English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2008, 15:15   #21
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by everblue View Post
I was wondering if there is anyone who took this step - putting the Amiga aside in favour of a Minimig...
nothing will ever replace my 1200 ..its just too damn sexy
klx300r is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 December 2008, 15:22   #22
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by everblue View Post
But all new TVs have VGA input now
So then it becomes:

A600+scandoubler Vs. minimig+new TV.

T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 15:25   #23
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by everblue View Post
10 A600? Where?
8.49
10.50
11.00
12.49

If we include motherboards there are 10's of them at 4.99 each!
alexh is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 15:28   #24
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
8.49
10.50
11.00
12.49

If we include motherboards there are 10's of them at 4.99 each!
Nice. Pity shipping to malta would be like x3 the final price. But yes, even then it would be substantially cheaper than minimig.
Nostromo is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 15:30   #25
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
So then it becomes:

A600+scandoubler Vs. minimig+new TV.

Actually it becomes

A600+scandoubler Vs. MiniMig + new TV + keyboard
alexh is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 15:32   #26
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Actually it becomes

A600+scandoubler Vs. MiniMig + new TV + keyboard
+mouse
Nostromo is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 15:39   #27
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Ah, but you need a mouse for an A600 too.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 15:44   #28
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Ah, but you need a mouse for an A600 too.
Ah ok. -mouse
Nostromo is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 16:54   #29
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
you'll also need a case for the minimig...

I think it's a waste of money at the moment, give it a few years and they'll probably have an all singing/dancing AGA version which'll be better supported.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 17:16   #30
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
I got the ultimate MiniMig board through work, $100 per board (when we renewed some software licenses for $3000)

http://direct.xilinx.com/images/boar...l507_front.jpg
http://direct.xilinx.com/images/boar...ml507_back.jpg

It is a PCI Express card with the largest & fastest FPGA currently available (roughly 100x the size of the FPGA on MiniMig v1.1)

24-bit Analog VGA out
DVI-D out
24-bit sound codec
USB 2.0 HS
2x SATA
1x PATA (CF card)
SDHC card
256Mbytes DDR2
PowerPC 440 CPU
Lots of I/O for native connections (joysticks, floppy disks etc.)
alexh is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 17:39   #31
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,777
Have you seen Yaqube latest update -running WHDload

68000 @ 25MHz
1.5MB Slow RAM
2.0MB Chip RAM
4 x Floppy drives
1 x 512MB Hardfile showing as a FFS SCSI drive

This could be a replacement for you A600s -

Video:http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=p-3zG4zE4qQ
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 17:46   #32
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
I would maybe buy a Minimig if it had AGA support and and were a bit cheaper.


PS: This message have a subliminal message, can u spot it?
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 17:59   #33
skan
emul-hat0r

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carnorum Regio
Age: 41
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw View Post
I would maybe buy a Minimig if it had AGA support and and were a bit cheaper.


PS: This message have a subliminal message, can u spot it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
"Not this sh!t again, please!"
skan is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 18:28   #34
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
I guess the compability is maybe 85-90%, not more. This list is probably a bit outdated, but the Minimig is far beyond of a 99% compatibilitly.

http://www.loriano.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/what_works.htm

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 22 December 2008 at 23:49.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 18:55   #35
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Quote:
Originally Posted by everblue View Post
I was wondering if there is anyone who took this step - putting the Amiga aside in favour of a Minimig.
[...]
If you don't like a true Amiga, use WinUAE on PC ... it is cheaper!
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 19:13   #36
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
lol, I was going to reply, is IronClaw nuts, but thought best not.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 22:40   #37
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
In Germany, a good few years ago, there was an advertising slogan used for MasterCard (I think). it went: Entweder Sie haben eine, oder Sie brauchen eine (Either you have one, or you need one).

I think this should apply to everyone's Amiga too.

(Though I must admit I'll definitely get a NatAmi if they're ever released!)
prowler is offline  
Old 22 December 2008, 23:18   #38
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
lol, I was going to reply, is IronClaw nuts, but thought best not.
It's Ironclaw!





Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 December 2008, 15:04   #39
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
Games listed as non-working, but now work*

Addams Family
Chaos Engine
Impossible Mission 2
Airport
Alien Breed Special Edition
Alien Breed Tower Assault
Agony
Walker
Desert Strike
Zaxxon
SWOS
Cannon Fodder 2
Lotus 3

I am sure there are others but which have not been tested with the latest core.


*http://www.opencircuits.com/Minimig_..._compatibility
Nostromo is offline  
Old 24 February 2009, 00:15   #40
BoingBall
 
Posts: n/a
Picking up this thread again
"Putting Amiga away for a Minimig " - Im near by doing this. Minimig is very interesting to me (fpga coding) and against some/many opinion acting VERY nativ on CRT screen. You really dont see or feel any difference to any real A500 on the same screen (smooth scrolling unlike any software emulator).

Certainly there are still some chipset bugs left but that can and will be fixed! Im right now busy by finding them out and also adding some (useful?) features to the core, such as scanline emulation.
Also PICs firmware will be improved to provide more functions. Currently Im testing a beta release that support different fpga core file (.bin) by OSD choice. I also helped porting FPGA64 (C64) and we have a well working VIC20 core too. Additional some other little things like MiniPong etc.

Minimig become very valuable to me, it is a new piece of Amiga hardware with a free and programmable chipset. No other Amiga model is able to offer that! This also means grow and development to the chipset, no depending in static hardware or (bad) working manufacturer only driven by the gain of $$.

Since many weeks Minimig is the only active Amiga here to play with and/or watch ECS demo. Sure the A4000 is also running, but not that often as the real Amiga500.

And please throw away the idea of (uae) emulation, Minimig is NOT an emulator but a simulator. Little differnce of words, big difference in effect

(sorry for imperfect english... Im german and try as best as possible)

Last edited by BoingBall; 24 February 2009 at 00:22.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting Kickstart 1.3 and Workbench 1.3 on one disk for Amiga 1000 dir_marillion support.Other 18 16 September 2017 06:59
Putting a laptop into an Amiga? Geon106 Hardware mods 4 17 January 2011 19:24
Putting an A1200 board in an A1000... Kristian95 Hardware mods 33 08 October 2009 12:40
Putting adf onto cd-r (pc) JACK98 support.Other 10 28 November 2008 11:44
Putting Kickstarts in the DEVS: folder Nostalgeek New to Emulation or Amiga scene 16 18 November 2008 15:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25055 seconds with 11 queries