English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2009, 10:48   #1
Stratman79
 
Posts: n/a
How do I make backups???

Hi guys and gals,

I've recently acquired a boxed A600 that was NEVER used! It is pristine! I've bought workbench 2.1 for it and I've got some blank 3.5 floppies and a lot of games. Now, I know this is more basic than basic to most of you, but how do I make backup copies of the games so that I don't damage the original game disks??? I seem to remember when I was a kid typing something along the lines of:

'copy df0 to df0'

in shell, but I can't remember exactly what the correct command is!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2009, 11:09   #2
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
This will only work on games that load in from a standard disk format. Use X-copy to copy everything, it's very easy to use

I'll upload X-copy Pro 5 to the zone along with ADF2Disk so you can put xcopy back onto a floppy

It'll be x-copy pro 7 not pro 5 that I mentioned earlier

Last edited by DH; 20 February 2009 at 11:40.
DH is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 01:22   #3
Stratman79
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
This will only work on games that load in from a standard disk format. Use X-copy to copy everything, it's very easy to use

I'll upload X-copy Pro 5 to the zone along with ADF2Disk so you can put xcopy back onto a floppy

It'll be x-copy pro 7 not pro 5 that I mentioned earlier
Dude, I REALLY appreciate the brilliantly friendly response, but I've got to be completely honest - I have absolutely NO idea what that all means...!?!

I'm completely UNtechnical when it comes to Amigas! It's games all the way; always has been!!
I've got a genuine A600 that doesn't have internet access, and uses Double-Sided Double Density 3.5" floppies. Does you generous offer work under those conditions? PM me if you want, coz I'm more confused than ever now!!
 
Old 06 March 2009, 01:25   #4
Stratman79
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
This will only work on games that load in from a standard disk format. Use X-copy to copy everything, it's very easy to use

I'll upload X-copy Pro 5 to the zone along with ADF2Disk so you can put xcopy back onto a floppy

It'll be x-copy pro 7 not pro 5 that I mentioned earlier
What do you mean by;
a) the zone
b) ADF2Disk
c) X-copy(I assume that's a copy program of some sort??)

Sorry to be a thick twat, but I am severely limited with my computer knowledge; old & new.......
 
Old 06 March 2009, 01:34   #5
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratman79 View Post
What do you mean by;
a) the zone
Have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=vb_...ezone_faq_item
Since DHs upload is older than 7 days you won't find his stuff there anymore. Guess you'll have to wait for him to show up tomorrow again
TCD is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 01:41   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratman79 View Post
What do you mean by;
b) ADF2Disk
c) X-copy(I assume that's a copy program of some sort??)
Hi Stratman,

Follow TCD's instructions on how to get access to the Zone, and I'll upload DH's file for you again.

X-Copy is a program for serious disk imaging (i.e. copying the contents of a disk to file), and ADF2Disk is a program for writing a disk image file (ADF - Amiga Disk File) back to a floppy disk.

I'll let you know when I've uploaded the file.

prowler

[Edit] Zoned! However, as you've now logged out, I don't suppose you're interested, and if Slayer is correct in his assumptions below, then you'll have no need for these files anyway.

Last edited by prowler; 06 March 2009 at 01:52.
prowler is online now  
Old 06 March 2009, 01:43   #7
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
This kind of post needs someone with that special gift of patience is my middle name

In this instance I would also assume that the A600 is unexpanded machine? So xcopy won't be able to copy the disk to memory in one go then copy back to a destination disk.

stratman79 I'm sorry but for the purpose of being more straight forward and allowing you to play 2 disk games more comfortably you are going to have to get an DF1 or an external drive if you prefer. I remember in the old days I'd have 4 floppies

someone set up an auto booting xcopy disk with a system-configuration files in devs: a few libs in libs: and perhaps a memory gathering command like add44k etc This does make xcopys display greyscale but hey, we don't need bells and whistles!

