English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2008, 16:03   #1
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
Who's tried AROS?

Play around with AROS from time to time and was just wondering how many people are familiar with it?

What is it?

The AROS Research Operating System is a lightweight, efficient and flexible desktop operating system, designed to help you make the most of your computer. It's an independent, portable and free project, aiming at being compatible with AmigaOS 3.1 at the API level (like Wine, unlike UAE), while improving on it in many areas. The source code is available under an open source license, which allows anyone to freely improve upon it.

Couple of videos..
[ Show youtube player ] - demo
[ Show youtube player ] - booting

Download..
http://vmwaros.blogspot.com/ There is a LiveDVD for booting and installing native on X86 and also VirtualMachine version.
mihcael is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 December 2008, 19:40   #2
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 864
Unfortunately my laptop (486 DX/2 50mhz with 24mb RAM) isn't enough to run it, so I don't. Which is a shame, as my A1200 is way underpowered compared to that, and it runs 3.1 no problems

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 30 December 2008, 21:54   #3
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
OOH AROS, Just a Little Bit...

...If the 'Amiga' has any remaining pretensions to being more than a retro-box (and what's wrong with that?) then AROS is the only way IMO.

Yes, I rather like AROS, but it's still a bit raw for anything more than 'testing'...

...still, v1.0 is a big step...

...I genuinely believe there's room for a 'geek-OS' that isn't as heavyweight as the likes of *NIX - Why not a version of our favourite system..?

Last edited by Charlie; 30 December 2008 at 22:51.
Charlie is offline  
Old 30 December 2008, 23:15   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Download..
http://vmwaros.blogspot.com/ There is a LiveDVD for booting and installing native on X86 and also VirtualMachine version.
Thanks for the link, mihcael!

Downloading Live DVD now ...

Download page says uncompressed image size is 900MB so a DVD is needed, but QEMU VM is included to test this CD image.

Haven't got a DVD burner If QEMU VM won't let me mount the image, then I'll have to get one!
prowler is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 01:30   #5
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Thanks for the link, mihcael!

Downloading Live DVD now ...

Download page says uncompressed image size is 900MB so a DVD is needed, but QEMU VM is included to test this CD image.

Haven't got a DVD burner If QEMU VM won't let me mount the image, then I'll have to get one!
Yeah, id rather see all the Development tools left out to keep the size under a CD but that the way it is!
mihcael is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 01:44   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Yeah, id rather see all the Development tools left out to keep the size under a CD but that the way it is!
Download complete. If it's possible to remove the Development tools from the ISO to get it to fit on to a CD, I might just do that for the time being. But I'll only be putting off the inevitable. I suppose I'll have to get a DVD burner at some stage. VmwAROS would be as good a reason as any.

Have you tried WinAROS?
http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/WinAros.php

I loaded it up once and it looked great, but I didn't figure out how to make much use of it. It's certainly very easy to install and remove. The trouble with any version of AROS I have tried is the difficulty of importing and exporting files in and out of the AROS environment. I suppose it's got to be easier than the early days with those boot disks!

I would like to enter into a more detailed discussion about this when I've had a chance to try out a few things. I'll speak to you later, I'm sure.

prowler


prowler is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 10:58   #7
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
...

Have you tried WinAROS?
http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/WinAros.php

I loaded it up once and it looked great, but I didn't figure out how to make much use of it. It's certainly very easy to install and remove. The trouble with any version of AROS I have tried is the difficulty of importing and exporting files in and out of the AROS environment. I suppose it's got to be easier than the early days with those boot disks!

I would like to enter into a more detailed discussion about this when I've had a chance to try out a few things. I'll speak to you later, I'm sure.

prowler


I have tried WinAROS but no longer see the need with vmwaros!

Transfering files is a pain in native, you need to have a supported NIC so you can use FTP to easily transfer files!

