English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 February 2009, 00:13   #1
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
E-UAE Emulation best method.

Hi guys,

Had a change of heart and sold all my amiga kit on flea bay. Going to build a uber Linux box with Ubuntu installed. Just curious was Amiga emulation is the best,most stable and easiest to set up.

Is it AROS with E-UAE running on top.

Is it E-UAE running in ubuntu

Or is possible dual boot into x-amiga and how easy is this to configure??

Want to still to use WHD, Amiga Sys 4 and Install Octamed and HD demos with some Personal Paint.

Whats the way to go guys???????

Im all ears!!!!!!!
Paradroid90 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 February 2009, 01:01   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradroid90 View Post
Hi guys,

Going to build a uber Linux box with Ubuntu installed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradroid90 View Post
Just curious was Amiga emulation is the best, most stable and easiest to set up.

Is it AROS with E-UAE running on top.

Is it E-UAE running in ubuntu

Or is possible dual boot into x-amiga and how easy is this to configure??

Want to still to use WHD, Amiga Sys 4 and Install Octamed and HD demos with some Personal Paint.

Whats the way to go guys???????

Im all ears!!!!!!!
Hi Paradroid,

In the first part of your post, it sounds like you've already made your choice.

But, seriously, of the three options you are considering, E-UAE on X-Amiga would be my choice.

There is no need for a fully-fledged Linux installation in order to run an Amiga emulator, and X-Amiga is a mini-Linux distribution with exactly that in mind. The X-Amiga website ( http://www.xamiga.net/ ) has all the downloads and guidance you will need.

Plus, E-UAE ( http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/index.html ) is always available in the latest version compiled for Linux/x86, whereas the AROS version lags behind somewhat.

I'm not an expert, but it seems like a clear choice to me.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 10 February 2009, 07:32   #3
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Cheers thanks for the help!!!

But can you still dual boot with Ubuntu 8.10???

I presume you can as im looking to use this machine as a server as well

Thanks for your help so far.
Paradroid90 is offline  
Old 10 February 2009, 22:26   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradroid90 View Post
Cheers thanks for the help!!!

But can you still dual boot with Ubuntu 8.10???

I presume you can as im looking to use this machine as a server as well

Thanks for your help so far.
Hi Paradroid,

Of course you can dual boot Ubuntu 8.10 and X-Amiga. It's just a question of how you wish to go about it.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 11 February 2009, 08:54   #5
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Sorry mate, my knowledge of dual booting PC's is very limited (IE never done it lol) What ways can you go about it ??????

I know im seeming a bit thick

Cheers
Paradroid90 is offline  
Old 11 February 2009, 09:13   #6
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hi Paradroid90,

have a look here : http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_l...lled_first.htm
Replace XP with X-Amiga and you should be able to do it
TCD is offline  
Old 11 February 2009, 21:40   #7
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,206
Hi Paradroid,

There is nothing wrong with the method suggested above by TheCyberDruid.

I personally use Partition Magic to switch the boot process between one active partition and another. In this way I can actually achieve quadruple-booting per hard disk.

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 12 February 2009, 09:10   #8
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Great stuff thanks guys.........May be back to you when i get the kit which ive ordered!!!!

Watch this space!!!!!!!!!!
Paradroid90 is offline  
Old 28 December 2011, 19:55   #9
mt12345
 
Posts: n/a
Where can I download x-amiga iso?
xamiga.net is down
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE with A1200 emulation on netbook liveevil support.FS-UAE 1 24 November 2012 23:07
Best method of running UAE on an Xbox? h0ffman Retrogaming General Discussion 7 06 January 2009 00:51
PPC Emulation in UAE Beakster support.WinUAE 9 15 March 2008 11:28
CD emulation using E-UAE and Hi-Toro dreamkatcha support.OtherUAE 0 08 October 2005 12:01
IDE fix and CD32 emulation on UAE!! ElectroBlaster support.WinUAE 4 27 March 2002 04:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.46935 seconds with 11 queries