GO TO IT SOMEONE! heh

also, remember to install the disk so it boots

checklist:

format blank disk
install disk (if you don't it won't boot by itself)
makedir c s devs libs
copy xcopy (and anything needed by this program to c and libs if needed)
copy add44k to c
copy setpatch (probably optional)
copy a typical system-configuration file to devs
copy the odd system lib needed to libs (I can't remember which ones it's been AGES!)
ed s/statup-sequence

setpatch >NIL: (optional)
add44k
xcopy

press esc and then x

there ya go

compress upload to zone and then explain the other syntax regarding adf2disk etc

Last edited by Slayer; 06 March 2009 at 01:52.
Slayer is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 02:07   #8
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
If you would have used the time for making the disk instead of writing all that stuff Slayer, I guess you would have saved some precious moments of your life

I think the main problem for Stratman79 will be to get the stuff to his A600 in the first place Any ideas about that?
TCD is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 02:18   #9
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
If you would have used the time for making the disk instead of writing all that stuff Slayer, I guess you would have saved some precious moments of your life
I agree completely, trouble is I am at work

Jobs like this are for the enthusiastic scene worshipping fellowship organisational 24/7 action squad, not a cynical Amiga Elitest like myself who likes to drop bits of information and marvel at his hardware and generally do nothing else

I do go against my usual manner and do help occassionally. But I just can't forgive people who actually don't learn from ground zero. That is just utter utter madness.

In 1986 there was no internet, there was barely a bbs, we all had to learn the hardway, but incidently the best way.

Read the Manual, I've always done this. Even today I read the manual from front to back before putting in a new 360 game

Learn what you can THEN venture into the unknown
Slayer is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 02:21   #10
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 587
It seem's that Stratman79 then have to get EasyADF from AmigaKit.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 02:26   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer View Post
Jobs like this are for the enthusiastic scene worshipping fellowship organisational 24/7 action squad
Sounds like a good suggestion for a new User Group!
prowler is online now  
Old 06 March 2009, 02:28   #12
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
@Slayer
Some wise words my friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer
Jobs like this are for the enthusiastic scene worshipping fellowship organisational 24/7 action squad, not a cynical Amiga Elitest like myself who likes to drop bits of information and marvel at his hardware and generally do nothing else
I think I'll print that out poster size and pin on the wall of my living room
TCD is offline  
Old 06 March 2009, 09:03   #13
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratman79 View Post
... but how do I make backup copies of the games so that I don't damage the original game disks???
Dude, INTERNET is the place for backup copies !
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:15   #14
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
X-Copy is a program for serious disk imaging (i.e. copying the contents of a disk to file)
If only it could be so!!
I mean: I always wanted (before getting a semi-cracked Powercopy) a way to save X-Copy's read data to anything other than RAM...
Supamax is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:22   #15
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
If only it could be so!!
I mean: I always wanted (before getting a semi-cracked Powercopy) a way to save X-Copy's read data to anything other than RAM...
Hi Supamax,

You mean I have been misinformed? Tell me more...

prowler
prowler is online now  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:25   #16
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
You mean I have been misinformed? Tell me more...
Hi Peter ,
unless I'm really very tired (), X-Copy can "only" make disk-to-disk copies..
I'm not aware of a version capable of writing disk-images on some DEVices.
Supamax is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:30   #17
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Hi Peter ,
unless I'm really very tired (), X-Copy can "only" make disk-to-disk copies..
I'm not aware of a version capable of writing disk-images on some DEVices.
Ah I see. That's why Slayer mentioned the problem of available RAM. Now it makes sense! Thanks.

I've not really had much experience of copying tricky disks. I reckon I'll need a Powercopy tutorial before long as well.
prowler is online now  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:36   #18
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
I've not really had much experience of copying tricky disks.
Really? For me, X-Copy was a big friend back in the day!
My brother's nights are still cursed by nightmares about the "bong!" sound produced by X-Copy when it finished a copy .
Supamax is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:42   #19
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Really? For me, X-Copy was a big friend back in the day!
My brother's nights are still cursed by nightmares about the "bong!" sound produced by X-Copy when it finished a copy .
Same here X-Copy was just great for 'swapping' disks I remember many afternoons on which we copied loads of disks using it Luckily I had my own room or my brother would have killed me
TCD is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:46   #20
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Really? For me, X-Copy was a big friend back in the day!
My brother's nights are still cursed by nightmares about the "bong!" sound produced by X-Copy when it finished a copy .
Sounds like fun!

Seriously though, I'm going to need some hints about restoring those A-Max Powercopy dumps. I know I doesn't matter too much now, but I'd still like to try it. Trouble is, I haven't got a clue where to start. I think I have everything I need, though.

Can you help?
prowler is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Disc backups Gordon support.Hardware 1 07 August 2009 12:22
Make a new tooltype Jherek Carnelia support.Games 2 27 May 2007 21:14
how to make exoticons for OS 3.5 ? dlfrsilver request.Other 1 13 May 2007 18:17
How to make GoKu project.WHDLoad 2 09 September 2005 10:16
Backups Traquer New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 25 November 2002 23:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26331 seconds with 11 queries