English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2009, 16:13   #1
Rocs9005
Registered User
Rocs9005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 24
A500+ internal battery, Rom sharer.

Hi

Hopefully a quick question!
I have 4 Amigas, A500, A500+ and 2 A1200s.
I guess round here that makes me a beginner
The A500+ (Rev 8A board, with a Zytec 1MB chip ram expansion board) was an 18th birthday pressie from my parents, so I'm fairly attached to it.
I fired it up yesterday, and it's still working beautifully.
I keep reading comments about leaking internal batteries killing various Amigas, so was wondering... should I remove the battery? It's bound to be flat by now anyway.
Can I chop it off at the connectors? Not really sure I want to take a soldering iron near my A500+!

My A500+ has a "Phoenix Rom Sharer 1.0" in it, which says D.S.H Electronics 91 on it. It's a kickstart switcher with a 1.3 Kickstart Rom in the 2nd slot. It has a cable with a switch on the end for selecting which Kickstart ROM to use. Anyone seen this model before? Didn't find it on BBoAH, and a quick google didnt reveal anything much. Perhaps next time I take the lid off, I should take some pics.

Thanks,

Rocs
Rocs9005 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 January 2009, 16:31   #2
davideo
Amiga Tomcat
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,075
@Rocs9005

Yes you should remove the battery. In a 500+ this is only used to maintain the time while your Miggy is turned off.

Just take care if you go the side snipper route. Also if the battery has leaked make sure you clean all the gunk off the motherboard.

Also pictures would help with your Rom switcher.

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 16:35   #3
Rocs9005
Registered User
Rocs9005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Thanks for the reply.
No visible sign of battery leakage yet, but I'll clean the area anyway.

Rocs
Rocs9005 is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 17:31   #4
davideo
Amiga Tomcat
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,075
If you feel adventurous you could always fit a replacement non leakable battery.

Have a look at the thread I started on the subject http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=35291

It's not as difficult as you may be thinking. You just need a steady hand and a good soldering iron

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 09:32   #5
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocs9005 View Post
No visible sign of battery leakage yet
Really? Well take the opportunity & remove it NOW to preserve your prized Miggy!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 12:10   #6
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,571
The 500+ battery seems to be not too bad when it comes to leaking - at least visibly! I have 2 boards, both look good, however both don't recognise the RTC...
chiark is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 17:25   #7
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
They'll soon leak Nick, get rid of them
DoogUK is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 19:14   #8
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,571
They're both already off, and were within hours of receiving the machines . Just an observation that the (a500+) batteries don't seem to go quite as catastrophically as 2000, 3000 or 4000 ones.
chiark is offline  
Old 24 January 2009, 03:17   #9
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 48
Posts: 3,479
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiark View Post
They're both already off, and were within hours of receiving the machines . Just an observation that the (a500+) batteries don't seem to go quite as catastrophically as 2000, 3000 or 4000 ones.
Oh, yeah?

That's mine A500+, BTW.
rkauer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.0 ROMS internal but 1.3 ROM in HDD egr project.ClassicWB 2 08 March 2012 22:54
Wanted: 2x internal floppy A500, 1x internal floppy A1000, A500 512kb fastmem high-5 MarketPlace 2 08 January 2010 22:48
A500+ battery alexh Hardware pics 16 29 September 2009 19:21
Battery A500+ Torch500+ support.Hardware 5 26 September 2007 18:05
Am After 3 Items (For Internal CD-ROM) CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 0 25 October 2006 17:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13539 seconds with 11 queries