English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2009, 22:41   #1
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,979
Attn: those of you with A-Card SCSI>IDE

Jumper settings...


JP1 = IDE1
JP4 = Terminator Power ? (should that be on or off?)
JP2 = Terminator ? (should that be enabled or disabled?)

I'll be taking the onboard molex power and using it on the A-Cards power supply input.... does it need it though with such a low power device like a CF card?

Many thanks!
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2009, 22:54   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,682
Hi Paul,

Don't go away. I can help you with this. I'm just digging out the manual for my ACARD SCSIDE bridge. I'll be back shortly...
prowler is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:09   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,682
OK Paul,

Before we start, here is a pic of my ACARD AEC-7720 SCSIDE bridge adapter.



There are three jumpers shown at the bottom left (JP1). These are the SCSI ID jumpers. JP4 is just to the left of the floppy-drive-type power input socket and this is the Termination Power jumper. JP2 is just to the left of the 50-pin SCSI connector and is the Terminator Enable/Disable jumper.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:12   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
Jumper settings...


JP1 = IDE1
JP4 = Terminator Power ? (should that be on or off?)
JP2 = Terminator ? (should that be enabled or disabled?)

I'll be taking the onboard molex power and using it on the A-Cards power supply input.... does it need it though with such a low power device like a CF card?
I'm a little confused by your reference to "JP1 = IDE1" above, and your mention of power supply inputs. Could you elaborate, please?
prowler is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:19   #5
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,979
Ah mis-type there! I meant ID1 Mine's exactly the same as yours

The power supply inputs - referring to the floppy type power connector... do those need to be hooked up? If so, do the pins correspond to 'standard' floppy power connector type wiring?

Thanks
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:29   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
Ah mis-type there! I meant ID1 Mine's exactly the same as yours

The power supply inputs - referring to the floppy type power connector... do those need to be hooked up? If so, do the pins correspond to 'standard' floppy power connector type wiring?

Thanks
Thanks for your quick reply, Paul, and if yours is the same as mine then that makes things very easy indeed.

First, the power supply connector on the AEC-7720U pcb will take a standard floppy drive power connector from your PSU, and second, the CF card adapter you are using will require a separate supply or it will not be detected on the IDE bus.

Do you have the user's manual that comes with the AEC-7720U?

If not, I'll talk you through the configuration now and supply you with a copy of mine when I have time to scan it.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:33   #7
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,979
Nope, I never got sent a manual with mine so a talk through would be great!

I have a 3.5" IDE > 2.5" convertor coming off the A-Card which then goes to the CF adapter - on the convertor it has its own power input line so that's sorted

Thanks again
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:37   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,223
http://dl.acard.com/manual/english/aec-7720u&uw.pdf
  • JP1 - SCSI ID Switch connector (3 Jumpers)
  • JP2 - Terminator Enable / Disable
  • JP3 - Activity LED
  • JP4 – Terminator power supply switch, default is ON.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACard
Terminator Enable / Disable. Generally, when your device is at the end of the SCSI bus cable or there is only one device on this cable, you should set the terminator as enable. The default value is enable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACard
Terminator Power. Default setting is on. However, you can turn it on or off depends on different applications.

Last edited by alexh; 13 January 2009 at 23:45.
alexh is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:44   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,682
OK Paul, quick talk through:

JP1 - SCSI ID:
This consists of a block of three jumpers which can be used to set the ID number the SCSI device (in this case the CF card via the adapters) will present to the SCSI controller. The number is in the range 0-7 and the jumpers have values 4, 2 and 1 counting from the left on the above picture.

I'm going to have to post this info in several parts to prevent being logged-off and losing it. So if this is OK so far, just give a quick reply to say yes or ask a question if you have one instead...
prowler is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 23:48   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
when using the 7720UW adapter with my csppc, I have the power plugged and termination enabled.
keropi is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 00:12   #11
Paul_s
Stuck in 1985

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 36
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
OK Paul, quick talk through:

JP1 - SCSI ID:
This consists of a block of three jumpers which can be used to set the ID number the SCSI device (in this case the CF card via the adapters) will present to the SCSI controller. The number is in the range 0-7 and the jumpers have values 4, 2 and 1 counting from the left on the above picture.

I'm going to have to post this info in several parts to prevent being logged-off and losing it. So if this is OK so far, just give a quick reply to say yes or ask a question if you have one instead...
that's great. Thanks too Alex for the manual - some bedtime reading will ensue

I think everything is answered but if you want to continue with the notes prowler do feel free as I'm sure it'll help others who have this card
Paul_s is offline  
Old 14 January 2009, 00:12   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 9,682
Well, I guess my help won't be needed any more here.

But you might just care to have a look at these related threads:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=41108
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=41425

prowler

Well, Paul, looks like we posted at the same time! But I think a glance at the above threads should suffice.
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help. Accelerator card breaks startup-sequence scsi.device (CF Card)? ibsimpson Hardware mods 1 09 May 2012 17:12
A600: CF in IDE, SRAM card in PCMCIA... how to add a 'to PC transfer card'? Photon support.Hardware 9 15 January 2011 19:17
IDE SCSI Bridge with CF Card Adapter for Video Toaster Flyer crazyegg support.Hardware 48 16 December 2009 09:18
HELP! CD to IDE Through SCSI to IDE (IDSC21-E) ON A2091 kjmann14 support.Hardware 1 04 May 2009 08:54
SCSI-IDE bridge + IDE to CF adapter - How can I make a backup? Tuffy New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 02 April 2008 22:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15630 seconds with 11 queries