English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 January 2009, 22:49   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Arrow NV1 PC accelerated games for Diamond Edge 3D

I just got this card, it can run some special accelerated versions of Panzer Dragoon, Nascar Racing, Virtua Fighter Remix and Virtua Cop...
It used the same engine as Saturn 3D engine, and SEGA ported those...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NV1

anyone had this card? I wanna try those games but info on them is quite rare!
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 January 2009, 23:01   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
I'll dig them out.

But without the joypad adapter backplane and some Sega Saturn pads (at least I *think* they are sega pads, they might be proprietary!) you cannot play them.



You'll need to install DOS/Win3.1 or maybe Windows9x to get them to work.

Last edited by alexh; 27 January 2009 at 23:10.
alexh is offline  
Old 27 January 2009, 23:04   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Not me, I remember that Diamond Edge card but I wanted to get support with competing DirectX graphics cards so I went with an S3 Virge GPU instead.

I thought that Descent looked great on one of these cards.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 27 January 2009, 23:08   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
You will be violently underwhelmed with these games and the quality of the NV1 card compared to even a Saturn.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 January 2009, 01:23   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
you have one alexh? how fortunate!!!
yes, I understand they could suck LOL but I just want to see them damnit!
that card uses *normal* Saturn pads indeed! I have the complete package but without the games... plus I was fooled at the normal-pc-joyport-adapter, when I looked at the card I was happy because I thought it was also a network card , then I saw the adapter
I intend to put it either in my p233mmx or k6II retro-pc's that have win98se.
I have been searching EVERYWHERE for those ports, I will make sure they get preserved for others.
keropi is offline  
Old 28 January 2009, 02:12   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
I'm looking...I cannot guarantee I will find them. I've got 10k+ discs here

I got mine when I was at Argonaut many years ago. I only kept it to steal the RAM off it and never got round to it!
alexh is offline  
Old 28 January 2009, 08:44   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
so alexh u got the 4MB version?
Mine is the EDGE 3D 3240 model, that is 3000 series. I wonder what is different from 2000 series... it has 2MB onboard and take a daughterboard with an extra 2.
If you do find them it will be awesome!

keropi is offline  
Old 28 January 2009, 11:07   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
You will notice that the RAM onboard is the same RAM you need to upgrade A600's

I think mine is a 2000 model as it has RAM sockets but I'd have to check.

Last edited by alexh; 28 January 2009 at 11:13.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 12:20   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
any luck finding the package alexh?
keropi is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 12:22   #10
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
To be honest, I never looked

I'll see what I can do this week but no promises.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 12:23   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I'll keep reminding you every 2 weeks...
keropi is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 09:18   #12
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
sooooo.... any luck finding anything alexh?

keropi is offline  
Old 28 February 2009, 19:37   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
awwww c'mon....
keropi is offline  
Old 28 February 2009, 19:40   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
I don't have them anymore... they're gone... soz

At some time over the last 11 years they have either been thrown out accidentally or put at the bottom of one of the 100's of boxes in my loft unlabelled which I am not going to open.

http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...+edge+3d"&aq=f

Last edited by alexh; 28 February 2009 at 19:46.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 February 2009, 20:21   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
thanks for looking alexh!

no way those are gfx produced real-time from one nv1 card... lol
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best games for accelerated Amigas desiv support.Games 36 18 August 2011 20:46
Who here plays games on the trailing edge of technology Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 30 29 April 2009 19:46
Xopa and accelerated Amigas Iznougoud support.Hardware 1 25 December 2008 03:17
EDGE Magazine's Top 100 Games Of All Time killergorilla Retrogaming General Discussion 54 16 July 2007 13:27
I need Diamond Fever soul request.Old Rare Games 8 04 February 2005 17:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32387 seconds with 11 queries