English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2002, 21:20   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
WinUAE 0.8.21R3 released

Report all vsync-mode comments and compatibility problems.. (but remember to read readme.txt first!)

http://www.winuae.net/
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 April 2002, 22:41   #2
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Cool

Nice to see things moving forward Toni, keep up the good work.

Haven't tried it yet, and I will of course report any bugs here
Ian is offline  
Old 13 April 2002, 23:05   #3
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Holy crap

HUGE slowdown in this version.

With none of the new vsync options enabled using a config from 0.8.21 r2, The Nine Fingers demo is running at a solid 10 FPS whilst loading.

It runs at full speed using the same config in r2.
Ian is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 00:01   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Just booted my workbench setup with it. It works like a charm, well done Toni
 
Old 14 April 2002, 00:12   #5
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm Ian is right. I just tried the demo "Big Time Sensuality". The sound is skippy unlike previous versions. I know I told you R2s sound was not good previously but I had solved that by increasing the sound buffer, now this does not help either. Using the same config, this demo runs better with R2.
 
Old 14 April 2002, 00:20   #6
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Specs

P4 1.3ghz
Geforce 2 MX400

ouch, big time slowdown, adjusting the sound buffer makes no difference, vsync and refresh rates not available at all and first 2 times i ran it it crashed until i did the detect 16-bit pixel format again
Belgarath is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 07:52   #7
ethylene
Registered User
ethylene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to ethylene Send a message via AIM to ethylene Send a message via MSN to ethylene Send a message via Yahoo to ethylene
Just tried 0.8.21R3...

Doesn't allow me to set refresh rate or enable vsync. Running with previous config (from 0.8.21R1):

720x576, 16-bit, 60Hz (screen refresh actually 50Hz, though)
Full-Screen
Line mode Doubled

Using this same config with 0.8.21R1, I can get vsync just by enabling it through DirectX. It works very well when the screen refresh is set to 50Hz through a utility called Powerstrip. However, after a period of time, the sound always begins to fall out of sync or something, and won't recover until you enter/exit the GUI. So, I just run 0.8.21R1 at 50Hz with DirectX vsync off, and I get smooth scrolling and sound, but with occasional tearing. Good enough for me!

I tried the same setup with 0.8.21R3, but it didn't perform as well. I tried disabling Powerstrip and restarting, but no. I don't want to mess with my DirectX settings, because I just reinstalled my OS last week and my PC's in that great, prime, virgin state, you know?

And, all of the above is true at 60Hz/720x480/NTSC settings, too.
ethylene is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 07:59   #8
ethylene
Registered User
ethylene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to ethylene Send a message via AIM to ethylene Send a message via MSN to ethylene Send a message via Yahoo to ethylene
Sorry, the following info would probably help, too:

PIII 550@616MHz
440BX
256MB CAS2.0 SDRAM
Geforce 256 32MB DDR (Detonator v.4.13.01.2832)
AWE64 Gold ISA

And, the 'tearing' I mentioned is just screen tearing, the sound is fine.

Hey, another thing: When I play with my old songs in Deluxe Music, I can get WinUAE to send MIDI to my AWE64's synth, but not out of the PC's serial port to my Roland gear, which I originally used when writing the songs. Both of these devices are selectable in other Windows applications and they both work there...

But first things first though, right Toni?
ethylene is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 08:53   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Anybody without new sound and slowdown problems?

Only one beta tester had slowdown problem, but unfortunately report came too late... I think I'll release public beta soon that hopefully fixes this problem (If I find the problem, everything works perfectly here as usual..)

This is shot in the dark, but does it help if you physically remove all joystick(s)?

Sound code isn't changed between R2 and R3. Enabling Vsync changes timing, but without vsync everything should be same.

DirectX vsync must be enabled or winuae vsync won't work. (I forgot to document this)

btw: Remember to report operating system too. I have heard that (some? all?) W9x Nvidia drivers don't support refresh rate selection but w2k/xp drives do.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 09:39   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Argh. stupid me. WinUAE tried to read joysticks and mice too many times per frame...

Try following updated executable. I'll add link to winuae.net download page later today (if this update really fixes slowdown problems)

http://www.winuae.net/files/winuae0821r3update.zip
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 11:12   #11
ethylene
Registered User
ethylene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 87
Send a message via ICQ to ethylene Send a message via AIM to ethylene Send a message via MSN to ethylene Send a message via Yahoo to ethylene
I just spent about twenty minutes tooling with the new executable...

First I reinstalled 0.8.21R3 and copied the new executable over that (I had already reverted to 0.8.21R1).

