English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 October 2009, 03:46   #61
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Made from scratch hardware and software, its a step foward in new Classic Amiga technology.
A500s are dead cheap and they still work. Nice that it's open source/hardware, but I wouldn't call it a step forward. Like you said it's a gadget.
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 October 2009, 03:59   #62
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Its not cheap and its not Classic must be Witchcraft
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 04:27   #63
Kitty
Cant rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
lol, agreed its not cheap but its interesting witchcraft, there be demons in my Minimig
Kitty is offline  
Old 01 October 2009, 10:52   #64
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
people who know how to program with FPGA correctly could improve the core without the help of the originally developers. There are other Minimig owners who have already made there own firmware with improvments.
The original developer has not produced any updates since it was first released. The only two active coders (who are improving the core) started out as just MiniMig owners. But there has not been a rush / influx of developers.

The lacks of alternative cores for the v1.1 MiniMig PCB is testament to this. The cores are there, they are easy to port, they just need a lot of hard work on the PIC side of things.

Just shows how dedicated the original developer was to learn all the skills he needed to produce the original. It must have taken weeks to write the PIC code alone.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 00:58   #65
Brosol
Brosol
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 85
Wow a modded Minimig Core with AGA features....its still pretty cool!

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Brosol; 22 February 2010 at 18:35.
Brosol is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 01:19   #66
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
YaqubeYou can have 50mb Chip Ram
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 03:05   #67
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brosol View Post
Wow Minimig AGA....pretty cool!

[ Show youtube player ]
As pointed out in other thread, this aint on a minimig.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 10:39   #68
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
"Putting Amiga away for a Minimig?"

Definitively not. The Amiga is a real classic. Many memories are coming up. Minimig and WinUAE are very (!) nice to use that old software. But it is not the same. Yes, Iam old-fashioned and emotional
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 11:32   #69
Jonathan Drain
YARDS NEED MORE BYTANIUM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sector K240
Posts: 338
The minimig's pretty awesome, though like a lot of awesome computer hardware lately I can't think what I'd ever use it for.
Jonathan Drain is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:03   #70
clueless
Guessing my way round
clueless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England
Posts: 159
I know what you mean. Dont understand why you would want one as well as your original amigas. Sure, instead of, but even then its still not at the stage where it does everything you want it to.
clueless is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:08   #71
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Personally I cannot see the point of it when there is WinUAE. If I couldn't have the real thing, I'd rather have WinUAE running on a pc of which I could use for other things too.

I can only see this Minimig as a hardware emulated Amiga.
seuden is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:09   #72
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Hopefuly in time make a good replacement for ageing dying classic hardware.
And of-course smooth scrolling
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:16   #73
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
Personally I cannot see the point of it when there is WinUAE. If I couldn't have the real thing, I'd rather have WinUAE running on a pc of which I could use for other things too.
This is what I was thinking of, too.
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:19   #74
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
MiniMig uses a real 68k processor plugs into a TV I cant see how this can be compared to a power hungery PC running WinUae?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:24   #75
clueless
Guessing my way round
clueless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: England
Posts: 159
so do our real amigas, and they do a bit more too at the min. And you still need your PC anyway to move and organise the files you want the minimig to use. So its not there yet for me, although I like the concept a lot.
clueless is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:25   #76
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
Personally I cannot see the point of it when there is WinUAE. If I couldn't have the real thing, I'd rather have WinUAE running on a pc of which I could use for other things too.
The main advantage is the size Of course a XBox with WinUAEX is somewhat close. If you have the money and the MiniMig does what you want, why not?
TCD is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:27   #77
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by clueless View Post
so do our real amigas, and they do a bit more too at the min. And you still need your PC anyway to move and organise the files you want the minimig to use. So its not there yet for me, although I like the concept a lot.
This makes no scene - Mainly you would copy files from your PC over to you Amiga anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
The main advantage is the size Of course a XBox with WinUAEX is somewhat close. If you have the money and the MiniMig does what you want, why not?
Right I cant defend the cost
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:44   #78
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
MiniMig uses a real 68k processor
And?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
plugs into a TV
So do most PCs these days.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
I cant see how this can be compared to a power hungery PC running WinUae?
It doesn't compare, my PC can do a LOT more and I couldn't care less how much power it consumes as my pc is on ALL the time anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by clueless View Post
so do our real amigas, and they do a bit more too at the min. And you still need your PC anyway to move and organise the files you want the minimig to use. So its not there yet for me, although I like the concept a lot.
Exactly, you'll need a pc to get your Minimig up and running.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
The main advantage is the size Of course a XBox with WinUAEX is somewhat close.
I don't see the size being relevant to be honest, you can pick up pc's with very little footprint which I recently purchased myself which I'll be sticking WinUAE on along with loads of other emulators. Also, if I was getting an Amiga replacement I'd want it to look and feel like an Amiga otherwise I'd just use WinUAE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
If you have the money and the MiniMig does what you want, why not?
I agree. To me tho the Minimig doesn't offer anything more than what WinUAE would offer me in terms of my own requirements.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
This makes no scene - Mainly you would copy files from your PC over to you Amiga anyway.
Makes perfect sense, I can't use my Championship Manager floppy disks with it.
seuden is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:50   #79
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
The main advantage is the size...
...without the keyboard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Booo
MiniMig uses a real 68k processor plugs into a TV I cant see how this can be compared to a power hungery PC running WinUae?
WinUAE = no real 80s or 90s Amiga
minimig = no real 80s or 90s Amiga
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 22 February 2010, 13:51   #80
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
I cant realy be bothered but basicly it makes a good replacement for classic Amiga for a number of reasons - Its like saying why have a Classic Amiga when theres WinUae -WinUae cant use your Championship Manager floppy disks
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting Kickstart 1.3 and Workbench 1.3 on one disk for Amiga 1000 dir_marillion support.Other 18 16 September 2017 06:59
Putting a laptop into an Amiga? Geon106 Hardware mods 4 17 January 2011 19:24
Putting an A1200 board in an A1000... Kristian95 Hardware mods 33 08 October 2009 12:40
Putting adf onto cd-r (pc) JACK98 support.Other 10 28 November 2008 11:44
Putting Kickstarts in the DEVS: folder Nostalgeek New to Emulation or Amiga scene 16 18 November 2008 15:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23047 seconds with 11 queries