English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2002, 04:20   #1
kemppe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Braas / Sweden
Age: 34
Posts: 33
Send a message via ICQ to kemppe
Unhappy New icons problem

I downloaded Newicons46 from http://www.amiganet.org/NewIcons/

when i extract it i get the following message:

1 NewIcons46.lha: Cannot create NewIconsV4\Icons\Devs\DOSDrivers\DF0\
2 NewIcons46.lha: Cannot create NewIconsV4\Icons\Devs\DOSDrivers\DF1\
3 NewIcons46.lha: Cannot create NewIconsV4\Icons\Devs\DOSDrivers\DF2\
4 NewIcons46.lha: Cannot create NewIconsV4\Icons\Expansion\

and it's goes on all the way too 58.

But anyway, when i start winuae and go to the directory i find the installation file for Newicons and there is no problem opening it, but then i get this message that i need classact2.

The thing is that i do have it and it works fine, so why can't i install it??

Hope anyone can understand my problem and help me out
kemppe is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 April 2002, 12:41   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Use Amiga LhA to extract the archives.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 22:00   #3
wlcina
Registered User
wlcina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 568
I am trying to install newicons too, but it want classact2, I found just demo on the aminet, and its not enough to run newicons, anyone know how to install newicons other way ?
(classact2 homepage as showing on newicons installer doesnt work of course :-( )
wlcina is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 22:06   #4
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Just put the 'newicon.library' in libs of your system partition. That's enough
TCD is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 22:11   #5
wlcina
Registered User
wlcina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 568
Ah and is there difference in libraries ? in newicons install are subfolder HE, LE and ME, and each contains one newicon.library file, but different size
wlcina is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 22:18   #6
wlcina
Registered User
wlcina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 568
Not working :-(
i found newicons homepage http://www.amiganet.org/NewIcons/, and there is the same link to http://www.finale-dev.com/download.html - not working
wlcina is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 22:25   #7
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,963
ClassAct is only needed for the newicons preference program. Newicons itself doesn't need it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlcina View Post
anyone know how to install newicons other way ?
Yes:

1. Unpack the the NewIcons4.6 archive.
2. Go to the libs directory in the unpacked archive. You'll see three directories here: HE, LO and ME. These stand for high end, low end and middle end, and in each is the newicon.library. Go with low end for low end Amigas, high end for high end Amigas and WinUae. Copy the library of choice to SYS:Libs/
3. Go to c in the newicons archive and copy newicons to SYS:C/
4. Add this line: Run <NIL: >NIL: c:NewIcons to SYS:S/startup-sequence (before loadwb) or SYS:S/user-startup
5. If you want a newicons prefs program, then you can use this one, which doesn't require ClassAct (or anything else): NIPrefs-GT. It uses gadtools, which is part of the OS.

This should work, and if it doesn't, it's probably because of some typo. Let me know. Also, this installs the software only, it doesn't install the icons.
Thorham is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 22:48   #8
wlcina
Registered User
wlcina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 568
I added

Run <NIL: >NIL: c:NewIcons

to startup-sequence, but after restar it does stops with error-message unknown command, failed returncode 10
I was able to load wb, by loadwb

this is my startup sequence:

; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 40.2 (25.2.93)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

C:SetPatch QUIET

C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVSOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
EndIF

C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
Execute T:M
Celete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

Run <NIL: >NIL: c:NewIcons

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
wlcina is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 22:59   #9
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,963
Everything looks fine here. Did you unarchive the Newicons archive under the Amiga environment or using Windows? Doing it under windows might trash the file attributes, setting executables to a non-executable status. If this is the case, then you can try this:

Go to the CLI.
Type (the rwed thing stands for read write execute delete):
protect sys:c/newicons +rwed
protect sys:libs/newicon.library +rwed

If these commands fail, then you've copied the needed files to the wrong place (double check this).
Thorham is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 23:10   #10
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Sorry, totally forgot the program in C and putting it in the startup-sequence Just follow Thorham's instructions and you should have it running.
TCD is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 23:22   #11
wlcina
Registered User
wlcina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 568
both commands works greatly , I found the problem I (I am LLL : Lame Lazy Looser, I used to edit startup-sequence in windows ) but now is everything ok

edit:
Now I can see fullcolor icons for my games, but they are stretched (I think their height is twice than width), I will try to use another resolution, maybe it will help (i am in PAL-High Res).
wlcina is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 23:33   #12
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlcina View Post
both commands works greatly , I found the problem I (I am LLL : Lame Lazy Looser, I used to edit startup-sequence in windows ) but now is everything ok
Yes, that will screw things up Don't worry about it, though. AOS3 comes with Ed and Emacs. Ed just plain sucks, and Emacs is hard to use. Try to get CygnusEd for the Amiga somewhere.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlcina View Post
edit:
Now I can see fullcolor icons for my games, but they are stretched (I think their height is twice than width), I will try to use another resolution, maybe it will help (i am in PAL-High Res).
Yep, they're twice as high. Use Hires interlace instead of just the standard Hires (say, 640x512) and they'll look the way they're supposed to.
Thorham is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 23:39   #13
wlcina
Registered User
wlcina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 568
Thanks, now I have it all Ty for nice a great help, it make me very happy, when I am back in this community that PPL here are willing to help !

BTW, I am preparing a xmass present to my bro (which is technical antitalent, but I just found that I am too ;-) ) - nice game collection in winuae + competition pro joystick
wlcina is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 23:46   #14
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlcina View Post
Thanks, now I have it all Ty for nice a great help, it make me very happy, when I am back in this community that PPL here are willing to help !
Happy to help
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlcina View Post
BTW, I am preparing a xmass present to my bro (which is technical antitalent, but I just found that I am too ;-) ) - nice game collection in winuae + competition pro joystick
Sounds nice Hope he enjoys it
Thorham is offline  
Old 16 December 2009, 08:15   #15
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlcina View Post
I am trying to install newicons too, but it want classact2, I found just demo on the aminet, and its not enough to run newicons

That's not true. The Demo archive on Aminet is exactly what is needed. There is no resctriction. The registration only gets you access to the developer information. As a normal user you don't need to register.
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 3.5 icons on 3.1 & WHDLoad hangs when displaying icons PoulpSquad support.WinUAE 22 14 September 2012 00:57
OS 3.9 Icons mixed with old icons Toddles support.Hardware 0 14 February 2010 00:56
Problem making ham8 icons. Thorham support.Apps 0 12 March 2008 22:30
Icons problem tootoid support.Apps 5 25 April 2007 06:58
Anyone Have Any Icons? MSC Amiga scene 4 04 September 2004 22:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21572 seconds with 11 queries