligence of Commodore to maintain a custom chipset that then ceases to be amazing and ends up being a bottleneck, strangling the performance of the AGA Amigas.

Its not enough to say its for backwards compatibility, because Amiga programmers relied on those custom chips to do the hard work instead of the processor.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 22 February 2009, 23:56   #8
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
I was thinking about getting an accelerator board for my A1200 (030 with 32mb) now does that mean it could produce garbled graphics on games programmed for the 68020 with the 030 cpu working faster than the blitter?

And with a500 games on the a1200 the blitter was working faster than the cpu creating garbled graphics.... so if i upgrade i make 68000 games even worse with the potential of making 68020 games unplayable?.... this could get messy
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 23 February 2009, 07:49   #9
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
You really need to get hold of WHDLoad
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 22 October 2012, 20:07   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 12,050
Another prick.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Relokick-1...-/160802358179
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 22 October 2012, 20:13   #11
Kitty
Can’t rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,519
that guy has made £49.50 so far selling that disk
Kitty is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 09:26   #12
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,123
Perhaps those 22 people doesn't have the means of transferring images to the amiga and are willing to pay someone else for the service+the disk?
demolition is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 10:13   #13
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by nittamituaki View Post
OMG,22 persons bought relokick1.4?
Its freeware we can download that adf image and create real 880KB format disk.
I can not understand why they buy such as...
What counts is the presentation, and the promise of the full original package for the disk.

On topic, Relokick worked great on my A1200 and A4000 on some games and I think TUDE helped a lot on others. But as Graham said maybe it's time to embrace WDHLoad since you have a harddrive, much better and much less messier.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 13:31   #14
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Just dealt with it, I didn't give permission, so now its been removed.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 13:37   #15
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Just dealt with it, I didn't give permission, so now its been removed.
I'm sure that whoever owns the Kickstart copyrights hasn't given any permission either..
demolition is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 15:17   #16
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I'm sure that whoever owns the Kickstart copyrights hasn't given any permission either..
But specifically, Relokick 1.4 is my work, regardless of the copyright for Kickstart 1.3
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 15:45   #17
a4k-oerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: EU
Posts: 134
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Just dealt with it, I didn't give permission, so now its been removed.
More to deal with...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Amiga-Soft...-/110867808173 £2.99 (5 available / 20 sold)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore-...-/290506336436 £2.99 (5 available / 98 sold)
a4k-oerx is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 15:51   #18
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
But specifically, Relokick 1.4 is my work, regardless of the copyright for Kickstart 1.3
Correct, but since it is based on KS1.3, I assume Relokick 1.4 isn't legal to distribute without the consent of both parties.
demolition is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 21:46   #19
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Correct, but since it is based on KS1.3, I assume Relokick 1.4 isn't legal to distribute without the consent of both parties.
Semantics, I don't see anyone from Cloanto chasing this up do you, or should we wait for them to do something?

I think we're done here champ!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 23 October 2012, 22:19   #20
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
wasent there an older version of this?(relokick)im sure there was.


every time this is mentioned on forums i remember an earlier version,im going to see if i still have it somewhere.its eating away at me.
roy bates is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relokick Please jockey0 request.Apps 5 29 April 2011 20:50
Relokick 1.4a??? ipod_sock request.Apps 2 23 February 2010 23:44
Relokick and OS 3.9 amigafan1200 support.Other 3 25 November 2009 11:24
Relokick 1.3 Another World New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 07 October 2008 15:51
Relokick teh request.Apps 4 01 April 2004 12:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09225 seconds with 12 queries