AROS should have Mass storage support soon, which will make things a breeze!
mihcael is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 12:18   #8
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
i tryed some years ago the booting-from-CD version of Aros and loved it. fast, pixel perfect (relatively to your perfect mental image of Workbench) and cool.

problem was that what could i do with it? if it could be installed easily on a partition with a better compatibility to old amiga stuff, well it would be my workbench OS of choice.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 13:15   #9
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
AROS is getting there but its a bit like using Workbench 1.3 sometimes
As theres not realy any apps I did think about doing a live CD full on Classic Amiga Apps and Games
Heres my last AROS setup its abit out of date
http://eab.abime.net/album.php?albumid=92&pictureid=514
Taken in VirtualPC


:HAPPY NEW YEAR ALL
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 13:48   #10
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
AROS is getting there but its a bit like using Workbench 1.3 sometimes
As theres not realy any apps I did think about doing a live CD full on Classic Amiga Apps and Games
is that Gods game playin in UAE under AROS?
btw, i've tryed now the VMware version and it is not very stable or useable, it reminds me of AIAB somehow...
Marcuz is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 14:11   #11
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana View Post
is that Gods game playin in UAE under AROS?
btw, i've tryed now the VMware version and it is not very stable or useable, it reminds me of AIAB somehow...
Yep luckily E-Uae is one of the most stable apps on AROS but I agree a lot of native apps are buggy.

But it does have the feel of workbench you could even give it a workbench 1.3 theme as it supports .info files.

Fill it with lots of classic amiga ssoftware - could be quite good - install it on all the computers at work
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 14:28   #12
onkelarie
Registered User

onkelarie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Spijkenisse / the Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 444
I've played around with Aros as well for quite some time and I'm following the progress of its development with great interest as well.

The ability to use E-UAE within Aros is a *big* plus of course. As for the native applications, I'm sure they'll get more stable as well.

A nice youtube movie in that respect is:

[ Show youtube player ]
onkelarie is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 15:39   #13
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
yeah... BloodWych should be dragged to make standalone "ClassicAROS" setups!
Marcuz is offline  
Old 01 January 2009, 18:10   #14
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Ive build one machine (P4, still needs dvd-rom) from spares, only for tinkering with aros. now we have mplayer in aros, and waiting for owb browser. Its getting better and better.

EDIT: Thanks to Predseda who kindly donated me Toshiba dvd-rom im installing it now

Last edited by Chain; 02 January 2009 at 17:06.
Chain is offline  
Old 05 January 2009, 04:43   #15
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
another youtube by clusteruk [ Show youtube player ]

and also some cool news from michal schulz, USB Mass Storage - status update
mihcael is offline  
Old 12 January 2009, 10:34   #16
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
More, Cooler news!!!

This time from Stanislaw Szymczyk, regarding his OWB port for AROS.
mihcael is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 02:18   #17
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
We use it and like it.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 02:24   #18
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
AROS is getting there but its a bit like using Workbench 1.3 sometimes
As theres not realy any apps I did think about doing a live CD full on Classic Amiga Apps and Games
Hi Boo Boo,

I've found two E-UAE live CD images which I downloaded some time ago from a website that no longer exists. I could make them available to you for study if you still wish to pursue this idea.

prowler

Last edited by prowler; 13 January 2009 at 02:30.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 04:44   #19
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Hi Boo Boo,

I've found two E-UAE live CD images which I downloaded some time ago from a website that no longer exists. I could make them available to you for study if you still wish to pursue this idea.

prowler
No its cool prowler I havent looked at Aros since you sorted me out with E-Uae 0.27 what about you?
I made a few Live CDs -clones of my above setup these were fine for running Amiga games but for Classic apps I wanted to use FileSystem2 wich wasnt working.
Any ideas for themes?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 13 January 2009, 10:26   #20
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Everytime I try it, I found it does not support any of the audio card I have...
MazinKaesar is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Video of my Aros 68k distribution "Aros Vision" OlafSch Amiga scene 26 16 February 2016 12:16
using AROS in WinUAE pucci support.WinUAE 1 06 September 2011 21:33
aros, some questions.... turrican3 support.Other 3 13 May 2011 13:13
AROS as alternate OS whitegiant89 Amiga scene 14 12 May 2011 20:54
Aros Jimbo Retrogaming General Discussion 0 17 May 2010 15:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28141 seconds with 11 queries