I started with my usual PAL A500 config. I watched the cracktro scroller (Backlash) for Alien Breed 92SE. Just as with the earlier 0.8.21R3, it didn't scroll as smoothly as 0.8.21R1.

I tried altering the PAL A500 config. Tried using different fullscreen modes to see if they would let me use VSYNC, but none did. I'm not a very good debugger, but I tried turning things like Immediate Blits on and off, and changing the sound buffering. None of this seemed to affect the choppiness in a positive manner.

So, I went into the nVidia driver options and changed the VSYNC settings there to Always On, and to Auto Select when Always On didn't help the smoothness. Neither one helped.

Finally, I tried unselecting my gamepad from within WinUAE (I know you wanted a physical disconnect, Toni), but this didn't help either.

Operating system is Windows 98 with all current updates. I have no options in my nVidia drivers to change system-wide refresh rates. I have to either edit the registry keys for the resolutions for which I want to set the refresh rates, or use a third-party utility like Powerstrip.

In 0.8.21R1 it was possible to get a VERY nice VSYNC by manually editing the registry to include "RefreshRate" "50" string in the "720,576" key under the "16" "MODES", and then setting DirectX's VSYNC setting to Always On. I don't know if these manual settings are 'fighting' with the new 0.8.21R3 in my case, or what...

I know you're working hard, Toni, and thank you very much. Good luck!
ethylene is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 15:49   #12
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
The update fixes it for me Toni, but it might not fix it for everybody.

Anyone with a computer slower than an Athlon XP1800+ checked it??
Ian is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 16:01   #13
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
The sound of the demo is significantly better now, but it's not as good as R2. I'm always using that demo because WinUAE cannot properly emulate some parts of it.
 
Old 14 April 2002, 16:39   #14
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
It is a tiny bit slower when I tried State of the Art and hiccuped in a couple of places, but is still pretty good!

With Technological Death, there were no sound break ups, but I have noticed a bug with centring in 640x480 with correct aspect
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tdem.gif
Views:	782
Size:	3.4 KB
ID:	2182  
Paul is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 16:40   #15
cray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by Ian

Anyone with a computer slower than an Athlon XP1800+ checked it??
Yep.
The fix works fine for me, too, no slowdowns as i can tell yet.
The music is fine, although i think it was better in R2.

My specs:
Athlon 900
Windows XP
SB Live
256 MB Ram
GF 2 MX 32 MB
cray is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 16:42   #16
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I have just noticed that when closing Winuae I get a blank button on the task bar (see pic)

I have Windows 98SE, AMD 1000Mhz, 1GB Ram, 80 Gb HD, SB Live 5.1, ATI 128 Ultra 32MB card.

I have only tried it with Ians OCS 1.3 config so far
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	startbar.gif
Views:	779
Size:	2.1 KB
ID:	2183  
Paul is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 16:56   #17
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Just tried switchback AGA Demo and is a lot slower than r2 and the sound breaks up.

What is VSysc for? as it is grayed out. Also What is the drop down box with only default in it for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winuaedisplay.gif
Views:	755
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	2184  
Paul is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 17:56   #18
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 517
A couple of oddites..

When I ran the new version for the first time it wanted to detect the 16bit Pixel format, I said yes and then WinUAE crashed?

If I select no WinUAE runs fine, and the strange thing is that if I choose to detect the 16 bit by the checker in the display menu then it works fine??

The other odd one is that I can't use the Vsync, I read the readme and Toni lists a GF2 and drivers version 27.32. Mine is a GF3 and the latest 28.?? drivers from Nvidia.

I'm running it under Win98SE, its a Elsa Gladiac 920 GF3, a P4 1700 and an SB 5.1...Oh, also DiecctX 8.1 is on the machine..

Just seems weird I can't Vsync??

Removed the configs..no joy?

I'd have thought the card would support the needed settings..Maybe not??
Mclane is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 18:25   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Unfortunately it seems only W2K or WXP (maybe Windows ME too?) supports directdraw refresh rate selection. (stupid MS..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 April 2002, 18:48   #20
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
Unfortunately it seems only W2K or WXP (maybe Windows ME too?) supports directdraw refresh rate selection. (stupid MS..)
There seems to be no end that MS will stoop to to be awkward ;-)

Cheers Toni
Mclane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.2.0 released Toni Wilen News 23 04 July 2010 09:56
WinUAE 2.1.0 released Toni Wilen News 46 22 May 2010 10:52
WinUAE 1.5 released Toni Wilen News 48 29 June 2008 12:28
WinUAE 1.31 Released! Avanze News 14 16 August 2006 16:55
WinUAE v0.8.21R3 on Win-DOHS 2000 SilvrDrgn support.WinUAE 2 21 May 2002 01:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31335 seconds with 12 queries