English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 December 2008, 08:26   #1
jharrison
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: australia
Posts: 98
Beast II PC version ????

i played it, specifically, on an IBM PC Jr. sadly, there is no information to be found and i would appreciate if somebody can confirm this. do you think i may have played just a demo teaser? i was in the 7th grade and only got as far as the bridge until finally giving up. i couldn't bare waiting through another dramatic ending sequence. 5 1/4" single disk
jharrison is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 December 2008, 10:38   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Only version I remember was for the FM Towns Marty which was sort of a 386 PC with a custom gfx card.

The Audio was studio quality (because it was a CD) but not by the original musician.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=SWTCA-Io1xk
alexh is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 11:17   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Apparently it is a Japanese only game made for the Fujitsu FM Towns PC, it was never released outside Japan. There is also a Shadow of the Beast aswell available on ebay for $60....
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 15:23   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
FM Towns ... a strange console IMHO, there were versions using 386 and 486DX2 processors...
is this SOTB2 game the same as on the amiga? never actually played the series...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 15:27   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
It is the same game. The FM-Towns computers had 386+486 CPU's, but the FM-Towns Marty used 386 CPUs only.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 19:49   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I was undet the impression that one console-like fm-town had 486 cpu
keropi is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:01   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
The Marty consoles have a AMD 386, the Marty 2 CPU is maybe a bit faster. There are still sites with wrong infos, but some guys openend the consoles and compared the CPU's.

http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=2130
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:07   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
thanks retro-nerd, both use 386sx class cpu's...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:09   #9
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,805
I think 386 is enough for some pre-Wolfenstein 3D games. Is there any for that machine?
s2325 is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:21   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Well, there is a nice (Japanese) port of Ultima Underworld. But it's runs probably smoother on a FM-Towns PC.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:39   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
So you can play FM-Towns games on a DOS PC? Would be interesting to see the version jharrison is talking about
TCD is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:43   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
TownsOS based on MS-DOS, but it's not compatible.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:52   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
yes, I guess the "custom" gfx/audio chips are a big problem... emulation is needed...
plus the best way to play Ultima Underworld is a pentium with a SB + Roland LAPC-I card IMHO...
I wonder what gfx chips are used, propably a 512kb vga compatible one? I do not see any special fx on the longplays on youtube...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:55   #14
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
TownsOS based on MS-DOS, but it's not compatible.
Ah okay, so have anyone else ever heard of a MS-DOS SOTB2 version? When it's only one 5 1/4" disk it seems like a demo.
TCD is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:58   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
nope. never heared of one.... and on the 90's I was using a pc for my gaming needs
keropi is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 20:59   #16
jharrison
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: australia
Posts: 98
i can tell you the version i played on the PC Jr was identical to the Amiga's in both playability & graphics. i had completely forgotten about this game until after stumbling upon the Amiga version 'round 6 yr ago. ok, here's the deal....i apparently played Beast II well before its arrival to the AMIGA. i graduated junior high in '88 so you do the math. oh, and considering this was released as a multi-disk game, let alone available on higher density floppies, i am led to think it was indeed a demo i played.
jharrison is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 21:15   #17
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jharrison View Post
i can tell you the version i played on the PC Jr was identical to the Amiga's in both playability & graphics. i had completely forgotten about this game until after stumbling upon the Amiga version 'round 6 yr ago. ok, here's the deal....i apparently played Beast II well before its arrival to the AMIGA. i graduated junior high in '88 so you do the math. oh, and considering this was released as a multi-disk game, let alone available on higher density floppies, i am led to think it was indeed a demo i played.

All Shadow of the Beast games were FIRST on Amiga without exception, theres no way you could have played Beast 2 on ANY other system before the Amiga.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 21:28   #18
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
All Shadow of the Beast games were FIRST on Amiga without exception, theres no way you could have played Beast 2 on ANY other system before the Amiga.
Yes indeed. And even on Amiga, never before 1989.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 21:32   #19
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
So you can play FM-Towns games on a DOS PC? Would be interesting to see the version jharrison is talking about
Hi TCD you can check the FM Towns emulator.

http://dmweb.free.fr/?q=node/345
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 07 December 2008, 21:40   #20
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
Hi TCD you can check the FM Towns emulator.

http://dmweb.free.fr/?q=node/345
Thanks for the link xpect, but I already have UNZ set up here I'm just curious to see the version jharrison is talking about.
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow of the Beast - Which is the best version? Akira Retrogaming General Discussion 75 06 November 2016 19:52
Shadow of the beast 2 (Skidrow version) Vollldo request.Old Rare Games 7 15 August 2009 20:02
Shadow of the Beast 3 three disk version macce2 request.Old Rare Games 7 12 June 2007 13:19
Shadow of the Beast Atari ST version laffer request.Old Rare Games 47 09 February 2007 21:24
Shadow of the Beast II - Genesis version haynor666 HOL contributions 6 22 September 2004 12:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23192 seconds with 11 queries