English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 September 2009, 21:30   #261
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahle2 View Post
Hello Ahle2 here.. The guy who made the comparison videos on YouTube.

I'm sorry that i had to delete them from YouTube. There was too much hatred towards me from Atarians... I got fed up...
Too much hatred ? Did they harass you by mail or something ?

All your statements were correct.......
dlfrsilver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:05   #262
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahle2 View Post
Hello Ahle2 here.. The guy who made the comparison videos on YouTube.

I'm sorry that i had to delete them from YouTube. There was too much hatred towards me from Atarians... I got fed up...
Ah you're the guy that called Wings of Death a crap game on the ST on you tube? LOL BTW that was rather a nice game on the ST to say the least.

Frank
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:14   #263
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Yes, on ST
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:17   #264
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Yes, on ST
Spot on Denis
TCD is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:22   #265
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
I'm kinda fond of Lethal Xcess BTW Dennis have you read the HRM yet?
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:22   #266
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
All Thalion ST games are pretty good.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:25   #267
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
All Thalion ST games are pretty good.
Enchanted Lands is technically the best one IMHO. Sync scrolling goodness
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:38   #268
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Okay, the Thalion games are pretty decent on the ST, I'll give you that That's why nobody complains about their 'ST ports' for the Amiga
TCD is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:39   #269
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
Warp or Ghostbattle ST have a decent scrolling too.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:41   #270
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Okay, the Thalion games are pretty decent on the ST, I'll give you that That's why nobody complains about their 'ST ports' for the Amiga
Hey STe owners should be ones complaining The Thalion guys spent all their time writing really technical games for the ST for the challenge instead of pushing the STE
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:42   #271
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Warp is very fast, but ghostbattle has a slow fuck scroll.

Amiga HRM ? oh yes, it sits just aside my bed
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:44   #272
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Warp is very fast, but ghostbattle has a slow fuck scroll.
Slow but smooth enough, that's the point.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:45   #273
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
Hey STe owners should be ones complaining The Thalion guys spent all their time writing really technical games for the ST for the challenge instead of pushing the STE
Okay, you got a point there too
TCD is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:46   #274
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
STE blitter is pointless, really
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:47   #275
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
STE blitter is pointless, really
No it's not. I've explained in this very thread why it is anything but pointless.
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:50   #276
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
STE blitter is pointless, really
Please read this...
http://www.atari-forum.com/wiki/inde...Blitter_manual

then come back and explain why it's "pointless"
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 22:55   #277
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
If it was that good, devs would have made routines detecting it and using it seriously.

Check Chaos Engine as a good example. I own the game for my ST and STE. Tell me why the game can't be as fast as the amiga version, when Atarists says STE is almost as good as an A500 ? Heh. Bitmap brothers game, no music in game and Even With blitter, the result is poor. And don't come to that it's lazy programming. Bitmap bros were ST coders at first (Gods, magic pockets, etc...)

Edit : I have checked the wiki page. I think you're not taking in the same way as me. When i say STE blitter is pointless, i mean regarding the ST base machine AND the one we have on a simple A500.

About my chaos engine example. We all agree that STE machines were not numerous. Add to this that in hardware the STF needs
a huge insane amount of memory to pre-compute graphics before display. When chaos engine on STF needs 1 mb of ram, it only needs 512kb on STE. If BB had to keep Richard Joseph music, you would had to have more than 2 mb of RAM on STF. this would have been absoluty foolish ! So the music had to go ! And even about scrolling which is blitted on STE, it's not as fluid as the A500
version while having as many colors (32 on STE, 16 on ST).....

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 09 September 2009 at 23:04.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 23:03   #278
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
If it was that good, devs would have made routines detecting it and using it seriously.
I seriously doubt chaos engine used the ST blitter. The bitmaps weren't in the habit of even using the Amiga hardware properly let alone the STe.

Here's a list of game that ran in one vbl. Obsession, Star dust, Zool and Chronicles of Omega. All of them use the ST blitter. I've used the ST and the Amiga blitter and I'm telling you from experience that both flat out kill the 68k for speed. Even with pre shifted graphics taking potentially 16 times the memory the ST blitter is faster. Read and understand the manual and you will see why.
frank_b is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 23:06   #279
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Chaos engine uses the blitter, someone has checked on atari forum inside the game code.
And it's stated that on STE blitter is used.

From Unseenmenace :

"It uses the STE hardware scrolling which explains why it only needs 512KB on an STE and 1MB on an STFM since it probably has preshifted map blocks or something on the STFM. Sadly it doesn't use the STE's DMA sound hardware, not even for the title music let alone the in-game sampled effects that they left out for no good reason."

The reason is that the RAM requirement would have been too much on STF (2mb +) and the game would have been slowed down too much. Since ST and STE version are on the same disks, i guess the music had to move. I'm sure they have done (BB) test and saw that it was crippling the game too much.

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 09 September 2009 at 23:13.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 23:12   #280
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Chaos engine uses the blitter, someone has checked on atari forum inside the game code.
And it's stated that on STE blitter is used.
Must be a lousy piece of code then if it doesn't speed up sprite rendering. If they can beat 24 cycles per word shifted/masked in software on a 68k I'd be amazed.
frank_b is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23371 seconds with 11 queries