English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2009, 16:31   #21
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
This is going from bad to worse.....

I flashed the BPPC with the flash that Thomas linked to. It did not help the CGX output though...

BUT

The 210mhz 603e (real 200mhz chip) after the flash is now listed as running at 175mhz
Anyone have a reason why? Can it be restored to 210mhz without moving the Surfacemount resistors/oscillators.

Also I am beginning to suspect the cable that came with the BVision. It is Male 15pin VGA to female 10pin IDC. Pinout is in the pic. I made up the numbering for the 10pin IDC, The pic assumes that the user is looking at the front of the connector.
Is it suitable?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DDNI cable.JPG
Views:	163
Size:	17.9 KB
ID:	20222  
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2009, 17:34   #22
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Should be an easy one to fix. Try "blizzppc060update 200 force" If the cable is original , it should only work one way between bppc and vga connector board.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 21:10   #23
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
The cable looks homemade.

The BPPC has an 040. Shouldn't I use BlizzPPC040update 200 force?
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 21:38   #24
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
yes
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 21:47   #25
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
OK did that. the flash process didnt goo through the stages. It read the floppy then wrote "Phase5 FlashTool V1.4" and returned to a dos prompt
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 22:07   #26
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
hmm best check if it does support the keywords "BlizzPPC040Update ?" If its the latest flash update it should work.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 22:11   #27
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
yes it supports blizzppc040update
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 22:38   #28
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
yes it supports blizzppc040update

I think you did not get him right. You should check whether the blizzppc040update program supports the keywords 200 and force, therefore you should enter blizzppc040update ? so that it prints its template.
thomas is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 22:49   #29
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
It seems that after the flash, the line "BPPCFIX Install" in my SS no longer terminates the PPC.Library. After running a WOS appllication and choosing to terminate the PPC.Library the 603e is reported by WhichAmiga as 210mhz, 60mhz busclock... odd
DDNI is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 08:22   #30
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
I think that BPPCfix needs a reboot to work. You probably used the ROM update reboot for that. But now that you disabled the ROM update, the reboot does not happen any more. Perhaps you run better if you enable the ROM update again and add the suggested skipromupdates exec.library to SetPatch. Or add the reboot keyword to BPPCfix.
thomas is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 10:14   #31
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
good points Thomas. I will try that, thanks.
DDNI is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 22:39   #32
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Ok so I decided to start again...

1. Install W3.1

2. Add CDROM support with ASIMCDFS

3. Install OS3.9 REBOOT

4. Boot into 3.1 and add CDROM support to os3.9 from OS3.9 CD REBOOT

5. Boot into os3.9

6. Updated 68k libs from Thomas' link above REBOOT

7. Added BPPCFix to C: and added "BPPCFix Install >NIL:" to SUp-Seq

8. Installed WarpUp4 and updated it to 5.1 REBOOT

9. Installed BB1 REBOOT

10. Installed BB2 - added SKIPROMUPDATES "exec.library" QUIET to SUp-Seq
REBOOT

11. Installed CGXV3 REBOOT

12. Updated CGXV3 to give BVision support REBOOT

13. Ran tests - Whichamiga, Showconfig, ShowCGXconfig, VoxelRace Window. All ok (Exec 40.10) BPPC 040 @ 25mhz 603e @ 210mhz found, BVision found.

14. Backed up OS3.9 install to spare partition

15. Waiting for BVision cable from AmigaKit.com


Thanks for the help so far...
DDNI is offline  
Old 10 February 2009, 00:28   #33
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
A couple of things too config now. When installing cgxv3 make sure to avoid installing ppc version.

Due to bppcfix use, some WarpOS settings should be changed as well. Set Terminator to 0 (off) and enable NoPatch.

Perhaps some tooltypes to add to BVision driver (I cant remember if the installer adds them) Bitmapcache=yes & Packed24=no
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 10 February 2009, 00:37   #34
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
I avoided using the ppc version. Will look at the other settings. Ta.
DDNI is offline  
Old 12 February 2009, 21:37   #35
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
IT LIVES!!!!!!!!!

All the hard work and patience seems to have paid off!
The BVision sparked into life with the cable from Amigakit!
So my new BPPC system is ALL OK!

BlizzardPPC 603e 210mhz 68040 25mhz
64MB RAM
BVision RTG card
Squirrel SCSI CDROM
IDE HDD

Happy days! Thanks to those of you that helped along the way.... Pics to follow this week end...
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magic WB icons on CGX 16 Bit stefcep2 support.Other 2 11 June 2011 12:32
CGX beta for Retina Z2 radzik request.Apps 3 24 December 2010 02:10
Warp3D Problems with CGX and CSPPC nujack support.Apps 8 16 June 2005 11:58
Picasso96 or CGX ??? keropi support.Apps 4 04 February 2005 12:56
CGX demos? Akira request.Demos 2 23 August 2002 16:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20146 seconds with 12 queries