English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 April 2002, 09:00   #1
Toto
 
Posts: n/a
Question WinUAE & AmiCDFS

Hi everyone.

I can't manage to make AmiCDFS work whereas AmiCDROM, its ancestor, was working great (in AIAB).

After AmiCDFS installation, I've modified the CD0 dos file: I changed the name of the device (to uaescsi.device) and the ID (to 0).

It still doesn't work. I tried any option available: TD, OLDMODE, etc...

What the matter with it, or me ?

Anyone help would be greatly appreciated.
 
AdSense AdSense  




Old 17 April 2002, 12:40   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,558
IIRC I didn't get AmiCDFS to work, too. But does not matter for me because I'm using OS3.9's CacheCDFS which works great.
thomas is offline  
Old 17 April 2002, 12:44   #3
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
You donīt have to rename the device ! You will automatically have an uaescsi.device when the option in WinUAE is checked
RetroMan is offline  
Old 17 April 2002, 13:05   #4
Toto
 
Posts: n/a
WinUAE & AmiCDFS

Tirst, thank you for the answers.

To Retroman:
Well, the default device in AmiCDFS' CD0 is: "scsi.device".

So, I can't figure out how it could work when WinUAE scsi device is called "uaescsi.device".
Anyway, I tried "scsi.device" and it didn't work either

By the way, I'm using with WorkBench 3.1 from Cloanto Amiga Forever.

I'm gonna try with Cache CDFS: is it really better ?
But I'd really want to use AmiCDFS
 
Old 17 April 2002, 13:07   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
The uaescsi.device wonīt be there as a FILE .... WinUAE is creating one on the fly to use inside the emu, so it donīt have to be on the HD
RetroMan is offline  
Old 17 April 2002, 15:16   #6
Toto
 
Posts: n/a
Wink WinUAE & AmiCDFS

Ok, RetroMan, I got to explain you some things because I think I've been misunderstood:

I know that devices are present in MEMORY, not physically.
I never meant uaescsi.device was physically present on the HD. I'm not THAT dumb

You can enumerate them from the cli using "device" (if my memory is good) or using a tool like Snoopdos.

When I'm writing about a device in CD0, I was talking about the parameter wrote in the file CD0 in Dev/DosDrivers.

Yeah, there's a file called CD0 there, buddy
See you.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiCDFS Support Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 11 26 May 2012 20:11
How to change AmiCDFS icon? Leandro Jardim support.Apps 6 17 October 2011 08:34
AmiCDFS gurulala request.Apps 4 02 January 2006 18:29
AmiCDFS Graham Humphrey support.Apps 2 24 December 2005 11:38
AmiCDFS & AmiCDROM Mr Creosote support.Apps 6 28 October 2002 21:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12368 seconds with 11 queries